It’s the Friday Puzzle!

58

cover

Please do NOT post your answer, but do say if you think you have solved the puzzle and how long it took. Solution on Monday.

A man was showing his guests his family portraits.  Pointing to one portrait, he said ‘I have no brothers or sisters, but that man’s father is my father’s son’.  Who was represented in the portrait?

I have produced an ebook containing 101 of the previous Friday Puzzles! It is called PUZZLED and is available for the Kindle (UK here and USA here) and on the iBookstore (UK here in the USA here). You can try 101 of the puzzles for free here.

58 comments on “It’s the Friday Puzzle!

  1. Nohj says:

    A smug 5 seconds here (for a change).

  2. baz says:

    Got it but it took a minute

  3. When does a puzzle become just a descriptive sentence?.. took 4 seconds to read this one.

  4. Anonymous says:

    That’s not even a puzzle!

  5. Anonymous says:

    got

  6. That’s not much of a puzzle! Just a situation.

  7. Eddie says:

    if you google it you can find the last time this was posted.

  8. Anne Elk says:

    About a minute.

  9. Anon says:

    Winston Churchill?

  10. Nice one, dr. Wiseman! I liken it to Julie’s mother, who has 4 daughters. The first 3 are named Eenie, Minie, and Hermione. What name does the 4th daughter have?

    Though once known, this kind of puzzle and its solution will stay with most people, plenty of people unfamiliar with it will get it wrong until the logic is pointed out to them, after which they’ll facepalm.

  11. Baker's Dozen says:

    Is it the Mirror?

  12. arjay says:

    Jesus’s son.

  13. Alma says:

    Rather a familiar one. But at least I knew the answer this time!🙂

  14. Anita Dunne says:

    Oh please! One second!

  15. Fotoflex says:

    In Holland we finish that with: “Rara, wie ben ik?”

  16. Lazy T says:

    It wasn’t me.

  17. Julia says:

    nice oldie

  18. siskinbob says:

    Answered in about 5 seconds then spent 2 minutes trying to convince myself that I was wrong.

  19. Anonymous says:

    What what Monty Hall do?

  20. This one goes back a long ways, first uttered by Jesus messing with the guys at the Last Supper.

  21. Angela says:

    For once very quickly!🙂

  22. ross says:

    heard that one before. but i like the variety of difficulty in friday puzzles

  23. Brothers and sisters I have none,
    But all these complaints in the comments are rather ungenerous.

  24. Anonymous says:

    too easy

  25. Anonymous says:

    satan

  26. Douglas Anderson says:

    About 5 seconds

  27. Laith says:

    Ummm… was this one even worth doing?

    My time was however long it took me to read it.

  28. Gus says:

    Really Richard? Isn’t this about the oldest riddle known to man?

    • Furie says:

      I’m pretty sure that’s “Does this waitress look like she’d spit in my order if I tell her she got it wrong.”

      Still, got this as I read it.

  29. Anonymous says:

    it’s a portrait of satan.

  30. Happy Day says:

    I’ve heard that less than 2% of the public call in to radio shows and that % doesn’t represent the most desirable in certain aspects.
    Seems like the % of people commenting (comments such as ‘satan’, ‘Jesus’, and other
    silliness) fall in to that. Worse than the very weak Friday’s puzzle are the
    dumb comments.

  31. ctj says:

    this reminds me of a joke i heard about mikhail gorbachev, dan quayle, and boris yeltsin. i’ll post it on monday with the solution.

  32. I am 61 and my dad told me that one when I was about 15.

  33. It’s a very old puzzle, and I knew the answer straight away. To be fair, if one has not heard it before, it takes a few minutes to think about it properly. Whenever it is discussed, I am amazed at how many people misunderstand it, or mis-hear it, and are adamant that their (incorrect) answer is the right one.

  34. Barry Goddard says:

    Very simple if you reduce to maths symbols:

    M – the mirror

    TM – the man you are looking at in the mirror

    TMF – TM’s father

    ME – Me

    MF – my father

    MFS – my father’s son

    XB, XS – no sisters or brotherers

    Now

    TMF = TFS

    So cancelling Ts and Fs

    M = S

    So the mirror image is S, the sun

  35. Bill White says:

    This WAS a puzzle when I was 10 – 76 years ago
    Bill

  36. dayuntoday says:

    Yep, Learned that in elementary school.

  37. Anders says:

    kind of an old one. about .15 yeaes or so plus 15 seconds give or take

  38. Anonymous says:

    yes ,it is simple but learning us to think

  39. Anonymous says:

    him self

Leave a Reply

