Take a look at this……

31

…..

Did you mis-read the the first line? How about the line you just read?  Many thanks to @brownhillsdog for bring it to my attention!

31 comments on “Take a look at this……

  1. Paul Pearson says:

    Yup. Read it wrong. Such a fan of the movie my brain must have scanned what it deemed necessary, filled in the blanks by using the image below. Clever clogs.

    However, the “the the” jumped out at me. Curious. Most curious.

    • Sanjay says:

      Curious? Man that is more than just curious… that is down right astonishingly amazing. I read that and then you read the line back thinking “what do you mean I got it wrong” …. and then BAM! You got it wrong?!?!

      I really want a poster of this now for my cousin for christmas – the guy would love it. Going to look online right now!

  2. This is why proof-reading is so hard. And ‘wrong’ is not an adverb.

  3. David Mathew says:

    I don’t want to sound smug but I saw the mistake in the top line… and I also saw the mistake in your line that you added under it!🙂

  4. Tom says:

    I saw the error in the picture as I read it, probably because I have seen so many of these before. Missed ‘the the’ though.

  5. curioushbar says:

    Unfortunately I got stuck in the first line! Maybe it didn’t work for me.

  6. Anonymous says:

    I missed the second line even after reading the comments firstO_o

  7. Dominic says:

    Did no one get the third error?

  8. The Masked Twit says:

    It likes look Richard Dawkins on a bad hair day

  9. vages says:

    You slapped me in the face once. Then you made me aware of it and slapped me again. And again.

  10. Indy says:

    I read it right, but I’m dyslexic, so each word is more of a labor for me. My sister’s in publishing. She sent us a children’s book she’d proof read, and I found errors she’d missed! Maybe everything should be proof read a second time by dyslexics. It’d be slow, but reversals and duplications would be found.

  11. Indy says:

    PS-I didn’t bother reading your line, until I started reading the other comments (BUT that was the kind of mistake my sister missed). Maybe I shouldn’t proof read!

  12. Anonymous says:

    It took me a while to see the top line, but I’m still not sure I see what’s wrong with the bottom line. If it’s the duplicative ‘you’, that can actually make sense – “what if i told you you read the bottom line incorrectly” may look wrong, but is technically right. For clarity, perhaps it should read, “what if i told you that you read the bottom line incorrectly”, but both ‘you’s are needed, both the objective and nominative one. (I think) (on the other hand I do think ‘wrong’ is the wrong word choice, as it should be an adverb, modifying the verb ‘read’)

  13. Lazy T says:

    Are deliberate mistakes mistakes?

  14. MaciejK says:

    You got me both times. English is my second language though.

  15. Martha says:

    I read the line ‘How about the line you just read?’ three times just to be sure!😀

  16. Julia says:

    no, I read everything correctly. Mistakes like that always trip me up, which is why I can’t read badly written books. I am looking for a job as a proof-reader.

  17. physicalist says:

    Yes, and yes.

  18. Ian says:

    Interesting, Richard, thanks for this one🙂 I’ve actually seen this before, quite a few months ago, but it caught me out again this time, whilst the second trip-up line, again, I’ve seen that one quite a few times before and it didn’t catch me out, so maybe (I don’t know) that trip-up pattern’s now registered, whilst the pattern in that first line hasn’t become familiar yet. Again, I don’t know, but it’s just intriguing that one tripped me up (again) and the other didn’t. Thanks again, as always, for that little cerebral workout😀

  19. Neil Rickert says:

    I read it right.

    That is to say, I read it the way that made sense. Who says that isn’t the right way to read?

  20. Adzcliff says:

    Yeah yeah, got me twice. Yeah yeah, got me twice. (You won’t believe it, but wrote that twice too! Look for yourself.)

  21. Gail Hatton says:

    Usually sharp with these things but I didnt even see the i on the top line lol, nice one.

  22. Dan Rau says:

    :))))

    • David Mathew says:

      Thanks for your message.

      I’m at a conference and I do not know if I will have access to my emails. If you require a response from me, I’ll get back to you as soon as possible next week. I will return to the office on Monday.

      Best wishes David Mathew

  23. Helene says:

    I think the only line I actually read corrcetly (or, you know read it how it really was, even though the sentence was incorrect), were the last one.

  24. Anonymous says:

    Made me laugh!

Leave a Reply

