Two illusions, one rude

24

If you are in the USA, then please have an early Xmas present on me.  The kindle edition of my book, Did you spot the gorilla?, is free today!  Click here.

The ever gorgeous Phil Plait sent me this lovely profile-apple illusion….

And @medtek brought my attention to this…..

Which one works best for you?

24 comments on “Two illusions, one rude

  1. Ash Pryce says:

    Hmm, didn’t quite get the second one. I understand why it should work and if I look at the heads so the arms in my periphery then it kind of looks like the girl on the left is tugging rather forcefully on the boob of the girl on the right, but looking down any further it becomes obvious quite quickly ;:(

  2. John Loony says:

    Apple the.

  3. Sari1967 says:

    Top one as I can still see both images. As soon as I worked out the bottom I can only see one image.

  4. ChasTiv says:

    The bottom one (rude?) looked weird to me. Apple was neat, but neither really grabbed me.

  5. Tony says:

    Bottom one gave me a real double take, but it’s difficult to see the rude version after a second look.
    Apple is nice, but I think could be be done a little less obviously with some more stylised faces

  6. sohvan says:

    I see Dalai Lama and Bill Clinton in the first one. I wonder if others see different people. I like the first one, but I don’t care much for the second one.

  7. Danny says:

    She looks like she’s got the boob of a 90 year old.

  8. AH HA HA HA!!!!!! THE rude one!

  9. Might have seen this one in the same vein:

    http://imgur.com/gallery/xzhUl “The awkward moment when your friend’s fat arm makes you look naked”

  10. The other Matt says:

  11. Emma says:

    The first one (the apple) is a bit obvious, I think, but it’s okay. With the second one, once you realise what you’re looking at, you can’t go back to seeing it any other way.

  12. Anonymous says:

    I’ve never seen a tit that looks like that. First one.

  13. an apple,a profile,or two and a tittie twister,a very merry christmas to all !!!!!!!!!!

  14. Mrknown says:

    “lovely profile-apple illusion” I think someone needs to look up the definition of lovely😉

  15. Until I read the text I didn’t realise the first picture was anything other than a picture of a melted candle. However I still struggle to see the second one without concentrating to see the arm.

    I guess that says something about how my mind works!

  16. Mary says:

    I wish I could get the book here in Canada.

  17. Miss T says:

    Amazed by the apple illusion

  18. […] uma mão esquerda. Gafes em redes sociais, você pode culpar mecanismos cognitivos básicos. [via Richard Wiseman, mais exemplos de "ilusões rudes" em […]

  19. […] mão esquerda. Gafes em redes sociais, você pode culpar mecanismos cognitivos básicos. [via Richard Wiseman, mais exemplos de "ilusões rudes" em Forgetomori] Apofenia padrôes reconhecer redes sociais […]

Leave a Reply

