IPad illusions…..

12

Just came across this lovely version of a very old idea….

 

12 comments on “IPad illusions…..

  1. That’s great. I had seen those illusions before, but I wish I had thought of using my iPad to execute them. Now I will!

  2. Tony says:

    Very nice, but I fail to see what the iPad adds to this – why not just have them printed on a piece of paper, and save yourself £500?

    • Stevie says:

      I won’t be going out and buying an ipad but if I already had one, I’d use it for that as well. What you may be failing to see is adding something to your ipad, if you happen to have one.

  3. Mike says:

    Awesome, amazing, and neat iPad illusions

  4. Fotoflex says:

    What amazes me is how well it works. You’d think the foil would have to be transported much more carefully than this for the illusion to work.

  5. Eddie says:

    Why can’t the moved ‘striped foil’ be included within the ipad graphic? I think the foil would have been transported very carefully in the demonstrator’s rucksack.

  6. Carsten says:

    Does anyone know where you can get the striped foil?

  7. Zev Eisenberg says:

    It’s not foil. It’s just a piece of overhead projector transparency film with black lines printed on a laser printer.

  8. Rod Kimball says:

    I’m with Tony. These are cool but they aren’t really “iPad illusions” any more than a movie you happen to watch on your iPad is an “iPad movie”. Here’s a nice set of instructions for making these yourself: http://amazingstuff.co.uk/art/amazing-moire-animations/#.UoWFvY2E7Pk
    (Hi Zev!)

    • Zev Eisenberg says:

      Hey, Rod🙂

      I noticed a similar effect at my office. I have a coworker who has a tall server rack by his desk. It has vertically slatted air vents around the top, and when you walk by, the near vents moving in parallax against the far vents causes a cool rippling pattern. I tried once without much success, but I will try again, to print one of these animations and put it on the inside of the far wall of the rack so that, when you walk by, you will see an animation. I’ll post a video if I can get it to work.

  9. Stev says:

    How do they get the video to sync with the piece of plastic?

    (I be trollin hard)

  10. Owoicho says:

    That’s intresting

Leave a Reply

