New illusion……

33

This is a nice idea – basically, the background never changes but if you follow the moving ‘star’, it will appear to shift.

Does it work for you?

33 comments on “New illusion……

  1. When it goes down the illusion is there for me. When it goes up not really.

  2. steve wong says:

    works more going up than going down for me…

  3. Sari1967 says:

    Cool, but I only get a small patch in the centre moving.

  4. The shadows give the brain an idea of direction. Nice.

  5. Matt Brown says:

    Didn’t work for me. Damn you brain!

  6. Lazy T says:

    Very effective, I see the centre patch lurch to the right as the star rises and shudder to the left as the star falls, then I can’t focus properly to read.

    • Lazy T says:

      I’ve got left and right muddled, the movement is to the right as the star falls and less pronounced to the right on as the star rises. Holiday hangover.

  7. JimC says:

    Had to make it full screen to get the effect, and then like some others it was much more pronounced on the downstroke than the up.

  8. Chris says:

    Weird! Never trust what your brain tells you!

  9. Gail says:

    very cool, only saw it as i looked away from screen.

  10. John Loony says:

    No. What’s supposed to happen? Nothing moved. [confuzzled]

  11. Emma says:

    Yep. It worked for me. How does it work? Something to do with the spacing of the squares? Also, the shading of the squares?

  12. Kate says:

    For me it works going downwards but not upwards. Weird.

  13. Vern says:

    Works equally well both up and down for me but only in full screen view.

  14. Kevin says:

    moved for me before i even started playing the video, and then that’s when the party started!

  15. michel says:

    The illusion works also with the video stopped !

    Use the mouse pointer instead of the star.

  16. Craig Morgan says:

    The background appeared to move only when the star was going from top to bottom, not the other way.

  17. Anonymous says:

    Only downwards in small screen, both ways in fullscreen for me

  18. L.Long says:

    Does not work for me. But every now and then the background tried to move but would snap back and remain still.

  19. duckfish says:

    like water…

  20. siskinbob says:

    Reblogged this on WrAnTz and commented:
    I feel sick

  21. Danica says:

    I don’t need the star; the background was moving before I started the video. I get this effect staring at my innocent brown and white speckled carpet sometimes… It would be interesting to know why I’m so susceptible to this type of illusion – anyone know if there’s any research on it?

    (p.s. Stumbled upon this fascinating blog today, via Derren Brown’s.)

  22. Chanterelle says:

    Nothing at all I thought first when it was in the little video window on the blog. But when I made it fullscreen it works, both up and down. Has to be a big enough part of you field of vision i think.

  23. Rudy says:

    Being healthy to travel around the earth. Have got a beach home near the water.

  24. Studying by way of the nice content, will support me to complete so sometimes.

Leave a Reply

