It’s the Friday Puzzle!

60

coverPlease do NOT post your answer, but do say if you think you have solved the puzzle and how long it took. Solution on Monday.

What is special about these two sentences?

1)  I am not very happy acting pleased whenever prominent scientists overmagnify intellectual enlightenment.

2) Show this bold Prussian that praises slaughter, slaughter brings rout.

I have produced an ebook containing 101 of the previous Friday Puzzles! It is called PUZZLED and is available for the Kindle(UK here and USA here) and on the iBookstore (UK here in the USA here). You can try 101 of the puzzles for free here.

60 comments on “It’s the Friday Puzzle!

  1. The first one, less than a minute. The second one, a couple of minutes.

  2. Steve says:

    If you read them backwards in a screachy voice, they both sounds like Golum!

  3. Anne Elk says:

    About a minute. Good one!

  4. Ffowohs says:

    That’s cool!

  5. Mark C says:

    1. 10 seconds
    2. 5 seconds

    Can we have some real puzzles?

  6. I got the first one after a few seconds. Looked for a similar pattern in the second, so wrote down the numbers. Rang that number (it needs a + in front, of course) and got Susan Greenfield’s mobile number. She didn’t answer.

    • Rebecca Loos says:

      For the second one, I removed the first letter of each word and got David Beckham’s number. Victoria, answered. Awkward

  7. Silly Sally says:

    About a minute to find out what was special about each sentence.

  8. Stan says:

    First one was easy (maybe 20 seconds). 2nd one was a lot harder, but I got it in 5-10 minutes. It was worth the struggle.

  9. Anonymous says:

    This one has got me stumped.

  10. kateoz says:

    EXCELLENT!!! Very clever. Thank you. First one – about 30 secs, second one about a minute with a few re-reads. I shall have to stop reading comments until AFTER I’ve worked things out…sigh!

  11. Geoff the God of Biscuits says:

    First one straight away. Second one a couple of minutes; very clever, I like it.

  12. ctj says:

    #1 as i read it (a few seconds). took about 15 seconds for #2.

  13. Andy Jackson says:

    Took me just over a minute – not to take anything away from a good puzzle :0)

  14. Baker's Dozen says:

    Easy, but more interesting than the ‘numbers getting bigger’ puzzle last week.

  15. Moose head says:

    In the first one, is the fact that the number of letters in each successive word increases by one significant?

  16. Anne Elk says:

    I’ve just realised that there are (at least) two answers for the second one, so I up my original ‘one minute’ to about an hour.🙂

    • Silly Sally says:

      The question is stated very clearly.
      ‘What is special about these two sentences?’
      So there imust be only one answer!

    • Y. Albrecht says:

      Yes. I do have an answer which is valid for BOTH sentences, as Richard asks.

    • Dicky Dumbdude says:

      Y Albrecht – can you let us know your answer now?
      Thanks
      DDD

  17. Dave's Neighbour says:

    Less than a second. Neither contain the word ‘mackeral’

  18. Phil H says:

    I am now very happy having guessed.
    Hit his bone Amin

  19. Lazy T says:

    Snot chard.

  20. -M- says:

    Found the first in seconds. Can’t figure out the second…

  21. Jim (Who is at work early in DC) says:

    No time at all for the first, and I had an unfair advantage on the second since that solution has actually happened to me

  22. Matt says:

    Got the individual answers to each sentence, but if there’s an answer that’s applicable to both sentences I’m afraid I’m utterly stumped.

  23. Karen P says:

    The comments had me laughing out of my chair! You guys are wonderful! I love smart, smart a– people. So rare in my world. Keep it up! No idea on the puzzle.

  24. SilverMarc says:

    I do not know every answer because watching something ridiculous.

  25. (1) immediately
    (2) not yet. I am now going to cheat by reading the comments in the hope of finding a clue.

  26. Paul Durrant says:

    No longer than it took to read both sentences.

  27. Physicalist says:

    Got the first one in less than a minute. Puzzled over the second one for a good long time, and also read comments to get a vibe for the answer, before I finally got it. Maybe 5-10 minutes.

  28. doug says:

    I got the first one, almost instantly, within a few words in. second one took a minute or two.

  29. Anonymous says:

    Less than 30 seconds for the first one, but had to google the 2nd for a hint (was able to solve it with the hint–didn’t actually google the answer this time lol)

  30. Martha says:

    Boys! Raise giant mushrooms in your cellars!

  31. James Bailey says:

    Unfortunately approached these from the wrong angle first time around, late last night. Slept on it overnight and just had another go. First one still took a long time (10+ min.) as it still seemed to take ages for things to fall into place. I have a solution for the second one that I’m hoping is correct, but not 100% on it. That took another 5 minutes or so.

  32. Louise says:

    Got them both. Thought I’d never get the second one but it just clicked. First one is very easy though.

  33. OK, OK, got them both. Took a little longer than I care to say. By the way, shouldn’t that be a semicolon instead of a comma in the second sentence?

  34. Alan Prior says:

    Looked at both of them for about 5 minutes, got nowhere & forgot about them. Went outside for a cigarette later – & suddenly the answer to the first appeared from my subconscious. Still couldn’t get the second one. My wife took about a minute for both. She is now muttering about the superiority of female intelligence over male – or at least hers over mine – & I am looking for a younger, dumber wife.

  35. D says:

    I figured out the second one before the first.

  36. Jeffrey says:

    If you write them both backwards, they spell,”Paul is a dead man.”

  37. Ronda says:

    I figured out the second almost immediately, but pretty much gave up on the first until I read a comment or two. That’s opposite practically everyone else, so I wonder what that says about my brain? 🙂

  38. ladymac says:

    don’t know about UK but several words not finished in U. S. not on 2nd reading-made no difference to braggart who said they only needed” I am” to solve -what boloney-let them explain in detail if they dare.

  39. The first one was definitely easier for me than the second, but I think I solved both.

  40. Jeremiah says:

    When i retire my dream is to go to Hawaii and live out the rest of my life. We went there on our 25th wedding aniversary and it was fabulous.

Leave a Reply

