It’s the Friday Puzzle!

62

cover

Please do NOT post your answers, but do say if you think you have solved the puzzles and how long it took. Solution on Monday.

Two puzzles this week:

– My house is the fourth house away from one end of the street and the ninth house away from the other end of the street.  How many houses are there in the street?

– Points A and B are 100 miles apart.  A car leaves A at the same time as a bike leaves B.  The car travels at 40 mph whilst the bike travels at 10 mph.  Which is further from A when they pass?

I have produced an ebook containing 101 of the previous Friday Puzzles! It is called PUZZLED and is available for the Kindle(UK here and USA here) and on the iBookstore (UK here in the USA here). You can try 101 of the puzzles for free here.

62 comments on “It’s the Friday Puzzle!

  1. Fex says:

    Easy.😉

  2. Dan says:

    Both almost instantly, confirmed by some thought. This makes me think I’m wrong!

    • Anonymous says:

      same here, dan! i usually ponder for hours- yet this week within seconds. i think there’s been a previous puzzle similar to 2 before

  3. Niva says:

    I think Richard decided to give our brains some rest this week. Much too easy.

  4. Dan says:

    Thinking about it, maybe the first question should be about when the car and the bike meet, rather than pass.

    • Stevie says:

      I think that’s the second question, Dan.
      An interesting point though, I think that the wording could make a significant difference to the answer.

    • Not Here says:

      Stevie,
      I’ve noticed that too – the wording of the questions affects my answers.
      Uncanny isn’t it?

    • Dave says:

      Indeed. In fact it almost seems like if Richard had asked a different question, the answer could be different! Weird.

    • Jimmy says:

      You lost me there mate. I don’t see why that would be true. A different question… should have the same answer. If not, how do you even know the other answer?!! It doesn’t make sense.

    • Stevie says:

      I don’t think we can explain it, as it would give too much away and may as well be the answer.
      That happens far too easily, far too often. Sorry.

  5. Captain Wow says:

    It would have been more puzzling had you just posted the answers, and not the questions.

    Solved both mid-blink.

  6. Anonymous says:

    45 seconds, including triple-checking.

  7. Anonymous says:

    Less than a minute on each. 🙂

  8. Baker's Dozen says:

    Struggling with the first one.

  9. Eddie says:

    Easy. Hope no one wastes too much time on the 2nd one…

  10. Anonymous says:

    30 seconds in total for both, including reading time

  11. Navneeth says:

    Assuming the car and bike are travelling on the Earth, in what directions are they travelling?

  12. Doug Sopp says:

    Took me about 5 seconds each, but that was because my girlfriend was talking to me at the same time!😉

    But I have to admit that I don’t always get them at all, let alone this quickly… It’s all to do with the way people’s brains work. Often there are similarly “easy” ones that I just can’t work out until I see the answer, and then facepalm myself!

  13. Alex says:

    Quick to get both, though the first one could contain a slight trick, though it’s based on a massive assumption so wouldn’t really be fair.

  14. The Masked Twit says:

    It took me less time to do solve them both than to type this.
    Potential ambiguities in the first question however.

  15. Des says:

    I like the 2nd one – made me smile when I solved it!

  16. VicinCA says:

    Both are nice puzzles. Thanks.

  17. Ffowohs says:

    Pah! Solved them both in less time than it took me to read them, in fact before I even fully opened the link. Call this a puzzle? I’ve been more puzzled by bacon. Mind you that first one wasn’t easy – had to go out in my street (in my slippers) to double check.

  18. rmb says:

    Both are easy. Second one is nice.

  19. elsiem says:

    Both within a couple of seconds of reading the question. It helped for the first one that when I catch my evening train home I know I need to be in the third carriage from the front for optimal disembarkation, but because of the way the train arrives I have to count the carriages from the back, and the number I thought I needed to count at first was wrong.

  20. Anonymous says:

    Some generic pompous response about how clever I am. Everyone must know I solved them really quickly! It’s not the puzzle that’s important; it’s that I’m smarter than you.

  21. Stan says:

    Like everyone else both were easy. I especially liked the 2nd one because my initial gut reaction without thinking was wrong. That tells me a lot about how the brain has a gut feeling without thinking or reading carefully.

  22. Anders says:

    To paraphrase not the nine o’clock news, I think the second one is copyright Geoffrey Chaucer, cirka 1350, except I think he used a horse and a walking friar instead of a car and bike. I hadn’t seen the first one before, but it was fairly simple anyway.

  23. Elle says:

    First one instantly, second one…well..you have to make some pretty big assumptions to be able to answer it at all! But taking it at face value, also absurdly easy.

    • Anders says:

      Dave, Not the nine o’clock news had him writing jokes in 1482, 82 years after he died. I said I was paraphrasing, at least I landed in his lifetime

  24. Anonymous says:

    I’m so super-intelligent that I solved these puzzles without even opening the link!! If you can’t answer these puzzles by doing that then surely you’re lagging behind.

  25. Miss Chili says:

    Well, if I were on the bike, I’d be laid flat on the road just after setting off… o.O

  26. One Eyed Jack says:

    These are puzzlers?

    Weak sauce. Major weak sauce.

  27. mightyhero says:

    Two easy.

  28. Anonymous says:

    “How many houses are there in the street?”

    None, I hope. (Unless this is a US/UK English difference?)

    If the question is how many houses are *on* the street, do you mean on my side of the street or all together? Are there the same number of houses on each side?

  29. Gus Snarp says:

    Unless I am seriously missing a trick, there is not enough information to answer the first question.

    The second was pretty easy, took about a minute.

  30. dharmaruci says:

    the first Puzzle we can only say how Many are on one side of the street. the other side of the Street is an Unknown equation (LOL).

    the second puzzle is very easy.

  31. Teun Spaans says:

    Both extremely easy, nice relaxation for my lazy brain

  32. philj says:

    Easy..done

  33. Anonymous says:

    Minute puzzles.

  34. Both immediately obvious within half a second. Not exactly a puzzle, is it?

  35. Anonymous says:

    About a minute or less on each one.

  36. Both in about one minute Of course, I had to draw diagrams. Solutions are often easier than I imagine at first. Shouldn’t have bothered with the diagrams.

  37. Peter Leeson says:

    Always a bit disappointed when such old puzzles are reused. Happy Easter.

  38. Dougal McTavish says:

    If Richard posted an insoluble puzzle, I wonder how many ‘1 nanosecond’ or ‘before I read the question’ responses we’d get. This week was a bit easy, mind.

  39. dayuntoday says:

    Those are both really, really easy. Instant answer for both.

  40. Tim says:

    During the second reading of the question in each case, so 5-8 seconds. The second one is like a joke where you supply the punchline, and then laugh. At yourself.

  41. Donald says:

    It depends on what the definition of the word “is” is.
    – As I re-read the question I think I got it.
    What color are Norwegian Black Rats?

    – White (lab rats)

  42. Brant says:

    Dude.. I’m not substantially into studying, but somehow I obtained to undergo lots of report material together with your web website. Its magnificent how attention-grabbing it actually is for me to go to you pretty frequently.

  43. old navy printable coupons

  44. You simply copied somebody else’s story

Leave a Reply

