Lovely perspective illusion…..

13

@twieguez sent this great, and probably unintentional, illusion from a food catalogue.  The tins are exactly the same size but look different sizes because of imagined perspective…..

BWDGhxxCIAA40Ju

13 comments on “Lovely perspective illusion…..

  1. Adrian Martienssen says:

    I had to put a ruler against my screen before I was prepared to believe you!
    Adrian

  2. Stevie says:

    It’s wonderful how, even when this is known and understood, the brain can still apply the perspective.

  3. Nate says:

    The “front” or “bottom” tins are in fact slightly smaller, but the forced perspective enhances the effect.

  4. Eddie says:

    The one at the back is 64mm across and the one at the front is 61mm (on my screen).
    This is because of the angle of the camera on the paper. So a bit of a cheat really.

  5. Eddie says:

    You cod say that.

  6. It simply depends on the scales… 🙂

  7. ChrisR says:

    I’m herring you

  8. Anonymous says:

    Saw the picture up-side down, and the illusion was gone🙂

  9. Marybeth says:

    Do you accept “applications” for official letter writers?

  10. Emory says:

    Howdy, I found your web site when i was searching Bling for web sites linked to this content. I wanted to explain to you, your internet site is sweet. I just like the style as well, its awesome. I haven’t got some time now to fully examine your site but I have bookmarked it and i also signed up for your personal RSS feed. I will be back again inside of a day or two. Many thanks for your fantastic internet site.

Leave a Reply

