Is this moving?

20

I really like movement illusions, and the other day @lIIusions posted one of the best ones I have ever seen….

moving
Does it work for you?

20 comments on “Is this moving?

  1. Geodetective says:

    Cool! works very well.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Yes, it’s moving – and it’s coming to get you!

  3. Steve says:

    It’s not moving but it does appear to to moving. I’d like to know how it gives the illusion of movement.

    • Sophie says:

      It’s a very good effect. The cause of the ‘movement’ is the contrast between the light and dark colours on the little shapes. There’s a black outline, then a white one. When you glance at the colours beside each other, it looks like shadow and light, and gives the impression of movement.🙂

  4. Steve says:

    I wonder if there would be there same effect if the ellipses were a different shape, say rectangles, circles or squares or even the same colour as the back ground (with an online for the shape). Maybe the contrasting colours have something to do with it. Perhaps even the triangles formed by the ellipses or how the triangles are arranged with respect to each other. Lots of questions … anyone got any answers ? Not me.

    • Eddie says:

      I think the black and white boundaries of the small shapes are the active components to this type of illusion.They give the direction of the perceived motion.

  5. issahamati says:

    it does appear to to moving out

  6. Nigel says:

    @steve Yes, you can use other shapes however circles, ovals and blobby shapes work best compared to sharper shapes. The motion is due to the black and white edges being on opposite sides of the shape. They trick the eye by the brighter edge being seen as the front edge of a moving object and the black (aka shadow) as the rear edge. IIRC it’s a method the V4 part of the visual cortex uses in determining direction of movement. The meta-triangle shapes help compared to not having them although I don’t know why. The high contrast green and purple are also important, if you use other colours with lower hue differences it doesn’t work as well. This illusion looks similar to others by Professor Akiyoshi KITAOKA. His webpage is here with many, many other examples of this and other illusions. http://www.ritsumei.ac.jp/~akitaoka/index-e.html

  7. Fotoflex says:

    Sorry, no.
    Pity.
    Maybe because I’m colourblind?

  8. BenFriman says:

    Yes – with the reading glasses on only. Also, if you close one eye, movement stops.

  9. Martha says:

    Wow, I can’t get it to STOP moving!!

  10. Chris says:

    Even with 1 eye covered (unlike BenFriman). But it stops if I stare hard enough (until I blink).

  11. Ronda says:

    It moves quite nicely for me, even with one eye shut. Very cool.

  12. It moves when I change the focus to another triangle

  13. Ken Haley says:

    Oddly, no. I’ve seen many illusions like this, and at best I only get a very faint sense of movement. This one is dead still. Glasses on or off…nothing. Most other optical illusions work pretty will for me–it’s just these pseudo-movement types that fail.

  14. No… I don’t know what people are on about?!?!?????

  15. petegott@hotmail.com says:

    I can’t get anything to move. Must be too dim.

  16. Richard says:

    Interestingly, when I scroll up to the top of the page, so that the graphic is moving downward, and out of the visual screen, the trailing edges (meaning the top of the graphic) has the illusion of actually moving inward. I suppose it’s because of the closing triangle, but it’s the opposite effect I get if I just stare at the entire, static image.

  17. Anonymous says:

    It totally moves.

Leave a Reply

