Look at this and then blink….

56

@JohnnyMcQuade sent me this great illusion yesterday – basically, look at this and then blink – what did you see?  It might take a few moments to load because it is a 2mb file.

blink

56 comments on “Look at this and then blink….

  1. Anonymous says:

    What’s supposed to happen? I don’t see anything out of the ordinary…

  2. Bjørnar says:

    I don’t see anything different when I blink. Well, other than the insides of my eyelids, and then the animated image again.

  3. Anonymous says:

    I think you have to blink repeatedly…? Then you get continuous appearance and disappearance of some circles, a bit like rain landing on a puddle. Illusory contours I think.

  4. Nothing here either! Are you meant to look at a specific point, or for a length of time?

  5. Minor Deity says:

    I saw the face of the Blessed Richard Dawkins (peace be upon him).

  6. Anders says:

    it took me only one moment to load. How long are your moments? and I see some circles, but I see them even without blinking

  7. issahamati says:

    wow it is really strange

  8. I’m enjoying just looking at it too much blink.

  9. I can see circles. Wonder if the people who can just see it are also able to detect flickering lights?

  10. michaeljefisher says:

    Blinking is unnecessary. I can see circles appearing & fading away in the image with one very definite circle centred on the centre of the square image.

    Also it’s not a motion illusion. I took random screen shots & some of them show the main circle clearly. Here’s a crop image of the area containing a circle at the moment the circle is clearest:-

  11. Julia says:

    Whether I blink once or lots of times (Hugh Grant-style) or not at all – I just see circles.

  12. Martha says:

    Nope, doesn’t work for me, even after a minute of staring.

  13. Anders says:

    ok, I’m not sure if I’m imagining it, but after blinking a few times, I *think* I can also sort of see a pentagram in there

  14. If you blink several times the pattern gives the illusion of movement.

  15. Steve says:

    I faintly see the (moving) concentric circles but when blinking the one in the middle becomes more distinctive as if by blinking it forces me to focus more in the middle of the image.

  16. Steve says:

    The blinking must be a stroboscopic effect.

  17. duxallinarow says:

    Brilliant! When I blink, and I had to blink repeatedly, I saw the subliminal message, “Either drink more coffee or go back to bed.”

  18. ChrisR says:

    I’m sure I saw a gorilla – for just a split-second

  19. Greg23 says:

    When blinking think more of fluttering your eyelids, like a stroboscope. A different pattern appears with each blink. Kind of cool.

  20. Gus Snarp says:

    I see circles and lines. The same circles and lines I see without blinking. Not sure I’m getting it. I’ve tried rapid blinking, slow blinking, blinking once, blinking repeatedly.

  21. dayuntoday says:

    I think this is cool. Yes, it’s moving, and no, it’s probably not technically an illusion, because it actually is reorganizing into various different designs. BUT blinking has the effect of giving you a momentary still shot, so that the images show up more clearly. It’s just kind of a fun phenomena.

  22. dayuntoday says:

    After watching this for awhile, I’m intrigued by all the variety. Yes, circles pop up here and there, but the lines in the negative spaces are especially interesting. Sometimes they form stars, sometimes parallelograms, sometimes trapezoids or triangles. Very cool.

  23. Every time I blink I see the larger circle in the centre. If I’m not blinking it comes and goes yet every time I blink the circle is there. It doesn’t matter how much time I wait between blinks.
    I assume this is what is supposed to happen.

    • Karen says:

      Not for me. Sometimes after blinking I see the large circle in the centre, and sometimes not.

      Basically it makes no difference whether I blink or not. If I just stare at it without blinking, I see circles and straight lines appearing and disappearing. If I blink, I see the same. It makes no difference how quickly or how often I blink.

      If there’s a point to this illusion (or at least a point to the instruction “then blink”), I fail to see it.

  24. Anonymous says:

    Ok it’s crazy. If I stare sometime at the center and then look somewhere else (preferably a white wall) I see a small square. When I blink it becomes a bigger rectangle. The next time I blink it changes back to the square, then the rectangle, then the square … Well, you get the idea.

  25. Shelley says:

    I think I’m peaking, man!

  26. edwardv says:

    The entire image seems to be drifting to the left, and light and dark interesting lines appear and disappear along with two concentric circles.

  27. Eddie says:

    The mystery of the non-illuding illusion…

  28. Jelhel says:

    I think I can see a pentagram……..

  29. Anonymous says:

    I saw Christ coming to earth with a whole scad of angels. I think it might be the rapture…

  30. Anonymous says:

    I can’t see a blinking thing!

  31. Sruart Ferguson says:

    with one eye closed and my hand operating my other eyelid to open and close as quick as possible, I almost get to see the circle in the middle solid with the pentagram rotating around it

    • Anonymous says:

      “my hand operating my other eyelid” has to be one of the funniest things I’ve read in a while.

  32. Ken Haley says:

    How was this made?? It looks like a moire pattern formed by two much simpler patterns, one moving slowly to the left.

  33. Steve Frushour says:

    Pure elegance.

  34. John G says:

    At first, I saw the random ‘cells’ moving sort of diagonally to the lower left. Then I inadvertently blinked, and then immediately started seeing the circles. I can’t say for sure I DIDN’T see the circles, as I didn’t look very long without blinking.

    I do see other patterns, but the circles are the most obvious as they fade in and out.

    == John ==

  35. … but… did you see the moonwalking bear?

  36. samurai says:

    thaaaaaaaaaaanks

  37. Moo says:

    I like the way you have to watch for a minute before you can suddenly see it. Nicely done! My eyes hurt though!

  38. stev says:

    The animation repeats every second or so but if you stare at it different lines appear over several seconds depending on how your eyes interpret it.

  39. Anonymous says:

    Wow! How cool! It’s motion illusion. I didn’t see anything strange at first. I scrolled down then up then saw it.

  40. Mike Torr says:

    I agree with edwardv – there seems to be an illusion that it’s moving to the left, though it probably isn’t, because I tried to make my eyes follow the movement and I didn’t end up falling off the left hand edge…

    I’m really bewildered as to what blinking has to do with this, apart from allowing one to freeze-frame the animation; but that would be true of many animations. That said, I do like this one. It is fascinating to watch the lines and circles appearing, sometimes black and sometimes white…

  41. Norton360 says:

    I agree your opinion, Thank you for your post, Your post is very good.\nRolex has been an innovative line of luxury and award winning performance. There are watches that Hermes Birkin 30 are elegant and sleek while others are more dazzling and glamorous. It was officially registered in 1908. Because of the high price of original Hermes Bags Outlet Store, many people are prevented from these Buy Discount Hermes Bags Outlet masterpieces. There are some more products like pens lighters etc. The price for such Hermes Crocodile Birkin is stacked under two hundred dollars. They are made from the best possible materials and look, feel and Hermes Birkin Outlet impress exactly like original Swiss watches. If you often look through the websites, that you will find that we have lots of different categories about the replica watches and Hermes Outlet Store Price other name brands shoes, handbags and so on. This is one of the best sites that I have found, because you can get the latest designer name brand watches at such low prices.

  42. Amazing content, thank You !!

Leave a Reply

