Answer to the Friday Puzzle….

19

coverOn Friday I posted this puzzle.

Some animals decided to get together and have several tug of war matches.

When two snails were against three frogs it was a draw.

When three dogs were against four snails it was a draw.

What happened when five frogs had a match against two dogs?

If you have not tried to solve it, have a go now.  For everyone else, the answer is after the break.

The frogs will win!  Four frogs will tie with two dogs.
I have produced an ebook containing 101 of the previous Friday Puzzles! It is called PUZZLED and is available for the Kindle (UK here and USA here) and on the iBookstore (UK here in the USA here). You can try 101 of the puzzles for free here.

19 comments on “Answer to the Friday Puzzle….

  1. What sort of a bizarre parallel universe is it where two dogs can’t overpower five frogs? What sort of dogs are they? What sort of frogs? Are they baby mini-bonsai dogs with their legs amputated, and giant dinosaur frogs? Or are they a sort-of Schroedinger’s dog which only exist as long as they don’t make an effort in the competition?

  2. Anne Elk says:

    Got it right. I’m usually rubbish at the maths ones so I’m pleased.

  3. Mr. John Cartwright: that would be the world of logic, where actual properties of the actors don’t count: only their described properties do. Dogs and frogs were used as actors on purpose, to snag people that think like you.

    I did find the right answer, so it seems.

  4. Whistler says:

    Nice one. And quite easy.

  5. Julie says:

    I got the maths. I was just hoping there was a twist to the puzzle.

  6. Adzcliff says:

    Don’t know if I used the most algebraic formula, but it took me a couple of minutes to make snails the dominant currency, and convert everything from there…

  7. manuel0402 says:

    It must be one of those frogs: http://imgace.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/09/giant-frog-eating-a-mouse.jpg

    But hell, what kind of snail are we talking about??

  8. Lazy T says:

    They’re not real frogs, dogs and snails, they’re members of UK baseball teams,
    the Fulchester Frogs, Doncaster Dogs and Shrewsbury Snails.

  9. issahamati says:

    it nice one

  10. Yeah! my mental maths won out🙂

  11. Henry says:

    The uber-frogs beating the wimpy-dogs was nothing! What about those apparently massively muscled snails? All this topsy turvey world needed was Alice chasing the White Rabbit! (Bonus: my spell check wanted to changing “topsy turvey” into “tipsy turkey” … think I like that better.)

  12. Turd says:

    February 1st
    January 6th
    October 1st
    August 3rd

  13. Artie says:

    I keep trying to subscribe for the Letters thing, but there’s nowhere to do so! After i sign in, under the MANAGE YOUR SUBSCRIPTION hyperlink, there’s only my Book Club subscription. How do I add the Letters thing for $5?

  14. Darren says:

    Dude.. I am not substantially into studying, but somehow I obtained to experience lots of article articles along with your online site. Its wonderful how attention-grabbing it really is for me to go to you pretty frequently.

Leave a Reply

