laughComedians Jimmy Carr and Lewis Black have recently made their thoughts known about the LaughLab project. It isn’t pretty.

A few years ago I teamed up with the BAAS and conducted a survey called ‘LaughLab: The Scientific Search for the World’s Funniest Joke‘. People sent in about 40,000 jokes; some great, some poor, some puerile, some filthy. Others then voted on them, and thus we eventually identified the winning jokes. The project is still frequently mentioned in the media, and two great comedians have recently commented on the project.

First up, British stand-up Jimmy Carr told the winning joke, and the top joke voted for by Brits, along with some funny comments here.

Second, Lewis Black had a fun section with my good self in a 2 hour doc on jokes. This clip really splits people. Most love it and a handful hate it. Some people even emailed me to say that they thought it was terrible that Lewis was so rude to me – it’s OK, I was in on the gag. Anyway, hope you enjoy it and feel free to let me know what you think to the gags.

5 comments

  1. Why are some jokes funnier on some days then other days? If its all about perception relative to the listener why do health professionals have such fun with dark humour about serious injuries or illness. As a nurse I sometimes wonder why some poor patient’s woes makes us laugh. I don’t consider myself nor my collegues bad but we still laugh. Why?

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.