It’s the Friday Puzzle

55

My claim is that the word “footstool” is a palindrome (a word that reads the same backwards and forwards).  In what way am I right?

As ever, please do NOT post your answers, but do say if you think you have solved the puzzle and how long it took.  Solution on Monday.

I have produced an ebook containing 101 of the previous Friday Puzzles! It is called PUZZLED and is available for the Kindle (UK here and USA here) and on the iBookstore (UK here in the USA here). You can try 101 of the puzzles for free here.

55 comments on “It’s the Friday Puzzle

  1. Simon Taylor says:

    Took me a couple of minutes, then I got it. It’ll drive many people dotty for sure.

  2. dawid says:

    Got it. 1min.

  3. Falsedog says:

    Many times I don’t get it, then merely have to read comments like “got it!” and go back and immediately get it. Got it!

  4. Paul Pearson says:

    Google search. 1 minute. I would not have figured it out otherwise.

    • One Eyed Jack says:

      If the result from Google is the answer then this is a very limited puzzler. 99% of the population will not be familiar enough with it to even think in those terms.

    • Jerry says:

      I agree with “one eyed”. I was thinking at first that it was a pun having to do with measurement.

    • The other Matt says:

      Hm, i always not look in Google, otherwise i can let it be…
      But this one i googled and found only a piece of furniture and i gave up. But then i got it ! In under one Minute. Play with the Word, in any kind and then its easy.

    • M says:

      I used google too. Weak. Would not have found it myself.

  5. Anonymous says:

    My claim is that the word “footstool” is a palindrome (a word that reads the same backwards and forwards).  In what way am I right?

    As ever, please do NOT post your answers, but do say if you think you have solved the puzzle and how long it took.  Solution on Monday.

    I have produced an ebook containing 101 of the previous Friday Puzzles! It is called PUZZLED and is available for the Kindle (UK here and USA here) and on the iBookstore (UK here in the USA here). You can try 101 of the puzzles for free here.

    Share this:
    Twitter4
    Facebook
    StumbleUpon
    Digg

  6. Roland says:

    Well, he’s got a point this time🙂

  7. Anonymous says:

    The same applies to the word flagpole.

  8. JimC says:

    Nice job on not posting the answer there, guys.

  9. M.du Sautoy says:

    Very good Richard.
    your puzzles never fail to amuse me!
    i hope you can check out one of my ‘Maths Jams’ soon.
    i must say this puzzle did entice me; yet i would prefure another animal one, for i do love cats!
    Marcus.

  10. TRUMATHSGANGSTA. says:

    excellent fammo. dont get it tho’
    too much maffs involved for my lykin’ init.
    you guys do lyk your numbas just as much as i lyk ma chickennnn
    QED.

  11. Nigel Alexander says:

    I wish some would not give the game away. Mr. HJ
    Refer. As ever, please do NOT post your answers.
    Good puzzle though!

  12. Tom Pedersen says:

    Got it in under a minute. But I suspect that is because I worked with (mumble mumble) previously this week for a fun hobby project.

  13. Goliath says:

    My first intuition was pointing to nowhere. The second dashed off quite right.

  14. Took me 20 seconds – glad I thought outside the box. But this is a nice one.

  15. Chris says:

    I would never have got that without Google. I feel so stupid. On the plus side, I found a very nice footstool on eBay.

  16. ivan says:

    Wasn’t going to get that ever without google.

    My first, wrong, guess was that lootstoof would mean footstool in Dutch. Turns out lootstoof is a properly formed Dutch word, but it means “shoot chamber”.

  17. Paul Creevey says:

    Tool me a while.
    Suppose it must be a language barrier thing

    P

  18. mittfh says:

    My first thought was that it renders as a palindrome in another language. Then I looked more closely and thought that two letters could be slightly modified to form a kind of ambigram…

  19. Ohepelia Balls says:

    Wonder how long it would have taken Inspector Morse to solve this?

  20. Lazy T says:

    Why isn’t the word palindrome palindromic?
    Not got lootstoof, will save it for tomorrow.

  21. Bletherskite says:

    I thought of an answer within about 5 secs but haven’t tested it yet so we’ll see if I’m right come Monday.

  22. Yat says:

    I think I would never have found the solution without the comments which give it away.

  23. Chris says:

    nothing fancy needed for this one. since 22/7=pi, lootstoof=footstool.

  24. Anonymous says:

    I had to Google it. Sorry but the answer is just ridiculous

  25. @philstephens says:

    Guessed the answer without any knowledge it was actually correct. Google says yes.

    Lolled at this however:

    ===
    Chris Says:
    January 20, 2012 at 9:14 am | Reply

    I would never have got that without Google. I feel so stupid. On the plus side, I found a very nice footstool on eBay.
    ===

  26. Anonymous says:

    looks like there’s 2 potential ways it could be right (one of them being quite sneaky) but yeah, nice n quirky that.🙂

  27. Ronda says:

    Now that’s obscure. I Googled and got it, but wouldn’t have ever thought of that on my own. And for those of you whining about people posting hints—DUH! Don’t read the comments if you don’t want hints!

  28. Paul says:

    I’m still wondering what happened to the answer to last Friday’s puzzle.

  29. Anonymous says:

    It was pointless for me, I had to resort to google, and then grumble – not because I would never have got there, but because there were some hints that might have…. etc.

    But it was fun nevertheless, and I shall check back on Fridays from now!!

  30. Gail Hatton says:

    got it in about 4 seconds too easy

  31. Anonymous says:

    Cool!
    Didn’t think of that solution (as an ex-scout I should have…) – rather of calligraphy…🙂

  32. Jerry says:

    Hmmm. Methinks there is some wordplay involved with this one.

  33. Anonymous says:

    I thought I got it in about a minute, until I googled to check my answer…but turns out my knowledge wouldn’t have allowed me to come ot the answer on my own anyway.

  34. mike4rebol says:

    Tricky one, I also had to dash over to google in order to discover the answer.

  35. Kristian says:

    I’m clueless. I’m looking forward to monday.

  36. John Loony says:

    I got what I thought was a reasonably good answer within about half a minute, but then I read the comments – and the clues given don’t seem to fit with my idea. So I might be wrong. Perhaps I should just ask Google anyway?

  37. dharmaruci says:

    it IS already an anagram.
    .OOTSTOO.
    we just have to discard the outlying data points. this is a standard approach to any empirical data study, such as astrology.

    or, for bette agreement with the hypothesis, keep the outlying data points, but assume one is corrupt.
    fOOTSTOOf
    lOOTSTOOl

  38. Goodness me, this puzzle almost made me morose

  39. Lazy T says:

    It’s a tough one but the comments give it away.
    I checked my guess by gargling it, sure enough all the letters sound the same forwards and backwards.

  40. spiderabc1 says:

    I’ve got 1 and a half answers. More time…

  41. Just Mike says:

    About 2 seconds

  42. r. holtom says:

    Yep easy. Saw it after I did the stupid thing and read the word backwards. About 15 seconds

  43. Ian R. says:

    Answer right! Went Google… google went: right answer!

  44. test says:

    I just could not go away your web site prior to suggesting that I actually loved the usual info an individual supply on your visitors? Is gonna be again steadily in order to investigate cross-check new posts

Leave a Reply

