It’s time to take The Test….

35

I have just created a new Quirkology video – hope you like it!

35 comments on “It’s time to take The Test….

  1. Brian Walsh says:

    I counted correctly and noticed that the card backs were odd, at which point I watched them as well. So what does this say about me?

  2. Patapia says:

    Very Nice! Thank you!

  3. David Dredge says:

    Yep, you got me!

  4. decourse says:

    I’d wager that anyone who follows this blog worked it out first time.

    • Brian Walsh says:

      I think that’s why I was so successful. I saw something odd, and realized there would be a trick. Actually, I rarely fail to notice things like this since reading thia blog.

  5. Seraph says:

    I did notice them, maybe that’s why I only counted to 14 red cards lol~

  6. carlosnz says:

    Yeah, I think we’ve been around Richard Wiseman long enough to know what to expect with things like this. Under normal circumstances I don’t think I’d have noticed anything odd.

  7. Chrissie says:

    The first time I watched, I thought I saw one card with a multi-coloured picture back. So I was quite surprised when I watched it back that there were several pictures, but all in black & white. Weird.

    • mie says:

      That’s quite odd actually, I also thought I saw something coloured. I knew there would be some kind of a a did-you-see-the-gorilla thing going on, and kept my eyes open for that. But I focused on counting the cards and only took a good look at the pictures on the second I watched the video. Could have sworn they were in colour the first time around!

  8. spikey says:

    Never mind the pictures, why were there two five of clubs???

  9. Lazy T says:

    I failed, I missed the message, spotted the spotty dog and other pics, lost count of the red cards and dripped coffee down my shirt.

  10. fonji says:

    Thanks to you, I look for this kind of things in the videos you post here🙂

  11. Alex says:

    1. Count red cards.
    2. Wait, there are words there!
    3. Count cards and watch back…
    4. How many red cars? 7, 9?
    5. Now pictures… a woman…
    6. A mess in my mind. Look down for solution.
    6. Wiseman is evil…🙂

  12. Xander says:

    Isn’t “If you concentrate on one thing you miss other things” a fairly obvious message?

  13. peter says:

    Saw both, first time looked at the card backs, went back to the start and counted the cards

  14. Jolly says:

    I had the dog mistaken as a sheep. ^^
    Probably because I was watching pictures of Sheeps before I watched the video.

  15. edwardv says:

    “It’s difficult, so watch closely.” Knowing Richard, that tipped me off to look for something else. But I didn’t see the two 5 of clubs in a row near the end as pointed out earlier. Maybe that was the actual test.

  16. livedman says:

    Unfortunately it didn’t work for me as I remember seeing Lance Burton do a similar effect on the documentary ‘The Science of Magic’.

  17. edspeer says:

    Totally missed it—counted 16 red cards, no message, no images—it was easy

  18. ClaudioBG says:

    I saw all the pictures!😉

  19. I expected a trick, but played along with the card counting per instructions. I didn’t notice anything out of the ordinary until the photo of the woman was shown, which managed to gain my attention (what does that say about me?🙂. Still got the count right.

    My conclusion is that magicians using attractive assistants is a further form of helpful misdirection. A dude in a gorilla suit just wouldn’t be as useful.

  20. Cymon says:

    For me the words signaled that there was something else to look at. Maybe they were too close to the center of view. Maybe they were words. But for whatever reason it didn’t quite work for me as expected.

  21. Anonymous says:

    I counted the cards right, and also noticed that there were some pictures. I just thought that they were decorations, which had nothing to do with the test. :´D I did’t notice the first ones, though.

  22. Bjørnar says:

    I got only 13 red cards, but most of the messages and images.

  23. Adam vanLangenberg says:

    Whenever Richard Wiseman uploads an awareness test I never look at what I’m supposed to. I think I’ve seen too many of them.

  24. Stuart says:

    I started out looking for red clubs or spades. Then halfway through, I said to myself, “hey, this is a gorilla thing.” It was just in time to make out a torso which seemed to be moving. Evidently, the pictures of the man and the woman melded into an animated image. I did, however, get fifteen red cards; all diamonds and hearts.

  25. Katrina says:

    Yeah I missed it but you set a very specific task. You asked us to count the red cards. And I did. And I was good at it. Had the task been “Find the hidden message” then I think you get a different result… stoopid hidden message…😀

  26. ctj says:

    i did not see the messages or pictures on the cards. but then again, my focus was on the faces of the cards as they were dealt. this test is very different from the “gorilla” test, where the gorilla was right in the middle of what we were supposed to be watching.

    so perhaps a better message would have been, “it’s amazing what you miss to the right and up aways from what’s right in front of your eyes.”

  27. Mal says:

    I counted the cards correctly, and managed to see the pictures of the people but missed the other stuff. I wondered if i saw them because they were people as opposed to dogs and chickens?

  28. anibal says:

    no falle con las 15 cartas, pero no note nada mas . la dedicacion tambien es util para crear algo nuevo

Leave a Reply

