It’s the Friday Puzzle!

101

coverPlease do NOT post your answer, but do say if you think you have solved the puzzle and how long it took. Solution on Monday.

A puzzle via Tod B this week.  Can you figure out the secret of this sequence and so discover what numbers should replace the question marks?

111 = 13

112 = 24

113 = 35

114= 46

115= 57

117= ??

I have produced an ebook containing 101 of the previous Friday Puzzles! It is called PUZZLED and is available for the Kindle(UK here and USA here) and on the iBookstore (UK here in the USA here). You can try 101 of the puzzles for free here.

101 comments on “It’s the Friday Puzzle!

  1. Laura says:

    two minutes…

  2. Less than a minute.

  3. Jason says:

    Seems very easy… worried I’m not seeing something tricky there.

  4. Easy! Answer in maybe 8 seconds.

  5. Kris Halpin says:

    Yep! In about five seconds!

  6. elsiem says:

    I have *an* answer in about 8 seconds, but I’d like to wait for Monday before claiming it’s right.

  7. fifty2pickup says:

    Dang, sorry just realied yr not meant to post the answer. I fail.

  8. Julie C says:

    This one didn’t really need a spoiler .
    I can’t really be that simple can it?

  9. Jaq says:

    Got it before I’d finished reading the question. Rather an easy one.

  10. Selim says:

    Yep, 2 seconds😉

  11. david dredge says:

    Dumbing down again?

  12. Anonymous says:

    Took about five seconds.

  13. MyJolie says:

    Got it in less than a minute.

  14. kroketje says:

    easy one!! a few seconds.

  15. Rose-Marie Holt says:

    Solved while reading it

  16. 5 seconds.
    In the same puzzle, what is the answer for 119 ?

  17. Anonymous says:

    Very easy. Got it almost immediately

  18. youngnedyoung says:

    A few seconds! initiating smug mode (just for today. Or at least until 9am…)

  19. vicinca says:

    About 10 seconds.

  20. Paul Durrant says:

    I can see an answer, but it’s unsatisfying. I must be missing something.

  21. MB says:

    Hmmmm,
    Why is there no 116=xx ?
    And if my answer is correct then this is not a sequence that can be continued …….very unsatisfactory.

  22. DiscoveredJoys says:

    Seconds – but if it’s not the ‘right’ answer then it’s a better one!

    Big headed? Moi?

  23. Eddie says:

    Puzzle is void as 111 patently does not equal 13, etc.

  24. Niva says:

    Guessed the pattern after the first two, then verified with the other three. About 12 secs.

  25. pete says:

    Spotted the obvious pattern, but will wait till Monday – could be a red herring.

  26. jcm says:

    In less than 10 seconds.

  27. Anonymous says:

    I’ve spent 30 minutes on this and haven’t got a clue.

  28. Anonymous says:

    Worked out a rule for first example, checked it against others. Solved final case. Total time, 30 seconds.

    If I’m right, it’s a really easy puzzle. If I’m wrong, it’s a really vague bad puzzle!

  29. John Camble says:

    79

  30. Anonymous says:

    4 seconds

  31. The Masked Twit says:

    It is not clear to me why 116 is missing from the sequence.
    The puzzle is either very hard (my time is then – not done yet and not counting) or trivial (my time then is 5 seconds).
    In that a post consistent with the trivial version of the question has been pulled from the site I have to assume that it is a very trivial question.

    TMT has now left the building.

    • Jeffrey says:

      To trick you into coming up with the wrong answer by not really paying full attention.

  32. Anonymous says:

    not even a microsecond

    you should try to keep the level of the site a bit better

    better post at irregular intervals and when having nothing interesting not posting at all than posting useless things at regular intervals

  33. Stewart says:

    About 30 seconds

  34. Duncan says:

    Hmm, I’ve got an answer but I reckon it’s not going to be the only one…

  35. James Bailey says:

    I think I’ve seen this one before – at least something very similar, so it only took a couple of seconds.

  36. issa hamati says:

    about 5 seconds.

  37. Evan Cohrs says:

    The answer would be 79. This took me three minutes to solve.

    – Evan Cohrs

  38. John says:

    I have the same answer as most people, it feels like a Rat Trap.

  39. Jim says:

    Uhhhhh… Yeah, w a y too simple.

  40. jpmoon says:

    Less than 10 seconds

  41. I’m kind of annoyed I didn’t say the answer in my first post this morning… Seeing as others post the answer afterwards but I can’t mw “prove” I was right…

  42. Kristian says:

    Linear regression!

  43. ranger says:

    Unless I’m missing something, about 10 seconds.

  44. Miss Chili says:

    15 seconds or less, depending on whether or not you want me to count my inner voice saying that I can’t do these maths puzzles…

  45. Miss Chili says:

    As for all the people who post answers when asked not to do, this is why I don’t read past the break until I’ve solved it or given up. /shrug

  46. Heidi says:

    easy one! About 2 seconds which is ruddy good for me🙂

  47. Cognitive Miser says:

    There’s an easy solution and a slightly more difficult solution that I think the puzzle designer was shooting for.

  48. Anonymous says:

    It took like 5 seconds.. We need more challenge!

  49. seapunk2 says:

    Less than ten seconds.

  50. Zbird says:

    I’m sort of confident got it, but can’t be that easy, I’ll wait until Monday then probably have to groan!

  51. After 10 seconds I had one answer. After 30 I had two answers, both of which seem to work.

  52. Anonymous says:

    Hm, I see at least two solutions and both seem equally good.
    1. Linear progression. If this is the answer, then why choose 111 as the first element – beyond me. In this case each pair will be unique.
    2. A little bit more convoluted, involves some arithmetic and rearrangement. In this case 111 will no be different from 21.

  53. Teun Spaans says:

    after 10 secs, i have an answer, but with the feeling that it is not what is intended.

  54. I think I came across this in second grade arithmetic. Is there something I’m missing? Quite possibly the lowest challenge to date..

  55. Ken Haley says:

    The “obvious” answer seems so trivial that it hardly seems worthy of calling this a puzzle. If there’s a more interesting answer, it’s too bad a case that doesn’t fit the obvious one wasn’t given.

  56. John says:

    I believe I solved it and it took me 1 and a half minutes. 1 minute is for when I was reading the puzzle.

  57. John says:

    For those who need a hint, think of first grade addition when you solve this. For those who know the answer, what would this be: 1000: ??

  58. John says:

    10, 100, 1000 are all the same.

  59. Mark says:

    I get three answers. First obvious one starts with 7 which most people will have. Other answers both start with a 6

    • Steve Jones says:

      If you apply the principle of Occam’s Razor, the obvious one is the right one. I suspect an infinity of possible answers exist, but in this case they will all be more complicated than the immediately obvious one.

    • Jeffrey says:

      I’m sure an infinity of answers are possible. Most of them will be wrong.

  60. Chase says:

    The way it is presented there are two ways to go about answering it that both come to the same conclusion for 117. What would the answer for 1234 be? If you approach it from a computer generated logical point of view (which I assume you aren’t) then the answer is 12366. If you approach it from from the a symbolic point of view then it shares an answer with one of the examples you were showing already (I preferably don’t want to say since I’m guessing this is the solution that was intended).

    • Chase says:

      Correction on that post: It doesn’t share an answer but gives a very obvious hint.

  61. Jeffrey says:

    Please tell me this isn’t the Friday puzzle.

  62. Matt Atkins says:

    79, about 30 seconds.

    Sent from my iPad

  63. cuda says:

    Almost too easy, unless I’m missing something here

  64. Mya says:

    It took me 20 seconds. This is this easiest one I’ve seen, but a good one. Keep these awesome mind bending puzzles coming!

  65. I got an answer within a few seconds which is consistent with the list, but it doesn’t seem very satisfying. There are probably much more sophisticated answers which are more difficult of convoluted.

  66. Roberto says:

    I identified 2 patterns both work. One you had to be clever when 116 is missing the other one it doesn’t matters. Anyone else?

  67. Fotoflex says:

    I have a different answer, the number is smaller than you think.🙂

  68. Fotoflex says:

    If the next number were to be 118, that would make 80.🙂
    Anyone else got that?

  69. Fotoflex says:

    Unless it’s 119, that would make 81.

  70. Merari says:

    15 seconds

  71. mightyhero says:

    Too easy.

  72. simonthomas says:

    Solved it; about 5 seconds (maybe 7).

  73. sidney18511 says:

    79

  74. chritter says:

    I have 2 answers therefor im confused on which one to use I can explain if needed

  75. chritter says:

    I got 79 and 117
    111=13
    112=24
    113=35
    114=46
    115=57
    116 was missing it would be 68
    117=79
    your adding by 11

  76. chritter says:

    but if you do
    111= 1+1+1=3*13=39
    112= 1+1+2=4*13=52
    113= 1+1+3=5*13=65
    114= 1+1+4=6*13=78
    115= 1+1+5=7*13=91
    116= 1+1+6=8*13=104
    117= 1+1+7=9*13=117
    there for it would be 117=117
    so which one is right
    79 or 117

  77. I found four answers (excluding the 1111) three of which had the same answer. THEN I saw the sequence used as an example! So altogether it took 10 mins or so.

Leave a Reply

