Amazing new illusion

23

Gilad D sent me this great new illusion – amazingly the dots are always moving in a straight line!

tumblr_mrsjwox3jJ1r2geqjo1_500

Like it?

23 comments on “Amazing new illusion

  1. Geodetective says:

    Yes, I like it. It’s comparable to an audience wave.

  2. sharononeill says:

    AwesomešŸ™‚ disco shamrock!

  3. stephnyc says:

    wow! I couldnt see it at first though, all I could see were dots moving in a straight line but if I sit further back I can see the ‘rotation’

  4. dgilad says:

    It is a circular version of a wave motion:

  5. Anonymous says:

    Just realised the ‘three-leaf’ figure is rotating anticlockwise. Cool.

  6. Mr E Eggleston says:

    Sorry. I just don’t get this. I see dots moving in a straight line; what’s the illusion?

    • Eddie says:

      I think it’s supposed to look as though the individual dots are moving in loops around the ‘leaves’, which are themselves rotating around the centre of the pattern. All this from dots moving in straight lines. Enjoy.

  7. Duncan says:

    Works really wellšŸ™‚

  8. Kenneth L. McNutt says:

    ;This is very interesting. It really looks like it is rotating. Thank you for your good work, it starts my day off with a smile

  9. issahamati says:

    amazingly the dots are always moving in a straight line!

  10. I think the description might be counter-productive; I read “amazingly the dots are always moving in a straight line!”, and it makes we watch the individual dots. And yes, they’re clearly moving in straight lines with nothing illusion-like happening. But then I mentally step back and look at the whole image (as I would if I hadn’t been primed to think about the dots) and the rotation illusion snaps into place.

  11. Ronda says:

    THAT. is. amazing.

  12. L.Long says:

    Yes very nice.
    When I fist looked at it I only saw the straight lines.
    Then the circulating clover.
    But if I really look at the straight line motion I can stop the clover.

  13. Martha says:

    Does it work with other shapes or just clover patterns?

  14. Where is the “illusion”? And why is it “amazing” that the dots move in straight lines? Otherwise, it just looks like a random squiggly mess to me. What’s the point?

  15. I JUST LIKED IT………………HASMUKH PATEL

  16. mgm75 says:

    That is definitely one of the coolest optical illusions I have ever seen!

  17. […] ilusiĆ³n visual, que posteĆ³ hace unas semanas Richard Wiseman, es una variante del Tusi or not Tusi de Arthur Shapiro y Alex Rose-Henig. Si te interesa, echa un […]

  18. airving2013 says:

    This is fantastic – I love it! May I ask who “Gilad D” (referenced as the originator) is & where I could find the original please?

Leave a Reply

