Handy illusion

17

@olliemealing brought my attention to this great illusion yesterday…..

hand

And very good it is too. Like it?

17 comments on “Handy illusion

  1. Krisuz says:

    Not really an illusion, just a painted hand. How can this be called “very good” is a mystery to me!

  2. Tim says:

    You try it then!!

  3. Stevie says:

    While I appreciate the art work, I think I’d have preferred it if the paints were flesh coloured. It would be interesting to see hours it looked, painted to blend in. It might prove to not work as well.
    My favourite hands drawing or art piece remains Escher’s work in which hands are shown drawing each other.

  4. Martha says:

    What if I told you…
    the blue fingers are real and the other are Photoshopped?

    • Stevie says:

      I’d disagree. Admittedly the quality of my phone may not be the best but I still think the curled in fingers are painted on to the palm. As for the fingers, some peoples hands and fingers are very elongated.
      Happy to be wrong though!

    • Agree completely… Just look at the middle finger. The third joint (where the proximal phalanges join the metacarpals) should be where the finger ends but in this picture it doesn’t. A definite photoshop of the non inked fingers.

  5. Karen says:

    I’d agree – otherwise he has a really long section of his fingers between the palm and second section.

  6. L.Long says:

    Good call Martha!!
    I went back and looked again and the too long fingers where obvious.
    I love how illusions tell me how bad I really interface with reality.
    Of course being a flat image helps.

  7. Anonymous says:

    Hmmmm. Interesting. Verrry interesting.🙂 It’s quite interesting how something so seemingly uninteresting can become such an interesting topic. Isn’t that just INTERESTING? 🙂

  8. Anonymous says:

    yeah except there is nothing elongated about those fingers. If I bring my thumb tip over to my hand, I have three segments of index finger beyond the tip of my thumb, just like the picture. There is no optical illusion here, it’s an open hand with a thumbs up overlaid in purple.

    • L.Long says:

      Crap! now looking a 3rd time I see your point as well!!!
      So I experimented with my hand held up and closing my fingers to palm and noticed that there is a a small bulge in front of my thumb from the 1st knuckle that is not seen in the illusion. Again this works well because it is a flat image so the 3D info is missing.

  9. Luke Meyers says:

    Can you Please send that to luke.meyers2@education.nsw.gov.au

    but not all other emails only this one thanks love your stuff!! Sent from iCloud

  10. Krisuz says:

    good old Wanker Dave joins the chat and as usual disappears!

  11. arjay says:

    I say it’s two actual hands. No photoshop.

  12. Great Views. Hope to read more from you!

Leave a Reply

