Non-moving moving dancers

20

These illusory movement illusions work with some people and not others.  This is one of my favourites – does it work for you?

dancers

20 comments on “Non-moving moving dancers

  1. Alan Jewell says:

    McAfee says “We tested this page and blocked content that comes from potentially dangerous or suspicious sites.”

  2. Rich Smith says:

    if i lock onto the ‘eyes’ they don’t seem to move but if i look anywhere else they do.

  3. Alma says:

    Had to look at them for about 30 seconds first. They’re moving, but sort of slowly and sinuously, a bit of a slow wriggle.

  4. Eddie says:

    Reminds me of Space 1999 Series 1 Episode 4.

  5. Denis says:

    they don’t move for me

  6. Nick says:

    They don’t move when I focus on any one point but there is some shimmying when I move my gaze from top to bottom to top and so on along the middle between the two figures.

  7. bletherskite says:

    They’re wiggling all over the shop for me.

  8. Anonymous says:

    Any idea why some people are more susceptible than others? For the record, I can’t stop them from moving!

  9. Sarah says:

    Any idea why some people are more suceptible than others? Frequency of saccades? For the record, I can’t stop them from moving!

  10. wallyadmin says:

    doesn’t really work for me–anything to do with color blindness?

  11. Mike says:

    When I move my eyes back and forth they seem to wiggle. Occasionally only one of them wiggles.

  12. Ken Haley says:

    Dead still for me. I tried darting my eyes back and forth, staring at one point, slowly moving my eyes around the picture…nothing. What’s different between those who see this illusion and those who don’t?

  13. OHW says:

    Doesn’t work for me. If it did, well, I didn’t catch it.

  14. Bletherskite says:

    I found if I focus in on a particular couple of dots the image stops moving. It’s when I let my gaze drift over the image that the movement is strongest.

  15. The introduction says “work with some people” and “does it work for you?”.

    Work? What do you mean, “work”? What is it supposed to do? What is supposed to happen? I see a large number of blobs, arranged in a pattern which vaguely resembles two people. Are they supposed to be dancers? If so, why?

    I am beginning to get rather fed up with the over-use of the word “illusion” to describe boring unexplained pictures on this website. What is “illusory” about it?

  16. Glenn Bernes says:

    moving only a very small bit

  17. Furie says:

    I have to completely change my focus to get it to work, and then it’s only an impression of movement more than seeing it happen.

Leave a Reply

