It’s the Friday Puzzle!

70

cover

Please do NOT post your answer, but do say if you think you have solved the puzzle and how long it took. Solution on Monday.

Can you figure out what these seven words have in common?

1. Banana
2. Dresser
3. Grammar
4. Potato
5. Revive
6. Uneven
7. Assess

I have produced an ebook containing 101 of the previous Friday Puzzles! It is called PUZZLED and is available for the Kindle(UK here and USA here) and on the iBookstore (UK here in the USA here). You can try 101 of the puzzles for free here.

70 comments on “It’s the Friday Puzzle!

  1. VicinCA says:

    About 30 sec., if the answer I have is correct.

  2. Captain Wow says:

    Same.

  3. Doug Sopp says:

    Took me about 15 seconds to see a commonality, but that seems way too easy… There must be something that I’m missing!

  4. TK Goh says:

    It is easy to find our the answer (within 20 seconds). Doodle Jaws should not have written down the clue (please don’t do that next time). I did this puzzle myself.

    • Mr Self Righteous Twat says:

      If there is a clue in a post you are not helping by drawing attention to it TK

  5. Eddie says:

    Too easy – again!

  6. Anonymous says:

    3 seconds. Curious if I’m right.

  7. The Masked Twit says:

    Easy peasey – none of them contain the letter Q

  8. Gridiron says:

    10-12 seconds. Saw it after looking at 4 of the words.

  9. paulfny says:

    Well, if I’ve got it right (and that will be a first), it jumped out at me pretty quick. I impressed myself. Go me.

  10. fotoflex says:

    I had just about decided I wasn’t gonna get this one, when it hit me!
    About 5 minutes.
    But I’m certain about the answer.

  11. MyJolie says:

    Got it, after reading word number 3. Certain of answer when read last word on list.

  12. Anónima says:

    Finally a puzzle were I can see the answer before I start thinking of it! How cool is that?

  13. Pete says:

    Really hope it’s not the answer I’ve got, far to simple.😦

  14. Match says:

    A few seconds. Pretty sure you’ve done this one before.

  15. Ajit Athle says:

    Too easy. Didn’t take anything more than a just few seconds.!

  16. DiscoveredJoys says:

    About 10 seconds. Unlike some puzzles the answer is ‘obviously correct’ once you have it.

  17. Lazy T says:

    two sips of coffee…solved

  18. David47 says:

    If you will put on the list only:
    Banana,
    Potato
    Revive
    Uneven
    Assess
    It will be even more interesting

  19. Solved, even before I was done reading the list.

  20. shellfire says:

    I don’t have it yet. But I do have an earworm now, thanks!
    “One banana, two banana, three banana, four….”

  21. shellfire says:

    Oh, there you go. Got it.
    Hope that will banish the earworm!

  22. Anders says:

    I can think of a huge number of things they have in common, from trivial things already mentioned (all english words) all written with latin characters.

    But I think I have the sought-after answer, after roughly a minute
    I’m not seeing a hint in the comments though, was it deleted? if so good.

  23. mightyhero says:

    Too easy.

  24. Merari says:

    30 sec

  25. Fergus Gallagher says:

    Haven’t we had this as a Friday Puzzle before?

    • Kinnock Death Party says:

      Hasn’t someone already said that we have had this as a Friday Puzzle before?

  26. Priyesh shah says:

    All words spell the same backwards or forwards when the first letter of each word is removed

  27. Dave says:

    took about 10 secs

  28. bigdoggy says:

    People have already posted the answer, which is annoying. Another answer is that every word contains two pairs of letters.

  29. Jesse Joyner says:

    About 20 seconds. Very nice.

  30. Jeff Scanlan says:

    Yes, I did get this one within 10 seconds. Not one of the more difficult.🙂

  31. SofARMaths says:

    3 mins
    A Kiwi would gt it faster…

  32. Bletherskite says:

    About 40 seconds on this one. Read through twice then inspiration struck.

  33. ctj says:

    about 45 seconds to find the last time richard posed this puzzle:
    https://richardwiseman.wordpress.com/2010/11/05/its-the-friday-puzzle-84/

    or was i supposed to post how long it took me to solve the puzzle itself?

  34. Jack says:

    Got it – before reading the comments! Is it time to stop comments on Fridays again?
    “Please do NOT post your answer” aargh!

  35. Barbra Nikki Brenner says:

    Lemme prefer an acidic, greyer, igniting voodoo. I wanna petite dresser too!

  36. Gus Snarp says:

    Ten seconds, probably. Can’t believe how easy I found it. Probably seen this or something awfully similar before to get it so fast.

  37. Evan Cohrs says:

    I solved it, it took me about 15-20 minutes

    Thanks

    – Evan Cohrs

  38. Sparky says:

    Yes, in about 10 secs. Assuming my answer is correct.

  39. Sari1967 says:

    Got it quickly so probably wrong

  40. Noah Lugeons says:

    If you doubt you’re right, you’re wrong. It’s that kind of solution.

    Got it in 30 seconds. Might have been quicker if I hadn’t been so busy trying to make it harder.

  41. tessie says:

    they all have double letters.

  42. tessie says:

    oh…sorry, DO NOT POST THE ANSWER…didn’t read instructions closely

  43. Lisa says:

    Took about 10 seconds.

  44. dayuntoday says:

    It took me as long as it takes to read it. Very easy, but kind of cute.

  45. Dharmaruci says:

    this puzzile would be harder if it had been limited to 2letterwords.

    Be
    At
    Of

    etc.

    the Rule would still apply but it would be much harder to detect. the longerwords make it too easy to see the Rule.

  46. FirstTimeCaller says:

    About two seconds to scroll down to the comments and see the answer posted within the first 1/2 dozen.

  47. Wow! Got it right away even before I scrolled down to see the spoiler. Lately, there’s always ONE.

  48. Iain says:

    Acidic
    Greyer
    Igniting
    Kronor
    Petite
    Prefer
    Teepee
    Voodoo

  49. drakealas says:

    Each one had repeating units(idk how to explain)

    Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

