Shake your head from side to side….

44

This is lovely illusion.  Gently shake your head from side to side, or move the image, and see what happens…..

shake

 

Does it work for you?

44 comments on “Shake your head from side to side….

  1. Stu says:

    I can’t see anything. But I have nerve damage to one eye that makes it hard to perceive reds, and slightly affects my stereo vision, so I’m used to not getting these. I can’t do “Magic Eye”s either!

  2. Anonymous says:

    Pikachu!

  3. Anonymous says:

    Didn’t see any change.

  4. Luke Meyers says:

    What happens

  5. cyclops says:

    I’m blind in one eye and I can just about recognise something like a Pokemon character, from its eye and nose position, and shape and angle of its ears. Are stereoscopic viewers seeing a more defined character?

  6. Niva says:

    yes, a blurry pikachu.

  7. DiscoveredJoys says:

    The ‘image’ is slightly more definite when looked at with both eyes, rather than with either eye. But moving my head in various ways, or moving the image in various ways, adds nothing.

  8. glenn bernes says:

    its a rabbitt isn’t it?

  9. Anonymous says:

    No improvement whether shaking head or the image. Nor en viewing stereoscopically.

    *look at blurred image of Pikachu, shake head, see same image but now you have a headache’

  10. Julia says:

    I can’t move the image side to side, but moving it up and down works. Moving my head does nothing.

  11. Juja says:

    It works without any shaking when I take my glasses of. I’m slightly shortsighted, same on both eyes. You’ll probably get it when you don’t focus directly on the picture.

  12. NickC says:

    It works better if look at the image from a distance

  13. Anonymous says:

    Nothing changes when i move my head. very disappointing.

  14. The Pick Man says:

    “Does it work for you?” No.

  15. Anonymous says:

    Pika Pika chu… Pikachuuu

  16. Muaaz Omar says:

    It does not work on me

    Please reply

  17. Anita Dunne says:

    Is it a bunny?

  18. Miss Chili says:

    It’s vague, but it’s there. At first, I thought it was my monitor needing cleaning again (!), but there is something there. Other folk say it’s Pikachu peeking at you, but it could as well be a skull.

  19. Duncan says:

    Squinting works best for me – but even then I can only see the features of the face.

  20. I could see it, barely, on my phone. I try on my desktop, and… no. There’s nothing there.

  21. L.Long says:

    This not strictly an illusion. But a vision test as there are vague differences in shading and color between the black stripes. If you have any visual problems then you may not see it.
    I used my imaging program to analyze the pixels. If you can see it then your color vision is pretty good.

  22. Ken Haley says:

    I see it best when I increase the size slightly and then use the mouse wheell to scroll up and down. Even the colors come through–yellow body, pink mouth. But the body is very indistinct–can’t quite make it out.

  23. Anonymous says:

    Protip: use your mouse to move the browser back and forth at a medium to fast speed.

  24. Fotoflex says:

    Scrolling shows there is more to see than just lines.
    But I can’t make out what. A bunny?

  25. issahamati says:

    no

  26. Steve says:

    I could vaguely see it and better when head shaking. It reminds me of looking through a fence. If you run past a fence you can see almost everything as if the fence wasn’t there. Similarly if you sway your body from side to side near the fence you can see quite a lot too. The faster the sway or run the more you see. I suppose the brain takes all the virtical slices and puts them together in to a ‘complete’ image.

  27. Steve says:

    I could vaguely see it and better when head shaking. It reminds me of looking through a fence. If you run past a fence you can see almost everything as if the fence wasn’t there. Similarly if you sway your body from side to side near the fence you can see quite a lot too. The faster the sway or run the more you see. I suppose the brain takes all the virtical slices and puts them together in to a ‘complete’ image.

  28. Steve says:

    I could vaguely see it and better when head shaking. It reminds me of looking through a fence. If you run past a fence you can see almost everything as if the fence wasn’t there. Similarly if you sway your body from side to side near the fence you can see quite a lot too. The faster the sway or run the more you see. I suppose the brain takes all the vertical slices and puts them together in to a ‘complete’ image.

  29. Anonymous says:

    It also works if you tilt the your screen back.

  30. Anonymous says:

    Who’s that Pokemon? It’s Pikachu! PIKACHU!

  31. I don’t like the patronising “Does it work for you?”. Does what work for me?!? What is supposed to happen? Nothing happened. Just a load of lines. So what?

  32. Kristian says:

    Doesn’t work that well for me. Works best when moving my head vividly up and down.

    • Steve says:

      It’s not meant to be patronising. It works for some and not others. We’re all different so they’ll always be some who don’t see anything or some that will see more than most. Maybe your visual system is different to most and are one of a very few unique individuals.

  33. Tiyo says:

    Reblogged this on TiyoBlog and commented:
    Pokemon!

  34. Anonymous says:

    Use the mouse wheel (or other mechanism for scrolling up and down) to move the image up and down instead. You can do it longer and your head doesn’t feel quite so strange/affected. Pokemon’s not very exciting for adults though.

  35. ChrisR says:

    Ok for me – see it without even moving my head – well, enough to recognise it – general yellow shape, ears with black tips, red nose (actually mouth, isn’t it) and cheeks.
    If I treat it like a magic-eye picture though all I see is black lines

  36. Steve Frushour says:

    Cute bunny

  37. Neil says:

    How do you get Pikachu on a bus?

    You Poke-‘im-on!!!!

    You can use that if you want.

  38. Stu says:

    It works great if the point is to make me look like a spastic idiot in front of my computer. Luckily nobody saw me and stuck a wooden spoon in my mouth

  39. What the bleep is “Pikachu” supposed to mean?
    And what the bleep is this supposed to be, apart from just a load of grey diagonal lines?

  40. Ashlyn says:

    U can see it weather u tilt ur head or not

Leave a Reply

