Answer to the Friday Puzzle….

18

cover

If you are in the USA, the kindle edition of my book ‘Paranormality’ is available for just 99c.  However, be quick, because it will go back to the usual price of $8.99 very soon!

On Friday I posted this puzzle….

Can you figure out what these seven words have in common?

1. Banana
2. Dresser
3. Grammar
4. Potato
5. Revive
6. Uneven
7. Assess

If you have not tried to solve it, have a go now.  For everyone else the answer is after the break.

If you take the first letter of each word, place it at the end of the word, and then spell the word backwards, it will be the same word!  Did you solve it?

I have produced an ebook containing 101 of the previous Friday Puzzles! It is called PUZZLED and is available for the Kindle(UK here and USA here) and on the iBookstore (UK here in the USA here). You can try 101 of the puzzles for free here.

18 comments on “Answer to the Friday Puzzle….

  1. My answer was that if you take away the first letter, the remainder is palindrome. I’m claiming that as a victory.

  2. VicinCA says:

    Yes, I got it. Yay!

  3. david dredge says:

    All words have at least two letters twice?

    • Appocomaster says:

      Not quite – Potato has a P and an A that are one offs.
      I got the take the first letter away and you get a palindrome, but that’s equivalent to Richard’s solution.

    • MyJolie says:

      That is what I thought the solution was as well. I was certain it was the two letters twice. It is not incorrect; but it is also not the correct answer. Funny, but frustrating.

    • The Pick Man says:

      @Appocomaster
      “that’s equivalent to Richard’s solution”
      No it isn’t.

    • Eddie says:

      Each word *does* have at least two letters twice.

  4. rmholt says:

    2 of 2 separate letters. Got it looking at 1st 2

  5. JeffJo says:

    @The Pick Man

    Yes, it is. Appocomaster’s answer is a necessary and sufficient condition for Richard’s.

  6. Ken Haley says:

    Baa. Too Eeze, no? Or am I loco?

  7. MyJolie says:

    Well, this was my maiden voyage on a Wiseman Friday puzzle. I am going to have to think differently in order to get “into” his thinking pattern. Then I might have a chance to actually get the answer he intended. After all the publication is labeled “quirky mind stuff”. Nice that I noticed things that were correct; frustrating that I stopped there instead of continuing to look for more possible answers.The intended answer. What fun this will be to stretch the brain. Much thanks Mr. Wiseman.

    • Dave says:

      Welcome!

      What’s even more fun is watching half the commenters have a fit each week and declare Richard the enemy of mankind simply because they didn’t read the question properly. It never fails to amuse.

    • MyJolie says:

      Thank you for the welcome! Quite a funny thought. My energies will likely be spent trying to solve the puzzles. Hopefully, my only declarations will be delight; when I have actually done so, correctly. That may take a while. My brain needs some serious stretching. Should be great exorcise. I do hope I am up to the challenge. Again, thanks for the welcome.

  8. issa hamati says:

    there is second and third and two last letters
    like an and na in Banana

  9. Anders says:

    My solution was that they all contain atleast two pairs of the same letters:
    aa nn
    rr ss ee
    rr aa mm
    oo tt
    ee vv
    nn ee
    ss ss

    Not as elegant, but I thought that was the solution, so I didnt look any closer to find the palindrome-structure

Leave a Reply

