Answer to the Friday Puzzle….

23

cover

On Friday I posted this puzzle….

Here is a picture of a house made from matchsticks.  Can you move one stick, and add another, to create two identical houses?

puzzle1

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

If you have not tried to solve it, have a go now.  For everyone else the answer is after the break.

Here is one solution…..

puzzle

Did you come up with another one?

I have produced an ebook containing 101 of the previous Friday Puzzles! It is called PUZZLED and is available for the Kindle (UK here and USA here) and on the iBookstore (UK here in the USA here). You can try 101 of the puzzles for free here.

23 comments on “Answer to the Friday Puzzle….

  1. That’s the solution I found as well! I did look for others, but found none. Looking forward to others!

  2. Eddie says:

    3D to 2D – good trick.

  3. The Pick Man says:

    Huh? It looks to me as though one match moved and a second appeared from nowhere. Or am I missing something?

  4. Anne Elk says:

    A lot easier than the passing buses puzzle! Variety is good.

  5. allinone3 says:

    Hi Richard, can I get Dream On for my HTC phone, for free? thanks brenda

    • Amunugama Rajapakse Rajakaruna Abeykoon Panditha Wasalamudiyanse Ralahamilage Rajitha Krishantha Bandara Amunugama says:

      What operating system do you have? Presumably Windows or Android

      According to the Dream On website it is available through the Apple store. As to Android, the website does state “we are planning a launch later in 2012”.

      Over to you Richard ….

  6. Sanjay says:

    Finally a tick that I managed to solve intuitively in seconds! I love sending time puzzling over the answers to these things, but ultimately there is something really quite satisfying when you get an answer fast!

    Thanks as always Richard🙂

  7. Anonymous says:

    less than a minute🙂

  8. mgm75 says:

    I’d seen it before so knew straight away.

    • Insert inane comment here says:

      Do you know this weekend’s lottery numbers?

    • mgm75 says:

      No, I haven’t had the chance to look. I’m still trying to figure out why there are so many anally retentive people on the Richard Wiseman blog.

  9. @ScepticTank says:

    Bugger – totally failed. I tried maintaining perspective.

  10. ChrisR says:

    A puzzle that is hard to match

  11. Bill T. says:

    Hm, this may be the first “move one stick” puzzles that I have managed to get. Prepare for disintegration of the fabric of the universe, folks.

  12. Barry Goddard says:

    I am gald that my answer has been accepted as more economical that the “official one”.

    I did not give my answer in the official puzzle thread (that is against Richard’s wishes at the time) but I did describe what it was.

    It is always good to look beyond the obvious towards the Truth.

  13. Jennifer says:

    I didn’t get this at all😦

  14. Anonymous says:

    this was easy for me

  15. I was wondering if you ever thought of changing the page layout of your blog?
    Its very well written; I love what youve got to say.
    But maybe you could a little more in the way of content
    so people could connect with it better. Youve
    got an awful lot of text for only having one or two images.
    Maybe you could space it out better?

  16. I haved lost botanical slimming soft gel espanol by driving a motorbike down from about twenty five stone to fifteen now nevertheless it has taken numerous a long time as I get tired of the botanical slimming soft gel espanol los little bit and revert to previous routines. The bike has actually been the only continual and has stopped me balooning back again approximately my former botanical slimming soft gel espanol.

  17. Lowell says:

    I really like to acquire letters with U.S. commemorative stamps on them; I collect these. How are your letters stampedor are they metered (yech)?

Leave a Reply

