Can you spot the circles?

48

@MattBloomFilms brought my attention to this great image.  How many circles can you see?

circles

48 comments on “Can you spot the circles?

  1. Matt Whitby says:

    You’ve broken me.

  2. Four, down the right hand side

  3. The Pick Man says:

    Yes, 16. That is amazing. For the first several minutes I was flummoxed, then staring at the X gave me the necessary clue.

  4. Anonymous says:

    16 conspicuous circles!

  5. TK Goh says:

    16 conspicuous circles

  6. Anonymous says:

    I see 19
    16 smal and 3 big

  7. Percy Veerance says:

    This was a slow burn for me, nothing at all for quite a while, then eventually 4, but then quite quickly 8, then 12 then 16 and now impossible to look at it without seeing circles.

  8. lifegoeson5 says:

    16! That’s amazing!!!!

  9. Wow. None for ages. Then looked at comments and saw ref to 4 down the r/h side. Focused for a mo and saw them. Looked at more comments. 4 on the left too? Yup, ok, I can see them. Then 16. Gave up looking for the big ones tho!

    Thanks for sharing this Richard

  10. Anonymous says:

    16

  11. Carl says:

    Are then any circles? or do we find what were looking for. we add the edges of the panel’s to make up the circles!!!!

  12. -M- says:

    Richard, you have posted this one before. Looong ago.

  13. Merari says:

    16, I’m surprised how long it took me.

  14. Eddie says:

    A mildly surprising illusion.

  15. Jeff Scanlan says:

    Wow! 16. I was amazed at how long they stayed after focusing away from the center “X”.

  16. Maria says:

    I can see 16, but some are easier to see than others.

  17. Jesse Joyner says:

    I see 25. But I guess my extra nine aren’t technically full circles, but partial ones and my mind does the rest. 3 rows of three with the x marking the center of the center circle (roughly the same size circles as the 16).

    • Anders says:

      I see 25 as well, 16 clear and obvious ones, and 9 sort of negative circles, which I’m not at all sure about, but I guess that’s the hallmark of a good illusion

  18. Fotoflex says:

    I can see some rectangles as well! :p

  19. 16, but I didn’t see them for a few moments, until I let my eyes relax, like I had one of those odd posters that I can’t remember the darn name of just now, and then 16.

  20. primevilkneivel says:

    Crap, I’d seen this one before and I couldn’t see it but this time it just popped.

    Always a cool moment when you “see it” for the first time.

  21. Ken Haley says:

    That was weird. I saw none for at least 30 seconds of staring. So I clicked to read comments, and the instant before the page switched I saw some (can’t say how many). So I switched away from the comments to look again. From there it wasn’t long before I saw all 16.

  22. Anonymous says:

    It’s easier to see the 4 circles on the outside than on the inside. I would nitpick with the person who sees the 9 extra circles. They are more like ellipses.

  23. edwardv says:

    I’d seen this before and stared at it for a minute but couldn’t remember the effect. Then they popped out and now it’s hard not to see them.

  24. Can anyone explain it?

    • edwardv says:

      I think it’s that they are not perfect circles and the figure is not perfectly sharp. You first see vertical and horizontal elements meeting to form corners.

  25. dayuntoday says:

    That is cool! At first, I said, “Circles? What? Did he get the wrong picture?” and then they popped out. I see 16, but will have to look and see if I can see more.

  26. L.Long says:

    Carl above got it 1st. THERE ARE 0 CIRCLES.
    There are patterns in the panel that give soft brains the impression they are seeing 16 circles. I really love optical illusions as they really illustrate how reliable eye witness accounts aren’t.

  27. Henry says:

    Neat. I have to relax my eyes to see the circles. At first I saw 4, then 8, then 12, and my brain said, “there have to be 16 if there are 12” and, voila, 16 appeared.

  28. Saw them straight away – is that strange?

  29. Sandy Tabor says:

    16

  30. Kristian says:

    For the first 30 seconds I saw nothing but boxes.
    Then a circle appeared on the right, I thought it replaced a box.
    Then it disappeared, and another appeared, and because they had nothing in common with the squares, I had to look at the file name to make sure it wasn’t a .gif.
    Then I realised the circles were created by the space between the squares, and then I could see all 16 circles.
    Pretty cool🙂

  31. kowaloova says:

    16. Nothing more, nothing less.
    Fantastic🙂

  32. Santo says:

    Hi, the first letter was sent to my billing address, not my shipping address. I don’t know if it is just me or other individuals had this dilemma but I just wanted to let you guys know. It was definitely disappointing not getting the letter where I’m ideal now!

  33. Anonymous says:

    41

  34. Anonymous says:

    41 circles total. There are more circles in between the 16 circles.

  35. Anonymous says:

    16, then 25, then 31!

Leave a Reply

