It’s the Friday Puzzle….

40

coverPlease do NOT post your answers, but do say if you think you have solved the puzzle and how long it took. Solution on Monday.

Yesterday I went to a restaurant with my rather strange friend, Mr Riddle. When the waiter came to take our orders, my friend said:

“Sir, I bear a rhyme excelling
In mystic force and magic spelling
Celestial sprites elucidate
All my own striving can’t relate”

What did he want to eat?

I have produced an ebook containing 101 of the previous Friday Puzzles! It is called PUZZLED and is available for the Kindle (UKhere and USA here) and on the iBookstore (UK here in the USA here). You can try 101 of the puzzles for free here.

40 comments on “It’s the Friday Puzzle….

  1. SofARMaths says:

    MY rather strange friend!

  2. Anonymous says:

    Two seconds. It was “a breeze.”

    • Eddie says:

      It’s more of a puzzle as to how this is a clue than the puzzle itself.

    • Albinyana says:

      I agree with Eddie. I couldn’t solve the riddle after 10 seconds, I needed 2 seconds more to realise that no matter how hard I tried I’d never solve it, so I googled for the answer; I did not understand why the answer was an answer; then I realized it; I didn’t understand why the clue was a clue, so I had to google for synonyms of the clue; then I understood why the clue was a clue (a very nice one, by the way). Altogether 94 seconds.

  3. Easy as something or other…🙂

  4. stuart hamilton says:

    Just over three seconds

  5. David Mathew says:

    If your friend tried that in any restaurant around here he’d be eating the waiter’s fist!

  6. Julie C says:

    I think lots of people will either have come across this before or have cheated like me.
    What I like about these puzzles is that I always learn something new on a Friday morning – Thanks Richard

  7. matt says:

    Very clever. Didn’t have a clue first then I read the comments and one gave it away.

  8. drewbk says:

    Yes, also got it after reading the comments

  9. NickC says:

    “Or locate they who can cogitate;
    and so finally terminate,
    finis”

  10. Eddie says:

    Looked up the answer. Glad I did. Can now get on with my life.

  11. Roy Gillett says:

    Almost instant. But what kind of…

  12. Damocles says:

    “What did he want to eat?”

    The waiter’s fist?

  13. Roland says:

    Now I need a drink! Alcoholic of course after the heavy question involving strange mysteries…

  14. Lazy T says:

    If that’s all he eats then he’s going hungry.

  15. Anonymous says:

    Easy as Pi

  16. Andrew says:

    A knuckle sandwich?

  17. Tom says:

    Took me a minute or two, then I remembered something similar. Spent more time counting to check it was right.

  18. Anonymous says:

    His options will be rather limited after his teeth are liberated from his mouth.

  19. Dharmaruci says:

    AbracaPASTA
    I soon had an ANSA!

  20. mittfh says:

    Even if the waiter knew how to decode it, the riddle only explains the type of food the friend would like to eat – not the flavour…

  21. Julia says:

    I had to google the answer too. Would never have got it otherwise. (I thought it was ‘Angel delight’ – because of the celestial sprites…) I guess this is the sort of thing to learn by heart in order to impress people.

  22. The Moron says:

    I was thrown by the question mark at the end, but then I am a Moron.

  23. Puzzle n00b. says:

    Google-cheated as well. Never would have clued in otherwise. (Is there a way to get better at these puzzles? Or does one eventually get better at them naturally after a while? Because every friday I never get them…unless it’s Googleable x_x)

  24. James Cole says:

    I’m a long-time math teacher: 2 seconds to solve it.

  25. ivan says:

    I did actually extract the correct data from the rhyme, but because I did so with a different intention in mind I failed to spot what was staring me in the face, until I read the comments above.

  26. Richard Parker says:

    I’ve seen this before so I know the answer. I would never have been able to work it. Has anyone got an answer without prior knowledge or google?

  27. One Eyed Jack says:

    Come to your place everyday if you’ve got em…

  28. I think I’ve got it — too easy — seems suspicious! 🙂

  29. I got it after about 20 seconds. My thoughts went off in about two different wrong directions before I got to the right direction.

  30. Eddie says:

    A little cryptic and contrived, this week, I think. And nerdy.

  31. Jay says:

    I can’t say what flavor will be on the plate but he’s having a glass of Sprite with it. :o)

  32. Peter says:

    Some more mushrooms?

Leave a Reply

