Answer to the Friday Puzzle…

21

cover

On Friday I posted this puzzle…..

How quickly can you find out what is unusual about this paragraph? It looks so ordinary that you would think that nothing was wrong with it at all and, in fact, nothing is.  But it is unusual.  Why?  If you study it and think about it you may find out, but I am not going to assist you in any way.  You must do it without coaching.
If you have not tried to solve it, have a go now.  For everyone else, the answer is after the break.
The paragraph does not contain the letter ‘e’!  Did you solve it?
I have produced an ebook containing 101 of the previous Friday Puzzles! It is called PUZZLED and is available for the Kindle (UK here and USA here) and on the iBookstore (UK here in the USA here). You can try 101 of the puzzles for free here.

21 comments on “Answer to the Friday Puzzle…

  1. Andrew says:

    George Perec’s La Disparition, translated as A Void, did the same thing on a novel-wide scale.

  2. Goliath says:

    Yes, saw the lipogram quite quickly.

  3. Anne Elk says:

    This was a rare one for me because I got it as soon as I read it. In fact, years ago, when I used to teach English, I used to have puzzles like this in hand for the last few minutes of a lesson. Another favourite was: “Was it a car or a cat I saw?” Always fun for the students… Andrew mentions Perec’s A Void. The first amazing thing was that Perec wrote a novel (approx 400 pages) in French without a single letter E present. The second amazing thing was that Gilbert Adair translated it into English — again without a letter E. And it’s a good story as well! If memory serves, the lead character is c alled Anton Vowl.

  4. Roland says:

    Not does it contain the letter X😉

  5. MB says:

    Nice one, but I was taught that the first word of a paragraph should be indented. So that was my answer. It would also help if the ‘paragraph’ itself had been highlighted or separated from the next sentence as that certainly did contain the letter ‘e’ several times.

  6. mgm75 says:

    Yup, as I said. Had to go through it again and again until I saw that I was right. <—- No "e" in that either😀

  7. Ingrid Swaffield says:

    Sent from my iPad

  8. fotoflex2013 says:

    Happy to know that I had it right.
    This is a first, I have not got a right solution for you conundrums in the past at all.
    Hurrah!

  9. Anonymous says:

    I thought it was that it contained no contractions

  10. Rod Kimball says:

    I think that this thing should also not occur in our discussion. Why not? It’s fun to try to say things this way.

  11. edwardv says:

    It would have been better if the other missing letters, j,v,x,z were included in the paragraph.

  12. Furie says:

    It also contains no contractions.

  13. How is that unusual? I always craft my paragraphs so that no fifth glyph (of any sort) is shown. I would say that it would look most odd to wordsmith *with* such a handicap!

  14. Anonymous says:

    There is no ‘Z” in the paragraph

  15. CaspaB says:

    Reminds me of the unanswered “Why is a raven like a writing desk?” . Best suggested answer I saw was “Because neither begins with an ‘n'”

  16. Edgar says:

    I thought it was the double space at the start of each line. O well…

  17. Sunni says:

    Wonderful capturing emotions in these!

Leave a Reply

