New psychological test…..

63

The other day I teamed up with magic pal David Britland to produce this new YouTube video…

Did it work for you?  Find it interesting?

63 comments on “New psychological test…..

  1. Gib says:

    Yep, it worked for me. Very cool!

  2. Anonymous says:

    My card was still there, I didnt get the expectation part yet:/

    • Carl Zeie says:

      At the risk of spoiling: he attempts to prime your expectations with the words he says at the 11 second mark.

    • ctj says:

      more like :12-13. since i noticed what was up right away, i wonder:

      a. how much does that statement affect one’s susceptibility to this trick?
      b. how much does one’s ability to spot this trick coincide with one’s ability to spot the gorilla?

  3. Anonymous says:

    Very clever.

  4. Les says:

    Spotted what was going on as soon as my card appeared. It probably helped that it was one of the first in the deck, which meant I could confirm my suspicions.

  5. Clever, but I saw my card. I realised what was going on so I guess the fact it was later in the pack helped.

  6. esagiroglu@gmail.com says:

    I thought i found my card, i wasnt really looking.. But I didnt understand what it has to do with expectations..

  7. I found the ‘change’ very jarring so I was able to spot mine

  8. Anonymous says:

    I had to look 5 times before I realised why I hadn’t spotted it. Doh!

  9. Poodas says:

    It took me a second watch to find my card and work out why I didnt see it the first time. Cool.

  10. laconicsax says:

    The appearance of the first couple cards surprised me enough that I was able to change the expectations of what I was looking for. In another context, I may have been unable to spot the card, but not here.

  11. Anonymous says:

    WonderFOOOOL. Where can i get a deck like that

  12. ThinkPurpose says:

    I’m a complete tool when it comes to falling for magic tricks, I’ve seen this video 4 times now and STILL have no idea how its done. Could someone laboriously explain in simple terms what is happening?

    • Gib says:

      As an alternative, how about you pause the video on any of the cards, and then get your own deck and find that card in your deck…. Make sure to go back to the paused image again to double check.

    • Anonymous says:

      Ugh- I’ve watched it 5 time too- still have no idea what is going on!

    • Anonymous says:

      The colors of the suits are flipped — diamonds and hearts are black instead of red, and clubs and spades are red instead of black. The color changes make you miss your chosen card.

      As a minor point, ignoring the color change, Richard’s deck is not legal. It contains two Ace of Spades; one colored red and one colored black. He keeps the black one in view to maintain the expectation of a normal deck.

  13. Chris Martin says:

    Of course, I had to choose the ace of clubs to start with! Took me 3 runs before I spotted the secret. Very clever!

  14. Ha! Clever. Knew I’d been tricked. Took only one re-wind to find out how.

  15. Anonymous says:

    WonderFOOOOOOOOL.

    Where can i get a deck

  16. Garry j hunter says:

    Very nice. First time I have seen a red 2 of clubs.

  17. Rubyreddevon says:

    My card was there. Did I miss something?

  18. NigelWyn says:

    I was looking for my card 7Diamonds. It was only when I paused at the second red 7 to check it that I could see the trick.
    It’s absolutely about expectation.

  19. Anonymous says:

    It took me 4 times of replay before i spot my card.. Its true.. When i first saw this video, i was expecting my card to disappear and so i couldnt find it..

  20. Geoff Geoffty-Geoff says:

    This is excellent. I thought I saw my card and wondered what the fuss was about, then I looked closer. Very entertaining. Where can I get one?

  21. Anonymous says:

    I saw my card every time. Maybe because I didn’t believe it would vanish?

  22. Tom Pedersen says:

    I thought about the 8 of hearts. I spotted the trick at 0:37 in the video, when there was 2 red eights on the screen at once. Did not spot my card when it passed, though.

  23. Anita Dunne says:

    Very clever switcherooni trick! Had to watch three times before I got it.

  24. luckyluke8 says:

    Geniale!
    Muah ah ah, I must increase my attention!

  25. AlienCG says:

    That’s just weird. Once I thought I saw my card, I realized what was going on.

  26. Rachel says:

    I’m surprised to say I spotted what was going on pretty much straight away. It all looked and felt wrong from the get go. Made it harder to see my card but I did find it eventually.

  27. The Pick Man says:

    I spotted my card on the third viewing but only after I’d twigged what was going on. It was a very clever verbal misdirection.

  28. Anonymous says:

    This is fantastic. It worked, but I was initially skeptical about the deck. I figured something was up, so (even before I got to the end of the video), I rewound and quickly figured out what was going on. I really like this – it is such a cool idea. I woul buy myself a deck of these cards, just so I could play around with them.

  29. heraldis says:

    Nope, sorry, spotted what was going on within about 10 cards…

  30. Gus Snarp says:

    Didn’t work for me, I saw what was happening before my card came up. Maybe if I had picked a card that appeared earlier in the deck it would have worked. Now my question is, can we train our minds to spot tricks like this and actually get better at it? Do the facts that I’ve watched videos like the color changing card trick and the basketball pass counting video, the fact that I’ve spent some time honing my skeptical tools, and the fact that I have some inside knowledge on stage illusions have an impact on my spotting the card? Or is the ability to be fooled so hard wired that I basically just go lucky?

  31. John Wyatt says:

    So if we hadn’t been tightly focused on finding one particular card, we’d have seen what was odd straight away? Have you tried showing the deck to a group of people WITHOUT the primer question? If so, what happens?

  32. Martha says:

    Ha! I thought it was a camera trick and the cards were changing as they went to his right hand!

  33. Rod Kimball says:

    got me! Might be fun to try it with a group of people, half of which just watch without picking a card first. Then when the group of people who did pick a card first are bewildered, the non-pickers can tell them them what they saw.

  34. Anonymous says:

    no, got it first trial.

  35. Rayna says:

    Real nice. Took me several times watching it until I figured out what is going on. Good lesson on the power of expectations.

  36. Brent Noorda says:

    tricked me real good

  37. Kate says:

    Yay I worked it out! Still pretty convincing, but something immediately looked wrong.

  38. scab 69 says:

    very good thought i saw something wrong but had to see it twice

  39. Mine was there. You didn’t make it vanish!

  40. Ian says:

    Hmm, interesting, Richard. I ran the video twice, but my card was still there, so it hasn’t worked with me; but thanks for sharing it here🙂

    • Ian says:

      Oh, very clever, Richard!😀 I was tripped up by my own expectation🙂 I’ve just watched the video again, realised what’s actually happened and noticed that the card I’d thought I’d seen was actually another one (actually, it was almost the opposite) so, perhaps in an unintended way, it is demonstrating the effects of expectation after all😀

  41. Just Mike says:

    Did any color blind players spot their card right away?

  42. edwardv says:

    I registered the hearts as spades and vice versa. I thought I saw my 4 of hearts (red 4 of spades) and also noticed and wondered why there was another ace of spaces (black ace of hearts) in the deck. I thought a bunch of cards were duplicated while others were removed and the trick would work for some and not others. Then I played it again to look closely and saw the trick.

  43. No one’s card is there. I noticed that right away.

  44. nmmmnu says:

    nice try, red ace of spades😀

  45. Anonymous says:

    I fell for it but my daughter picked out the 4 of diamonds straight away – she’s mad, I would never look at the black cards for the 4 of diamonds!

  46. I wonder how much difference it makes whether people watch it full-screen or embedded.

    I watched it embedded. I chose the Five of Spades — which I choose a lot — and at some point had a vague impression that I’d seen two black fives, but I that they’d gone by too quickly for me to register either of them as Spades, or to be confident I’d actually seen them at all.

    I tried to rewind the video to check, but for some reason the Youtube controls had stopped working, and I couldn’t rewind or pause. I panicked a bit.

    After refreshing the page and playing the video again, I spotted the trick fairly quickly.

  47. Sandy Tabor says:

    Yes, I see it.

  48. Keith Harrington says:

    I know the explaination and told myself it wouldn’t work – but it did. Again!

  49. […] Richard Wiseman, de psycholoog-goochelaar, doet het opnieuw… […]

  50. pete says:

    I expected diamonds to be red🙂

  51. Mark says:

    I spotted the trick right away, very good though.

  52. Very clever! Unfortunately, I got it almost right away and spotted my card(ten of diamonds) even though it was black xD

  53. Forrest says:

    Just desire to say your article is as amazing. The clarity for your
    submit is just excellent and i can assume you are an expert on this subject.
    Well together with your permission let me to snatch your feed
    to keep up to date with drawing close post.
    Thanks a million and please continue the gratifying
    work.

  54. Jonah says:

    I’m impressed, I have to say. In fact

  55. Simply wish to say your article is as surprising. The clarity in your post is simply excellent and i can assume you are an expert on this subject. Well with your permission let me to grab your RSS feed to keep up to date with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please continue the enjoyable work.

Leave a Reply

