It’s the Friday Puzzle!

136

A very different type of puzzle this week.  Can you spot the four-leaf clover here?  Please don’t post where it is, but do say how long it took to find. Solution on Monday.

puzzle1a

I have produced an ebook containing 101 of the previous Friday Puzzles! It is called PUZZLED and is available for the Kindle (UK here and USA here) and on the iBookstore (UK here in the USA here). You can try 101 of the puzzles for free here.

136 comments on “It’s the Friday Puzzle!

  1. Kyle says:

    Roughly 15 seconds. Not too difficult.

  2. The Masked Twit says:

    Yes
    30 seconds

  3. Anonymous says:

    15 secs

  4. Anonymous says:

    Immediately, most surprised

  5. Roland says:

    Got lucky, also 10 to 15 seconds🙂

  6. Anonymous says:

    Took a couple of seconds.

  7. curtisfrye says:

    Spotted! About a minute.

  8. Dos says:

    Around 30 seconds

  9. Andy says:

    2 mins spent trying to be much cleverer than I needed to be, and then just looked and found it.

  10. Anonymous says:

    About 15 to 20 seconds. About another 10 to make sure there wasn’t anything crafty going on.

  11. Carla says:

    30 SECONDS

  12. Stephen says:

    About 15 seconds.

  13. MB says:

    Yawn… 10 secs.

  14. raaz says:

    2 minutes

  15. ChrisR says:

    30 seconds once I’d enlarged the picture after looking for 10 seconds and deciding it was doing my eyes in

  16. David Clark says:

    10 seconds

  17. andypiehead says:

    3, 3, 3, 3, 3… Aah, THERE it is… 4 leaves. 20 seconds. ish.

  18. 4mookie says:

    Trick is keep your gaze soft and not to concentrate too hard. Your eyes will lock on before you even know you’ve seen it in seconds.

    • 4mookie says:

      The trick is to keep your gaze soft and not to concentrate too hard. Your eyes will lock on before you even know you’ve seen it in seconds.

    • ChrisR says:

      well, that’s true now I know where it is but it’s too late now for me to verify this assertion

    • Miss Chili says:

      Absolutely! Worked for me — I’d started out by looking intensely, as though this was a Tetris game with identical pieces, but then I read your recommendation, went back and saw it straight away!

  19. Chase says:

    Under a minute … but honestly how is this a puzzle?

    • I’ve seen this complaint more than once recently. How *isn’t* it puzzle? I mean, I don’t like hidden object games, but I still don’t whine about them not being games. I don’t demand that jigsaw puzzles not be called puzzles because they don’t require me to do more than find and match shapes. Tell me what I’m supposed to think a puzzle is so that I, too, can be snooty about Richard’s offerings.

  20. Anonymous says:

    3-5 secs

  21. Eddie says:

    Puzzle void – leaves are green not brown.

  22. neetsl says:

    3 sec.

  23. Franklyn (Sid) Starr says:

    Half a TV ad.

  24. fotoflex2013 says:

    A lucky shot! Couple of seconds.
    I’m more puzzled how today is friday again so quickly??

  25. Andrea Rapisarda says:

    20 seconds

  26. Tony Tolic says:

    Around 20 seconds.

  27. Anita Dunne says:

    About three seconds!

  28. ctj says:

    37 seconds. i spent most of that time expecting something else.

  29. Andrea says:

    About 30 seconds

  30. Turd says:

    Before reading the question

  31. I wish I could spot the ball as easily!

  32. 10 secs or so. Was expecting it to take longer, to be honest.

  33. mittfh says:

    It took me about three seconds to find it, then about 20 more to verify that it was the only four leaved clover in the picture, and about 2 to verify it was a jpeg rather than a gif with a really slow framerate (you never know what strategies Richard will use…)

  34. mgm75 says:

    Got it in under a minute! Was actually very easy to spot I thought.

  35. Alma says:

    Maybe I’m the only one but – can’t see it. Don’t get it. Oh well. :-((

  36. Eugenia says:

    Something like 4 seconds. I happened to start from the right direction.

  37. Kevin Drummond says:

    Interestingly, just a second or two. Jumped straight out at me.

  38. Karleb says:

    10 seconds

  39. Sowmya says:

    Less than 20 seconds.

  40. This appears to be a case where it’s better to think inside the box.

  41. Jolly says:

    To my own surprise only 2 seconds.

  42. Skatz says:

    Less than 30 secs

  43. One Eyed Jack says:

    About a minute, but most of that was spent trying to decide if there was some trick involved. I let my vision go blurry, wondering if there was a 3-D effect. I examined the spaces between the clovers to see if it was a negative space image. In the end, it is a straightforward search. Devious!

  44. Paul says:

    10 seconds when I searched like a normal person and not like a puzzler,

  45. Tim Jones says:

    15 seconds. I suspected a trick so was swivelling my eyes vacantly, and it just popped into my vision. I then spent another 45 seconds checking the result and seeing if it was the only one. I still don’t trust Richard’s puzzles.

  46. Alex says:

    1min 20sec

  47. b says:

    I’m terrible at these “spot the thingee” of games, and I found the clover in under 5 seconds – some self -esteem boosts com cheap. Thanks, Richard!

  48. bletherskite says:

    2 seconds. The i spoke to someone at work and when I looked back I had lost it again, took another 30 seconds to find.

  49. Anonymous says:

    4 seconds

  50. DeepField says:

    About 20 seconds. Brute-force scanning…

  51. SilverMarc says:

    15 seconds or so, now I can’t -not- see it!

  52. Carl Zetie says:

    Interesting to see that Richard has conditioned so many of his readers not to believe that the puzzle is straightforwardly what it says it is.

  53. SimonP says:

    Surely we’re missing something here?

  54. tomrhoads says:

    It took about 5 seconds by just quickly scanning.

  55. Jeff Scanlan says:

    About 15-20 seconds. Was expecting it to be more difficult.

  56. kroketje says:

    13 seconds… but, is this it?

  57. James Bailey says:

    Less than 10 seconds, but like others, more checking to see if there wasn’t some trick.

  58. 23 seconds. Search pattern: spiral inward from border, clockwise, beginning at top left corner.

  59. Brown says:

    Found it immediately in the first place I looked. Finding it was so easy that I spent about a minute checking to see whether it was the only one.

  60. rodkimball says:

    Reminds me of last Friday’s straight-up algebra.

  61. Paul Durrant says:

    38 seconds, probably because I was expecting there to be a twist to the search or I’d have been quicker.

  62. Anders says:

    took me what felt like forever, I wonder what I’m missing that made it so easy for others I spent at least 15 minutes on this one plus some seconds trying to see if perhaps the ones with three leaves were really four leaf clovers srawn in some subtle way but I can’t see anything to say they are

    if the other answers are honest I’d like to know what shortcut I’m missing (and no, I do not believe “before I finished reading the question”, not for this one

    • I don’t think there’s any trick to it. Some will just get lucky to start their search in the right place. Some might have the misfortune of picking a flawed search strategy (e.g., getting lost and covering the same ground multiple times) or otherwise have a slow visual search. My strategy was to do a quick, unfocused scan (~3 seconds) over the entire area to see if anything jumped out at me. Nothing did, so I then did a more detailed scan (~30 seconds) looking for something that didn’t fit the 3 clover pattern. I got slightly lucky because I didn’t have to scan the whole area in detail, so I came out at 20 seconds total.

  63. nikki says:

    it took me like 6 seconds to find

  64. Milli says:

    2minutes

  65. I’m pretty sure that’s not clover. Clover leaves are round or elliptical; Wood Sorrel leaves, on the other hand, are heart-shaped like in the puzzle.

    By the way, for the same reason, a traditional shamrock is probably wood sorrel and not clover. Also, wood sorrel is edible and quite tasty.

    Mind blown?

  66. rmb says:

    Copied the image in Paint and then enlarged it to 200%.
    15 seconds thereafter.

  67. Lazy T says:

    most boring comments ever!
    15 secs
    Did nobody else see maggie thatcher riding backwards on a donkey juggling chainsaws?

  68. Joost says:

    I started to look, thinking it would be some kind of trick, but then almost immediately… BANG there it is. So less then 10 secs.

  69. randyconley@juno.com says:

    28 seconds

    Please note: message attached

  70. Anonymous says:

    9 seconds! i was surprised i would get it that fast. Thanks for the puzzle.

  71. Craig says:

    About a minute and a half.

  72. Stevenz says:

    Less than 5 seconds.

  73. Stevenz says:

    Or, is the answer “yes”? If so, it took me less than 5 seconds.

  74. Should I be concerned that it took me less than 5 seconds to find it?

  75. issahamati says:

    About a minute.

  76. Louise says:

    Less than a minute

  77. Diane says:

    About 10 seconds. Then another few minutes of wondering what I missed.

  78. gene says:

    under 10 seconds

  79. Alma says:

    Oh – I finally saw it! Second time of looking at the puzzle and just – looking. Yes, it’s just TOO simple and straightforward this time. That’s why I missed it.🙂

  80. Evan Cohrs says:

    Got it within the first minute! Man, it’s right in the open. Haha

  81. Merari says:

    5 to 10 seconds

  82. Ken Haley says:

    About 30 seconds…didn’t time myself. I was actually beginning to think it wasn’t there–that this was a trick.

  83. Jane O says:

    Oh – saw it straight away, not sure how.

  84. Anonymous says:

    In 2-Squared times 3.14159265 seconds (just so people thinks there’s a hidden clue).

  85. Just Mike says:

    Less than 5 seconds. Just lucky I guess.

  86. Almost immediately. Guess I just began looking in the right place.

  87. Anonymous says:

    around 10

  88. VicinCA says:

    10 seconds

  89. Graeme says:

    Clue, don’t pay too much attention to Steve because it is a four-leaf clover you’re looking for!

  90. Anonymous says:

    I got it, it tooks me about 30 seconds!!

  91. Pawel says:

    Less than 5 sec

  92. Matt says:

    Almost immediately. I just jumped out at me.

  93. Donald says:

    1/10 second. As I scrolled down to the picture, I saw the square among the triangles before the page stopped moving.

  94. About twelve seconds of systematic scanning, but I’m sure that there’ll be something cunning that I’ve missed,

  95. About a minute. Wasted a lot of time thinking it would be a white clover on a black background. That’ll teach me to over think things.

  96. alain b says:

    reminding me when i was 6 year old on the country long time ago…

  97. Ronda says:

    less than 10 seconds. I was good at finding them in real life as a farm kid, too. 🙂

  98. […] La imagen la encontré en el estupendo blog de “Acertijos y más cosas” la cual he modificado un poco para dejarle un aspecto más natural. La autoría la desconozco, aunque también la he encontrado en el blog de”Richard Wiseman” […]

  99. Chadwick says:

    Particularly interesting cheers, It is my feeling your trusty visitors may well want considerably more items of the nature continue the excellent effort.

Leave a Reply

