It’s the Friday Puzzle!

42

First, we have just released this fun video about the psychology of yawning.  Hope you enjoy it.

So, to the puzzle. Please do NOT post your answer, but do say if you think you have solved the puzzle and how long it took. Solution on Monday.

A boy and a girl are chatting.

“I am a boy”, said the child with black hair.

“I am a girl”, said the child with white hair.

At least one of them lied. What colour hair does the boy have?

 

I have produced an ebook containing 101 of the previous Friday Puzzles! It is called PUZZLED and is available for the Kindle (UK here and USA here) and on the iBookstore (UK here in the USA here). You can try 101 of the puzzles for free here.

42 comments on “It’s the Friday Puzzle!

  1. Barry Goddard says:

    I hope to post the answer below a little later. So don’t read on if you’re one of those boring people who expects everyone to obey Richard’s instruction.

    • MathMiles says:

      Please don’t post the answer.

    • Barry Goddard says:

      They both lied.

      The child with the black hair is the girl, and the child with the white hair is the boy.

      (If only one lied they would both be boys or both be girls)

    • Derek Walsh says:

      Is “Don’t be a dick” really too onerous a rule for you to follow, Barry?

    • Please try harder not to be a dick, Barry.

    • Effete Surf says:

      At least Barry doesn’t claim to have answers and then not share them with us your Lordship – if you don’t mind me being so forward.
      Looks at floor, shuffles uncomfortably etc

    • Jerry says:

      Barry, you seriously need to get your Ph.D. in psychology, get a professorship at a major University, start your own blog called “Barry-the-Dick” and stay there for your own entertainment!

    • Anonymous says:

      LOL. The banter about Barry is more entertaining than the riddle. I feel like I could have a pint or two with Barry, and we could find happiness just being dicks to each other for a while, before going our separate ways.There should be a chatroom for intrinsic assholes. Then I could find friends. Until then Barry will be pissing in anyones Cheerios who empowers him. I’ll get the one’s he misses. Cheers.

    • XOR says:

      Hello Steve

    • Stu says:

      “I hope to post the answer below a little later. So don’t read on if you’re one of those boring people who expects everyone to obey Richard’s instruction”

      Translation: “I think I am better than everyone else and take pleasure in spoiling things for others. I am very insecure, and so I must show off how great I am as often as possible.”.

      What a poor sad little man he must be. Thing is, you can be pretty sure that if a “boring person” broke a rule that would affect HIM, he would be the first to complain.

  2. Dicky Dumb Dude says:

    Is the answer curly red hair?
    It only took me 5 seconds to get the solution

  3. Derek Walsh says:

    Seems too easy. Am i missing something?

    • ctj says:

      yes. there is not enough information provided to solve the puzzle.

    • The Masked Twit says:

      ctj
      Would you please elaborate?
      Now if you can, or on Monday if to do so now would spoil the soi-disant fun.
      Thanks
      TMT

    • ctj says:

      TMT, i’m not sure i can without spoiling. the puzzle as stated allows for more than 2 of something.

  4. baz says:

    Less than a minute but it’s a good one.

  5. Steve Jones says:

    I suspect there won’t be much need for spoilers on this question.

  6. Eddie says:

    Took me a while but got there. BG – give it a rest.

    • MathMiles says:

      Probably better to write that as a reply to BG’s post above (as I’ve just done), so everyone sees it.

  7. Anonymous says:

    About 5 seconds

    • Stan says:

      About 10 seconds, I hope Richard can do something about the two Barry Goddards. Even listing multiple possibilities can be too much.

      Sometimes obscure hints are fun. Like last week someone mentioned looking at google and that was hugely fun for me. I probably wouldn’t have done that on Monday. But most of the time hints spoil it for many people. It is a non-caring show offy thing to do.

    • MathMiles says:

      Stan – as I said to Eddie, can I encourage you to post that as a reply to BG’s first post right at the top. That way, more people will see and protest at those who think it’s a good thing to post the answer.

  8. Barry Goddard says:

    This is my genuine second post after my first at 8:33 this morning. The other “Barry Goddard” makes some interesting points, but unlike him I can count – “We have three cases”, then he states four.

  9. Barry Goddard says:

    I am Spartacus

  10. Barry Goddard says:

    What a prick

  11. Alma says:

    It’s a pity people spoil it and feel compelled to post their answers. They must be real bigheads and just enjoy being spiteful. Must have been horrible children. I know some people say “Well, just don’t read any of the comments” but that’s unfair really because it’s fun to read them (aside from the spoilers) and would be nice if we un-spiteful puzzle-lovers could chat about them without having them ruined.

  12. MathMiles says:

    I’ve just noticed that one of “BG’s” earlier posts where he set out possible solutions has since disappeared. Maybe someone is finally sorting this out?

  13. Lazy T says:

    Didn’t someone prove that all kids are gray?

  14. SilverMarc says:

    My singular identity is protected by the Avatar that the WordPress site provides so you know it’s actually me. I can post as myself with added confidence that my authorship is clear. Oh, my favorite color is “clear” by the way. As far as the lying hair issue, I believe I figured it out in just a few seconds.

  15. Adzcliff says:

    I wonder if any of the Barry Goddards were those kids in school who held their intensely raised arms tight to their heads groaning “Miss, Miss!”, only to blurt out the answer just as Miss chose someone else to answer for a change? Must be painful sitting on such quick knowledge for an entire weekend. I mean it risks all us strangers thinking that maybe he doesn’t know the answer…

  16. ChrisR says:

    So, the “other” Friday puzzle is why does Youtube start off by saying that the 59 second video on Yawning is 1 minute long?

  17. John Cartwright says:

    About 4 minutes. I had to do a truth/false table, but after i did it the first time i realised I was looking at it at the wrong angle and had to start again. It worked the second time, which is when I realised that there was an extra clue in the wording of the puzzle which I hadn’t noticed before.

    • Eddie says:

      Your experience exactly reflects mine. Was the extra clue in the wording that there was a boy and a girl?

  18. happy day says:

    people who can’t read ”Please do not post your answer….” are weenies

  19. Ralph Jordan says:

    There is only enough information to solve this if you assume something I think most people here have assumed (it is quite a natural assumption and implied by the question but not explicitly stated, thereby not ruling out other still plausible interpretations). Otherwise, there is very little which can be surmised in regards to the answer we are asked to give.

    • Barry Goddard's Identical Twin says:

      Could you please enlighten me Ralph?
      I found it possible to solve the puzzle as it stood, without assuming anything.

  20. VicinCA says:

    I probably got it in a few seconds, but I didn’t yawn.

  21. A brown says:

    I think so, took about 10s so I probably missed something important.

Leave a Reply

