Answer to the Friday puzzle….

21

coverOn Friday I set these 2 puzzles:

1) Can you work out the next letter in this sequence?

CYWOTNLIT

2) What occurs once in every minute, twice in every moment but never in a thousand years?

If you have not tried to solve them, have a go now.  For everyone else the answer is after the break.

The first sequence is produced by taking the first letter of each word, and so the answer is S

And the answer to the second puzzle is the letter M.

Did you solve them?

I have produced an ebook containing 101 of the previous Friday Puzzles! It is called PUZZLED and is available for the Kindle(UKhere and USA here) and on the iBookstore (UK here in the USA here). You can try 101 of the puzzles for free here.

21 comments on “Answer to the Friday puzzle….

  1. Roland says:

    As always, the answer to the first question can also be YES or NO, both can be equally valid😉

  2. Anders says:

    Oh Richard, you cheat. That is not the same sequence as on Friday, simply changing it quietly is not fair.

    The second was fairly simple, I thought

  3. Geoff the God of Biscuits says:

    FFS Wiseman, you CHANGED THE SEQUENCE.

  4. Brayden says:

    It is the exact same sequence as stated in the puzzle, he just updated it.

  5. Geoff the God of Biscuits says:

    Brayden: when he posted it on Friday the sequence did not match the sentence.

  6. matt says:

    Yes I did solve it, despite the initial mistake in the sequence. (Do you see what I did there?)

  7. Eddie says:

    Here’s a real puzzle: what comes next in this sequence: 3,3,5,4,4,3,5,5,4,3,…

  8. Stevie says:

    To be fair, Richard didn’t cheat. He erroneously made a typo, which he corrected later that same morning.
    Unless his typo’s are deliberate in which case, Oh, Richard, you cheat!

  9. -M- says:

    Nope, did not solve it.

    Now I’m thinking:
    D’OH!

  10. Julia says:

    I only saw the corrected sequence and still didn’t get it. The second puzzle I’d seen before, so that was nice and easy.

  11. Anonymous says:

    Yes, the ‘typos’ seem a bit frequent for such a learned, lettered gentleman. And I mean that quite sincerely.

  12. Lazy T says:

    q2 was so old it reminded me of my granny’s favourite rhyme
    yy ur
    yy ub
    ic ur
    yy 4 me

  13. Henry says:

    I knew the first puzzle had to be the initial letters of some sentence, but after a few minutes of trying to think of song lyrics or famous lines from speeches that fit the pattern I said, “F&*k it.” and stopped trying.

  14. Ram says:

    I am too dumb. What is the sentance?

  15. Kristofer says:

    An excellent book to win.

  16. Hey there I am so grateful I found your web site, I really found you by mistake, while I was browsing on Aol for something else, Anyways I am here now and would just like to say thanks for a marvelous post and a all round entertaining blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read through it all at the moment but I have bookmarked it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a lot more, Please do keep up the awesome work.

Leave a Reply

