It’s the Friday Puzzle….

88

cover Please do NOT post your answer, but do say if you think you have solved the puzzle and how long it took. Solution on Monday.

A very different type of puzzle this week… do you understand why this is correct…..

do-you-get-this
I have produced an ebook containing 101 of the previous Friday Puzzles! It is called PUZZLED and is available for the Kindle (UK here and USA here) and on the iBookstore (UK here in the USA here). You can try 101 of the puzzles for free here.

88 comments on “It’s the Friday Puzzle….

  1. Anonymous says:

    Yes … Less than a second

  2. Fotoflex says:

    Yes! 10 secs, after I realised it’s not a mathematical puzzle.

  3. Simon Taylor says:

    Yes, as soon as I’d read it. Nice though.

  4. Calgacus says:

    There are two possible correct answers. “Yes” or “No”, depending upon circumstances.

  5. Anonymous says:

    Yes, instantaneously as I was reading it.

  6. Tony Tolic says:

    Pretty easy this week😀

  7. Anne Elk says:

    About ten seconds, I reckon. Not often I can make a claim like that!

  8. Anna Benson says:

    Easy peasy. Got in about 10 seconds

  9. Anonymous says:

    tok me a minute to get it

  10. Fotoflex says:

    Of Topic.
    Here an image for your entertaiment:
    [http://www.imagebam.com/image/c032f2278380332
    Though I know the answer, I can’t see the raven.😦

  11. robcrompton says:

    Nice one – simples!

  12. The Masked Twit says:

    Took me a whole minute, which is a large multiple of what you guys claimed it took you.

  13. Elliot Phillips says:

    Got it the second time I read it. So about 10 seconds!

  14. Another Elk says:

    Fish?
    Fish??
    Fish???
    I’m floundering

  15. Dougal McTavish says:

    6+ 6 = space hopper

  16. NickC says:

    4+4 = umbrella

  17. Dennis says:

    If I want to be pedantic (and I do) 7 +7 isn’t really triangle.

  18. Julia says:

    I don’t quite see the fish.

  19. Charlotte says:

    I get it! You just flip one, then put them together! That is smart!

  20. Anonymous says:

    about five seconds. made me smile.

  21. Danielle Kennedy says:

    It’s an insta-solve for me this week.

  22. Anders says:

    looks like a yes or no question to me: my answer is yes I can and it took me about 30 seconds

  23. fieldri1 says:

    I think so, 19.8 seconds (yes, I’m sad enough that I started the stopwatch on my phone…)

  24. Lazy T says:

    t + t = taurus

  25. 2012 and all that says:

    Didn’t understand at first but then finally got a “ping” moment. Clever one!

  26. Anonymous says:

    less than 5 seconds

  27. ctj says:

    1 + 1 = window
    2 x 2 = dead fish
    1 + 1 + 3 = boobs
    4 + 4 = arrow

    i’m sure there are others – just ask any elementary school kid.

  28. Vaibhav Garg says:

    Took me a second…………..of Googling!

  29. Oh I see. Not a very convincing fish! 6+6 would make a better one.

  30. Raptor says:

    Maybe it’s time to moderate the comments to avoid stupids like Dave from spoiling the games?

  31. The Pick Man says:

    Nostalgia.
    With people like Dave and Charlotte around the quality of readers here ain’t what it used to be.

  32. Mike Torr says:

    The fish one is a bit hard to justify, to be honest.

    • Anonymous says:

      ???? the fish one is the best! Good puzzle, i love the lateral thinking ones…

    • Mike Torr says:

      Well, I suppose it depends on… well, it depends on something subjective but I can’t really say without writing a spoiler!🙂

  33. John says:

    I used to know this one. Me and my friends used to make equations like that to mess with each other. If only I remembered.

  34. Jeff Scanlan says:

    Took me about 2 seconds to figure that one out. Very fun though!!

  35. Anonymous says:

    + combines the shapes. A common practice for the cartoonists. For example you could also draw breasts, arse, testicles or heart with the number 3.

  36. Antonio says:

    Solved it in 1 minute! Fun puzzle!

  37. Anonymous says:

    Lots of fun here!! 5 seconds!!

  38. DeepField says:

    I am surprised I solved it in about ten seconds.

    It’s a shame that some jerks cannot keep their fingers shut!

  39. Pogo Patterson says:

    I don’t know what’s more baffling: that people don’t understand that they shouldn’t give their answers (or hint at their answers); or that regular readers of this blog think that they can’t just not look at the comments before solving it and thereby save themselves from having the puzzle spoilt if they haven’t solved it before looking at the comments. (I’m not saying that that applies to all spoiler beraters but it must apply to some.)

    For the record, this took me a lot longer than other posters seem on average to have taken, which is a bit annoying for someone with an over-inflated sense of pride for this sort of thing. I looked at it first thing this morning for a few seconds, didn’t get it straightaway, so printed it out and left it largely unlooked at on my desk, save for a few furrow-browed glances during the day. Then, once I’d cleared my day’s workload, I looked at it again for a minute or two and the penny dropped. Nice puzzle.

    • Stevie says:

      I got out almost immediately, I guess I just saw through it straight away.
      Totally agree with you comment. I never read the comments until after I’ve tried solve the puzzle.
      The spoilers spoil for reasons unknown but they don’t spoil it for me.

    • Ronda says:

      I agree wholeheartedly with your first paragraph. Duh– Don’t look if you don’t want spoilers!🙂

  40. issahamati says:

    Solved it in less than 1 minute ,but i like it

  41. Fotoflex says:

    I’m sorry. I didn’t realise people read the comments before solving the puzzle.
    And, considering it would be a list of; ‘Yes’, ‘No’, and ‘So many seconds’ if everybody stuck to the rules of posting, I don’t understand why they should do so.

  42. My answer to the question is “Yes” but I don’t think I’m spoilering anything by saying so.

  43. Jefferson says:

    SPOILER ALERT!!!

    2 + 2 = An underlined valentine style heart
    3+3 = A four leaf clover
    7 + 7 = A lightning Bolt

    • Ronda says:

      Not seeing the lightning bolt if it follows the pattern of the others. But the 7 didn’t technically work for a triangle either, at least not in that font. Still fun, though!

    • jefferson says:

      Had to cheat alittle for the bolt. Flip the 7 upside down and set it on top of the other 7

  44. ross says:

    got it quickly. I like the variation of difficulty levels in friday puzzles keeps me comin back

  45. Peter Leeson says:

    Nice one, took nearly 15 seconds to work out out.

  46. Ronda says:

    Absolutely! And I’m pretty pleased that I saw it almost instantly. Very cool puzzle. I love brain stretchers.

  47. The other Matt says:

    Nice and easy one this week: We just had to search the part “do not post” in the comments an quickly got the answer above them…

  48. Bill says:

    It took 2 seconds…

  49. My wife—the real genius in the family—figured it out in about 3 seconds. I was still scratching my head. The second equation is what gave it away for her.

  50. Esra G says:

    This one is easy.I solved it in a blink of an eye

Leave a Reply

