Moving Buddha!

29

@Letitia_Potorac sent me this wonderful moving image illusion – does it work for you?

 

Anomalous_motion

29 comments on “Moving Buddha!

  1. Anonymous says:

    Buddha is still for me.🙂

  2. Yip Buddha is the only thing not moving for me

  3. DiscoveredJoys says:

    Does for me… more or less strongly depending on the distance from my eyes to the screen (and size of image). I guess the illusion is generated by the saccades of my eyes picking up the differing directions of the light edge to the dots which make the dots look as if they are leaning. First they lean this way, and then that way, and I’m feeling sleepy…

  4. Alma says:

    This is a weird one! The Buddha looks still to me. More a case of “moving dots around a Buddha”. Close up it’s hard to believe the dots aren’t moving but if you look from a distance of about 3 feet you can see that they aren’t. Good one.🙂

  5. Eddie says:

    Seems that by putting on black and white edges you can get anything to look as though it’s moving.

  6. genna78 says:

    for me they are only the points to move

  7. Anonymous says:

    Same as everyone else, the Buddha is, appropriately, in stillness while all around is chaos

  8. No, it doesn’t do it for me, with or without glasses. Is there something wrong with me?

  9. Stan says:

    It sadly doesn’t work for me any more. As I recall that is one of the categories of illusions that decreases with age. I’m not sure why.
    I think it is the illusion with a Japanese name. Does anyone recall the name or have a book with named illusions?

    • Ken Haley says:

      Doesn’t work for me either, Stan. I’m 66. How old are you–if you don’t mind my asking? And I wonder if Richard can explain why age would matter.

  10. Why does Richard keep on mis-using the word “illusion”? What illusion? And what’s moving? Nothing’s moving. I don’t get it!

    • Duncan says:

      The illusion is that the dots appear to be moving when they are in fact still. It probably won’t work if you’re looking at it on a phone (or other small screen).

  11. OHW says:

    Buddha’s not moving, the dots are.

  12. edwardv says:

    But the Buddha isn’t moving. Oh wait. I have to transcend the duality of motion and stillness. Now it’s all perfectly clear.

  13. Anonymous says:

    IT IS JUST A STILL PICTURE FOR ME
    DAVE NUCKLEY

  14. Anonymous says:

    Yeah buddha’s not moving, the dots are.

  15. Anonymous says:

    Oh hey, do you know Soka Gakkai International? They are very creepy north korean buddhist.
    http://blog-imgs-44.fc2.com/k/k/s/kkssaa1221/20110514035516e87.jpg 
    They are wearing the national costume of North Korea.

    It’s a dangerous group.

  16. Anonymous says:

    http://kkssaa1221.blog27.fc2.com/blog-entry-34.html

    It seems Soka Gakkai International is north korean Terrorist.

  17. Anonymous says:

    http://www15.ocn.ne.jp/~oyakodon/newversion/sokakitacho.htm‎
    It seems Soka Gakkai International is Terrorists.

  18. Anonymous says:

    Oh they add weird script at end of URL, %E2%80%8E
    You can delete %E2%80%8E

Leave a Reply

