Derren Brown and the best movement I have ever seen…..

45

So, the big news is that I am delighted to announce that I will be interviewing Derren Brown at the Edinburgh Science Festival towards the end of April.  Details here.

And, on a completely different note, here is the BEST movement illusion that I have ever seen….


Like it?

45 comments on “Derren Brown and the best movement I have ever seen…..

  1. I’ve had more movement on other illusions.

    Will the Derren Brown event be recorded and viewable online?

  2. Not really. I remember having seen better ones. I am guessing it’s the blurriness that bothers me.

  3. Frank says:

    I’m getting no movement, whatsoever.

  4. John Loony says:

    I clicked on it, expecting to find a Youtube video opening up in a new window, but I just got the same screen-grab image. Is there something wrong with the link?

  5. Andrew says:

    Just had a movement, gotta go!!

  6. Sari1967 says:

    Not working for me!

  7. Anonymous says:

    No movement at all… Would like to see the Derren Brown interview

  8. Charles Sullivan says:

    Love me some Derren Brown.

  9. I think this version of the illusion works better: http://bluecalx.files.wordpress.com/2011/03/merriweather-post-pavilion.jpg

    It’s the album cover of Animal Collective’s ‘Merriweather Post Pavillion’.

  10. Joe Buckton says:

    I have just woken up and im very tired but this isn’t working for me! I’ll try later.

  11. dharmaruci says:

    if i defocus my eyes a little and tilt my head i see the word DERRN in capital.

    am i doing it right?

  12. Berber Anna says:

    Why is it only moving in my peripheral vision? It stops when I look directly at it.

  13. Edgar 2 says:

    Dees nothing for me; I’m usually very susceptible to these illusions so I’m quite surprised. I was once diagnosed with mild colourblindness, and I wonder if that might be relevant?

  14. Match says:

    Tell him to drop the pseudoscientific bullshit patter, please.

    • Berber Anna says:

      What, and go with pseudo-paranormal patter like everyone else? Mentalism just isn’t as much fun when you’re saying ‘no really, it’s just sleight of hand, your thoughts don’t factor into it at all’.

    • Kharamatha says:

      Aside from the lottery stuff (Which was kind of shit.), he’s been doing OK recently.

    • Berber Anna says:

      Lottery stuff turned out kind of shit because they cut the intended ending for some reason. Some people who were in the studio audience blogged about that.

  15. Best illusion of non-movement perhaps?

  16. Lisa says:

    Yes. It worked — I even checked a couple times to make sure it wasn’t a gif. Despite knowing it was not.

    I find it works better if I move my eyes around a lot and blink like I am trying to see through rain.

    Looking at it too long makes me feel sea sick. Album cover doesn’t move much for me.

  17. Hilary says:

    Doesn’t move at all for me, no matter what I do.

  18. ladymac says:

    worst non- movement non-illusion of all, & yes I looked long time & have easily seen other illusions.

  19. Ash A says:

    Can make this stop moving, and to move again, mental exercise. Funny response (objectively): R. Wiseman describes this as the best movement illusion he has ever seen! If you pick up a book or four it could be figured what his psychological deep issues are then we can really make him feel bad. Woo! Already learnt about you from comments; wit this is not the best movement illusion you have ever seen. I’m off to comment on some youtube videos ~WICKED. This is the best comment you have ever see, it’s not the best comment Professor Richard Wiseman has ever seen! Bless him/me. Naughty/Cheeky/Love/Handsome!

  20. duxallinarow says:

    It’s darned near crawling off the page.

  21. Gennaro Romagnoli says:

    I can’t sede the movment…

    I love Derren Brown:)

  22. rhiggs says:

    The very fact that Derren Brown is mentioned in this post makes me suspicious of Richard in calling this the best movement illusion he has ever seen (when it clearly isn’t).

    I smell a sneaky psychological experiment….

  23. Heber says:

    No movement for me at all, Richard. . Linda’s pic however was surreal!

  24. Emma says:

    I don’t understand Ash A’s comment. But, like a few other people who’ve commented, I didn’t see anything. I tried staring at the middle of the image, looking at the left, the right, moving my eyes around it . . . Nothing has worked so far. I wonder do people have eyesight the way they have taste buds? For instance, some people have some taste buds and not others, so some people like garlic and some can’t stand it etc. Interesting.

  25. Gail Carlyle says:

    cant see any movement

  26. Stacy says:

    No movement for me either.

  27. Check out the movement on this illustion : http://cl.jroo.me/z3/u/9/w/d/a.aaa-Moving-walls.jpg

    at least for me it works much better. Maybe its the colors.. dono.

  28. Kharamatha says:

    Zero movement.

    That’s normal and I usually have to move my eyes deliberately, but this one apparently doesn’t work like that.

    Absolutely no movement.

  29. This one was rock still for me as well.

  30. Rob says:

    Kept still when focusing on a single spot. Movement when moving your eyes across the image. Some of the linked ones in the comments where better though.

  31. Makes Sense Now…

    And once I studied that post it eventually made sense…

  32. Ronda says:

    I don’t really see movement in that one. saw a much better one yesterday. Evidently they work differently for different folks?

  33. articulett says:

    My husband Skyped this to me as a great illusion, but I couldn’t see it at all. I, too, wondered if it was a trick, as I’ve seen much better. The blurriness in this one annoyed me too.

    But then I look at it again, and it appeared as bugs passing each other on opposite-moving conveyor belts which is kind of cool. So I’m willing to concede that this might, in fact, be a great movement illusion to Richard and others– even if it isn’t all that impressive to me.

Leave a Reply

