Do you hear the nonexistent sounds?

37

@jbrownridge sent me this animated gif yesterday.  It’s called ‘Buddy you’re a boy make a big noise’.  Some people hear the sounds of the hands and others don’t. Do you?

queen

37 comments on “Do you hear the nonexistent sounds?

  1. Anonymous says:

    Definitely: YES!

  2. Anonymous says:

    Definietely: YES!

  3. Absolutely I hear the sounds… and the words…
    “Buddy you’re a boy, make a big noise playin’ in the street, gonna be a big man someday! Ya got mud on your face, ya big disgrace, kickin’ your can all over the place singin’ we will, we will rock you!…”

  4. Sudhindra says:

    I hear “We Will Rock You” by the Queen. Just saying!!😉 That drum beat is oh so distinctive.

  5. Anonymous says:

    Not exactly that I hear it but kind of feel in my mind

  6. Anne Nicklen says:

    Nope – no imagination obviously!

  7. Stevenz says:

    I can hear them in my head. Nicer than what I usually hear.

  8. Michael Fisher says:

    “We Will Rock You” by Queen obviously. I can “hear” it in the sense that I can bring forth the rhythm of that tune into my head ~ it’s almost in that I can experience SOME of the physical reactions I would have if if were my ears hearing it. I suspect that if the hands were thumping & clapping a rhythm I’d never experienced before it would have no effect.

  9. Alma says:

    no, can’t hear a thing.🙂

  10. Adzcliff says:

    I can imagine likely sounds if that counts…

  11. Barry Goddard says:

    This is most odd. I have checked my speakers before and after playing Richards GIF. All other files play bur Richards is silent.

    It is as if he has imbedded a trojan virus to selectively turn off the sound. Very clever but shurely dangerous to spread?

    • Barry,
      There AREN’T supposed to be any sounds. That’s why the title says NONEXISTENT SOUNDS. It’s sort of like a test; can you imagine the sounds and actually hear them as the pictures appear?😉

      Hope I helped

  12. Lazy T says:

    I realized the beat was ‘we will rock you’ but heard ‘the sound of silence’

  13. issahamati says:

    yes , I hear the sound of hands

  14. I can hear it, and I can feel it. All the feet in the stadium are stomping along to the rhythm, making the seats and floors vibrate.

  15. Gail says:

    no, because theyre non existent lol

  16. The other Matt says:

    First i asked myself why the name of the grafic is “queen”. Then i started the gif, but doesnt hear the sound. After reading the comments, i can IMAGINE and remember me of this typical intro of a queen song. But i doesnt HEAR anything. I think the animation is to slow.

  17. No – but puts in mind Queen’s “we will Rock you”. Anticipation makes you ‘susceptible’ to hearing the noise?

  18. I didn’t hear any sound, but I was made more aware of my heart beat as I tried to listen for one. I wonder if, beyond any root synesthesia, the people who hear something might also happen to have their pulse in sync with the animation to some extent.

  19. Norman Smith says:

    Nope. Nothing.

  20. ctj says:

    i heard them as soon as i was primed by the name of the gif.

  21. Paul Durrant says:

    I can remember sounds that fit the rhythm of the gif, but I certainly don’t hear them.

    • Greg says:

      Can’t hear anything, but I can almost feel the banging of the fists. Like a vibration in my head.

  22. Mark says:

    Yes, it “sounded” very dull and distant, but the effect was there.

  23. Gregface says:

    I thought I could hear it but then realised that it was my own hands joining in the action that I could hear!

  24. Duncan says:

    Tooke me a while to place the lyrics, but even then I didn’t hear anything. I guess you need to have the song already playing in your head for this to work.

  25. Driffy says:

    “We will we will rock you”

  26. I certainly heard it!

  27. FLYNN says:

    Reblogged this on The Daily Pause and commented:
    I “see” the animated .gif with my eyes but my mind “hears” Queen’s “We Will Rock You” to the precise beat and background “noise”. Now I won’t be able to sleep for a while until the “mantra” dies down. Thanks a lot!

  28. Daniel says:

    It might be interesting to these circles that the exercise managed to pass through the ‘iron curtain’ and was very popular in the GDR (East Germany) of the 1980s. The only difference was that we would slap the ground with our flat hands, not our fists — which is, of course, much more effective. That, in turn, proves that our history textbook was probably right when it said we had a competitive edge over the ‘rotten, declining capitalism’ of the day (those were the very words).

  29. Turd says:

    Damn it, I’m trying to sleep and I’m still hearing it!

  30. Anonymous says:

    We will rock you!

Leave a Reply

