Fab faces

24

As you may know, I am a fan of pareidolia.  Here is a nice one sent to me by Luann W….

and I am especially fond of this Picasso-pareidolia (via @spoon579 and @JRhodesPianist)

Which is your favourite?

24 comments on “Fab faces

  1. Roland says:

    I like the trousers!

  2. Nigel says:

    Trousers have it.

  3. Navneeth says:

    Definitely the Picasso in the pants!

  4. Anonymous says:

    I like the trousers very much!

  5. CaspaB says:

    The pants. So it’s unanimous (so far).

  6. Seraph says:

    Love the trousers!!

  7. lindamp says:

    The trousers, although abstract, seem more obvious to me. I have to work harder to “see” the top one. So I vote for trousers.

  8. Alistair says:

    The trousers. They remind me of the Easter Island statues or the album art from Pink Floyds ‘The Division Bell’.

  9. Andrew Wragg says:

    I like the Charlie Brown qualities in the manhole cover and his ears are cute but the tracky dacks have a genuine human emotion about them.

  10. Fiachra says:

    The pants appear vaguely Eygptian to me, also similar to ritual masks ala the Incas etc.

  11. Lazy T says:

    Pants too,
    the manhole cover looks happier but the pupils look like they’ve been added.

  12. I see the manhole cover as a child’s depiction of the sun. The cracks in the concrete take over.

    The pants took a second to resolve into a face. When it did, I audibly chuckled.

  13. laura says:

    Prefer the trousers there is almost a picasso vibe there…. and the top one looks sad whilst the trousers look whimsical

  14. Ian says:

    These are delightful :) Thanks for sharing more inspiration, Richard. To me, the manhole cover is slightly more appealing with its rather startled expression, though they’re both remarkable in their apparent portrayal of faces. I’m always fascinated with simulacra in nature. Again, we see patterns and especially faces in the most random of natural forms.

  15. dharmaruci says:

    does pareidolia apply also to seeing faces in mirrors?

  16. Emma says:

    2nd. I’m not into the 1st one.

  17. Jenn says:

    It’s got to be the trousers.

  18. Emma says:

    I don’t like either of them – if they hadn’t been labelled as looking like faces it wouldn’t really have occurred to me that they did. The first one doesn’t work that well because the ‘nose’ is on the same level as the ‘eyes’.

  19. I like the trousers. :)

  20. Danny says:

    the pants were awesome!

  21. [...] Richard Wiseman [...]

Leave a Reply

