It’s the Friday Puzzle!

59

cover

Please do NOT post your answer, but do say if you think you have solved the puzzle and how long it took. Solution on Monday.

A mother takes two steps to her son’s three. If they go out for a walk together, and each start with the right foot, when will they first step together with the left?

I have produced an ebook containing 101 of the previous Friday Puzzles! It is called PUZZLED and is available for the Kindle(UK here and USA here) and on the iBookstore (UK here in the USA here). You can try 101 of the puzzles for free here.

59 comments on “It’s the Friday Puzzle!

  1. simontaylor says:

    Got it straight away. Nice one!

  2. Alan Prior says:

    Same – a few seconds (I think!).

  3. bigdoggy says:

    Same rule as for polyrhythms.

  4. The Masked Twit says:

    Is the son her first child?

  5. slugsie says:

    It’s the woman a doctor or a priest?

  6. Eddie says:

    Knew my notebooks with squares would come in handy one day.

  7. Anne Elk says:

    About five minutes after a spectacular misreading of the question! It was when I realised that the puzzle (as I had read it) was impossible that I read it again and got it in about five seconds. Nicely done.

  8. Fotoflex says:

    Got that one straight away!

  9. Anders says:

    wow, it took me a minute to even find the question. I scrolled down and suddenly there were comments. Once found, the answer was quick, on the order of seconds

  10. drewbk says:

    I could see it straight away🙂

  11. Julie says:

    I also totally miss read the questions then looked up and learnt about polyrhythms .
    I think I’ve got it now .

  12. The Pick Man says:

    Answer in one nanosecond. My brain wouldn’t work any faster.

  13. mightyhero says:

    Got it.

  14. Anders says:

    amazing that someone who cannot understand basic english could read the question, yet not understand the word NOT as in please do NOT post the answer. What is italian for moron?

  15. Anne Elk says:

    It didn’t take us long to find this week’s idiot. Read the question’s instructions again, genius.

  16. I Luv Spoilers says:

    I think the Italian for moron is Anders – of course it might be Anne Elk.
    My enjoyment of the Friday puzzle is always spoiled by people complaining about spoilers (and indeed perceived spoilers).

  17. Berhard says:

    hehehehe… just seconds…

  18. Berhard says:

    I do not share the opinion of carlogiannini, or of i love spoilers for reasons to be given on monday…

  19. Mickey D says:

    Two seconds!

  20. ‘s ok, Carlo got it wrong anyway…

    This one came to me immediately, then I drew a nice picture to double-check🙂

  21. VicinCA says:

    Instantly. (Glad I did NOT look at the comments first).

  22. Anne Elk says:

    Dear I Luv Spoilers. Enjoyed your retro take on personal insults. Very ‘playground’. Well done. Let’s see if you can work in something about my mother being overweight next time.

    There are thousands of places to solve puzzles in a community before a pause before the answer is revealed. Try them out. This isn’t one of them.

  23. I Luv Spoilers says:

    Anne
    You need to moan about Nick Cooper too.
    His pointing out that Carlo’s comment is not a spoiler in that it seems to be based on an incorrect answer surely constitutes a spoiler in its own right.
    ILS

  24. lifegoeson5 says:

    Got it in 2 seconds

  25. mirandamartini says:

    just few seconds, moving fingers🙂

  26. Anne Elk says:

    Dear I Luv Spoilers
    Nick Cooper has not tried to give the answer away. He or she has stated that he or she disagrees with the proposed answer above. It’s not the same thing.
    Why not try out those other sites, as I suggested before?

    • I Luv Spoilers says:

      Haven’t tried them yet Sir/Madam as you have not given me any links to them.

    • I Luv Spoilers says:

      Haven’t tried them yet Sir/Madam as you have not given me any links to them.

    • Anne Elk says:

      Nor do I intend to give you any links to them, or to anything else for that matter. A ten-second search will bring up several dozen. Let’s see if you can manage that much without a running commentary.

    • I Luv Spoliers says:

      That’s rather disappointing, Anne.
      I guess I’ll just have to continue to use this site Spoilerphobes notwithstanding.

    • Anne Elk says:

      What a pity. But on the bright side, at least you might teach me to be more tolerant.

    • I Luv Spoilers says:

      I’d really like you to have the last word on this one Anne…..over to you……

  27. Baker's Dozen says:

    It can’t be 4.

  28. A few seconds, after drawing a simple linear diagram.
    Incidentally, I have the brilliant method of avoiding the spoilers from idiots by thinking about my answer BEFORE reading through the list of comments.

  29. Lazy t says:

    dum de dum
    dum de de dum
    that’s the tune
    today I’ll hum

  30. I did it using Baye’s theorem

  31. Jeff Scanlan says:

    I misread the puzzle too. Then re-reading it got it about 5 seconds. Very good!!

  32. Eddie says:

    Dave’ neighbour posted an answer too. His mum probably helped him.

  33. John says:

    Is it her Son or her Step-Son ?

  34. Eddie says:

    How do you work that out?

    • Bill36 says:

      I did it with my fingers: my right hand was the mother, the left the son. I stepped off with my fingers and realized that the 4 steps to 6 steps just brought me back to the start.
      Bill36

  35. Ken Haley says:

    It’s a little ambiguous. Since the boy steps quicker than the mother, what counts as “stepping together” –starting a step together and finishing at different times, or ending a step together that started at different times…or does either one count? The answer depends on it.

  36. Mr Self Righteous Twat says:

    I never even attempt to do the questions. I just look for spoilers so that I can be outraged and call people idiots.

  37. Another Elk says:

    Carlo
    I like your style
    Keep it up

  38. Anonymous says:

    Quickest one yet. A couple of seconds (unless I’m missing some trick).

  39. Mort says:

    Guessed the answer right away. Had to corner up pencil and paper to prove to myself that it was correct.

  40. Dharmaruci says:

    does puzzle mean first time both left feet leave ground at same moment? or first time both left feet step down onto ground at same moment?

  41. Got it in a few seconds then checked and think I am correct unlike some others. I’m a musician, so i naturally gravitated to that sort of method.

  42. Spoil sport says:

    12

  43. jerry996 says:

    As soon as I read it.

Leave a Reply

