Answer to the Friday Puzzle….

42

coverOn Friday I posted this puzzle….

A boy and a girl are chatting.

“I am a boy”, said the child with black hair.

“I am a girl”, said the child with white hair.

At least one of them lied. What colour hair does the boy have?

 

If you have not tried to solve it, have a go now.  For everyone else, the answer is after the break.

Both the boy and the girl must have lied, and therefore the boy has white hair.

I have produced an ebook containing 101 of the previous Friday Puzzles! It is called PUZZLED and is available for the Kindle (UK here and USA here) and on the iBookstore (UK here in the USA here). You can try 101 of the puzzles for free here.

42 comments on “Answer to the Friday Puzzle….

  1. mgm75 says:

    How is this worked out without evidence or clues to work it out from? It seems the answer could only have been guessed at in which case any answer would be permissible.

    • safc4ever says:

      The two statements are complementary so either they are both telling the truth or both lying. As “At least one of them lied”, they must have both lied. This means that the child claiming to be the girl is, in fact, the boy and has white hair.

    • NickC says:

      There are only two scenarios to consider:
      1) Boy with black hair – says “I am a boy”
      Girl with white hair – says “I am a girl”
      In this case both are telling the truth
      2) Boy with white hair – says “I am a girl”
      Girl with black hair – says “I am a boy”
      In this case both are telling a lie

      Only true statements are that the child with black hair says “I am a boy” and the child with white hair says “I am a girl”. If at least one of them is telling a lie it must be the second scenario.
      Thus the boy has white hair.

    • Anonymous says:

      We are given the information that at least one of the children has lied. The child with black claims to be a boy. The child with white hair claims to be a girl. At least one of then is lying. Assume only one is lying and is in fact a boy. The other is a boy. At the start, Richard started that there is both a boy and a girl. The only way this could remain the case, with the statements given is that they both lied. If they both lied, the one with white hair claiming to be a girl must be the boy.

    • mgm75 says:

      Yes, it all makes sense now. Thanks guys!

    • Ironymous says:

      Would someone be kind enough to restate the question and the answer?
      This has only been done about four times in the thread above.
      I’ll need to have it shoved under my nose at least 23 times before I get it.

    • mgm75 says:

      Rumour is this week’s Friday puzzle will be “Why are the trolls in the Richard Wiseman blog such cowards?”

    • Anonymussel says:

      Ironymous: Look at the time signatures, wee man. They were typing at the same time.

    • Anonymous says:

      I worked it out and this is the only answer.

    • Anonymous says:

      It its quite simple and the only answer is Richard’s answer.

  2. ctj says:

    the boy’s hair is brown. or blue. or pink. we can’t tell from the problem, which allows the possibility that the girl has both black and white hair (or the other way around).

  3. Anne Elk says:

    Blimey, I made a meal out of this one. I tangled myself up in all sorts of unnecessary knots and it was so basic in the end. Good puzzle.

  4. Chuck Sullivan says:

    I got ‘boy has white hair’ w/o needing to know whether both lied, I think.

  5. Barry Goddard says:

    I have thought about this for some days and I am not convinced Richard’s answer is correct.

    It is an axiom of Boolean Logic that any value can arise from a falsehood. Thus IF A THEN B is TRUE when a is FALSE,

    If I AM A BOY is FALSE we cannot conclude anything about their hair. Rather we can conclude ANYTHING about their hair, Their hair may be blue or green or made up of cornflakes or any one of many other things all with an equal TRUTH value.

    This puzzle therefore is not solvable in any meaningful sense. There may not even be two children with distinct heads. Conjoined siamese is still possible from the given description.

    In future it will help if the puzzles are set more clearly and with given solutions. Thank you.

    • I thought this when I first read through it, but I realised that the child existing and speaking is provided as fact. The child with the white hair DID speak. We also know that this child said “I am a girl”. Finally, we know that there are a boy and a girl present. The only statements made by the children are pertinent solely to their status as a boy of a girl.

    • Steve Jones says:

      Good try BG, but neither child was making any statement about their hair colour. That information is conveyed by the poser of the question, and if he/she lied then anything goes.

      So you do have to place some trust in the question setter, but if you don’t, then what’s the point anyway?

    • Gary Bollard says:

      A rare lapse in reasoning for you BG. Better luck this Friday

    • skatzsinger says:

      The children didn’t need to make a statement about their hair colour, that was already stated (‘said the child with black hair’). There were two children chatting. One had white hair and one had black hair. One was a boy and one was a girl. They were both lying. This is a puzzle which has, quite literally, a black and white solution.
      Now go and save the world instead of being a failure at pedantry.

    • Barry Goddard says:

      Thank you all for the support. It is clear that there was “something not quite right” with this puzzle as you cannot reach Truth through multiple Falsehoods.

      Now I know a modern approach is to agree with the doctor Giovanni House (as played by Huge Lorry) that “everyone lies”.. But House does not reach his truth by listening to the lies. He does so by looking further afield.

      I think we have all agreed now that this puzzle was not a suitable one for the website. Let us look forward to better ones in the Future.

    • ctj says:

      skatzsinger, the problem allows for child with black and white hair to speak twice. if so, then one of the child’s two statements must have been false. if the boy made the two statements, then his hair is black and white. but if the girl made the two statements, the color of the boy’s hair remains unknown.

      not quite a “black and white solution.”

    • Cowardly Troll says:

      ctj,
      Even using your own, somewhat idiosyncratic, logic, your statement
      “if the boy made the two statements, then his hair is black and white.”
      may prove incomplete.

  6. Gill wallace says:

    I cannot believe some comments. It’s a simple puzzle. I am really bad at them usually.This one was easy. Some comments below are ridiculously pompous. Remove your head from your arse and just enjoy.
    PS Love your Friday
    Puzzles Richard

  7. Confused! says:

    When I saw this on Friday, I thought that I had surely missed something as this seemed so simple. I’m not even sure I’d call it a puzzle, it is so obvious.

    From the number of comments proudly claiming to have worked it out and to suggesting some kind of trick to figuring it out , I was convinced that there must be some trick to the wording that had eluded me. But it seems it was as glaringly obvious as I thought it was – so what were all the commenters on Friday going on about? Were they seriously taking pride in working this out? had the spotted an alternative answer? or did they just spectacularly overthink it?

  8. Eddie says:

    Says If it lied
    CBH: “I am a boy” ; “I am a girl”
    CWH: “I am a girl” ; “I am a boy”
    Only one lying is impossible, hence CBH = girl and CWH = boy.

    • Eddie says:

      ………Says ………If it lied
      CBH: “I am a boy” ; then a girl
      CWH: “I am a girl” ; then a boy
      Only one lying is impossible, hence CBH = girl and CWH = boy.

    • Anonymous says:

      no need for all this work, all you need to know is both lied and that’s it.

  9. En verdad es interesante jjejejeejj quien tiene la razón ???

  10. Anonymous says:

    This was more of an easy one compared to most.

  11. Ken Haley says:

    I also thought this one was a nice, straightforward puzzle. Objections to the wording, etc. are getting boring. From the wording of the puzzle, it’s reasonable to assume that (1) there are 2 children, (2) that one clams to be a boy and the other claims to be a girl, and (3) one has white hair and one has black hair. If you want to take exception with reasonable assumptions, I’m sure you can come up with any answer or denial thereof that you like. But I find it tiresome to read comments with objections like this every week.

    I know that sometimes the wording of a puzzle is deliberately tricky, and following reasonable assumptions leads you astray. E.g. “Two US coins add up to 30 cents. One of them isn’t a nickel. What are they?” The reasonable assumption in this case is that neither coin is a nickel, but the trick is–one isn’t a nickel, but the other one is. So the answer is a quarter and a nickel. But this is a trick, if not humorous, puzzle.

    So, if an answer exists without questioning reasonable assumptions, then that’s it.

  12. John Cartwright says:

    I got the correct answer even though i missed the first bit which tells us that there is 1 boy and 1 girl. I got as far as a truth table with three possibilities, including the 2 possibilities that they are both boys or both girls. Then i thought I was being clever in noticing the final sentence which refers to “the boy”, which confirmed that there was only 1 boy rather than 2 or 0 boys.

  13. guesty says:

    My solution was that children with white hair are vanishingly rare and so the child with white hair must be lying and the boy has black hair.
    I realise now this is totally wrong but thought you might find the logic interesting.

  14. I in no way had fertility concerns, but have heard that meizetang certainly can be a component. So after i obtained married, I required to provide myself and my long term baby the most beneficial prospect attainable. I shed 70 pounds and bought to my objective meizetang and found out I was expecting. I did achieve the meizetang back again in my being pregnant, but I think acquiring healthy before created the labor A great deal much easier. Never allow people today let you know you are mad for seeking the most effective yourself and spouse and children.

  15. Stephen says:

    Pretty fantastic website thanks so much for the time in writing the posts for all of us to learn about.

  16. anibal says:

    localizar en facebook las chicas que badoo no nos deja chateas, 80% de ellas aceptan

  17. I’ve read some good stuff here. Definitely worth bookmarking for revisiting. I wonder how much effort you put to create such a great informative site.

  18. guy says:

    Suppose the child with white hair is not a girl.
    Then the child with white hair is a boy.
    If the child with white hair is a boy, then the child with black hair is a girl.

    Suppose the child with black hair is not a boy.
    Then the child with black hair is a girl.
    If the child with black hair is a girl, then the child with white hair is a boy.

    Simply put, if one of them lying, then his/her hair is just the other color.

Leave a Reply

