It’s the Friday Puzzle!

38

Which word in the second line best fits in the first line?

All, Board, Cast, Charge, Land, Rate

Vision, Future, Sight, Smell, Taste, Touch

 

 

As ever, please do NOT post your answers, but do say if you think you have solved the puzzle and how long it took.  Solution on Monday.  To keep you amused over the weekend, here a photo of of my favourite piece of taxidermy (from Bad Taxidermy)….

I have produced an ebook containing 101 of the previous Friday Puzzles! It is called PUZZLED and is available for the Kindle (UK here and USA here) and on the iBookstore (UK here in the USA here). You can try 101 of the puzzles for free here.

38 comments on “It’s the Friday Puzzle!

  1. JayCee says:

    i assume i’ve understood the puzzle, but as non native english speaker, i dare not say i solved it. took me 1 min.
    and the next 15 to verify.

  2. It took me half a minute of staring before I believe I got it.

  3. JK Grence says:

    I’m sure there’s a puzzle on the page somewhere, but I’m transfixed by that darn taxidermy tanuki.

  4. Anonymous says:

    Got it in 0.4553555346743456654347753334567875225789055445678900643245678909775543457789067532578086432567899086532456789086554678853236789988643 seconds

  5. Steve Jones says:

    One of those questions where it will probably be possible to justify almost any of those words based on a different criterion. However, I have an answer which I can defend fairly robustly. Let’s see what the official version says.

    • repton says:

      Yeah, ditto. I have one answer that works well, but who knows?

    • othinny says:

      No, I’m pretty confident that you’ll be proved wrong. When the official answer is published please submit a few alternatives which you think are equally justified.

    • Steve Jones says:

      @othinny

      It’s not going to be necessary for me to come up with several alternatives. Firstly, if my chosen answer isn’t the “correct” one, then I feel I can a very strong case for my alternative. However, even if I have chosen the “correct” one, then I have a great deal of confidence that others will make a good case for their own choice. So I just need to wait until Monday – others will have done the work for me based on their criterion.

  6. Robert Howe says:

    Power to the people, I mean to the first line

    • Lazy T says:

      A clue…
      one hundred and one is the first number that could be added to the first line…
      (if I’ve got it right that is)

  7. dharmaruci says:

    the answer is chuck testa, nope?

  8. AMWhy says:

    After staring for a while I think I’ve got it, although I could easily be wrong. Usually these puzzles have a concrete 100% answer but my answer for this one is a slightly awkward fit.

  9. David D says:

    Once you spot it you know that you’re right

  10. I couldn’t find a ‘conventional’ association between the words, but then looking closer I could spot one similarity between each word in the first list, which is only shared by one of the words in the second list.

    So a couple of minutes.

  11. Jenifer says:

    I think I’ve got it. Took about a minute.

  12. Anonymosity says:

    Happy Days! I think I have an answer!

  13. drupp says:

    I have an answer but I assume its too simple.

  14. D says:

    Got the answer after inspecting the words a second time.

  15. Lazy T says:

    Ten minutes mumbling and I’ve an answer which didn’t require any mumbling

  16. Chris says:

    I looked this morning and came up with no ideas in 15 minutes. Looked a second time and it seemed really obvious within about 10 seconds. Strange how that can happen.

  17. namowal says:

    I guessed right away how the puzzle probably worked, and figured it out in about a minute.
    As for the stuffed atrocity, maybe that’s what became of Gef the (formerly) Talking Mongoose.😉

  18. Henry Ruddle says:

    Being a native English speaker gives an advantage, except for English learners who have recently studied a very particular vocabulary list.

  19. Chris V. says:

    About as long as it took to read. Assuming it’s the right answer. If I’m wrong, then it took forever!

  20. Anonymous says:

    hopefully i haven’t overlooked anything, but i think i’ve got it.

  21. Tessa K says:

    I have A right answer but whether it’s THE right answer depends on the vagaries of RW’s brain.

  22. John Loony says:

    I am awfully annoyed about this one. The answers attached above almost all appear to suggest it’s easy, but I’m at a loss to ascertain any appreciable pattern.

  23. Anonymous says:

    I too have an answer which will do for me. At least it fits in with my own criteria. And about 30 seconds once I looked at it properly.

  24. Eddie says:

    Absolutely no idea. Must be too mathematically minded.

  25. erica says:

    didn’t take me over a minute. though I did have to go over the words a couple of times.

  26. thanx you for share you have nice blogs…

    […]It’s the Friday Puzzle! « Richard Wiseman[…]…

  27. Enola says:

    Good capturing emotions in these!

  28. Ezequiel says:

    Really superior day, this is the really superb site, I have plummeting in adore studying many from the posts and threads contained after the location, sustain the nice operate as well as hope to learn a lot more exciting content articles from some time to come.

  29. Simply wish to say your article is as surprising. The clarity for your submit is simply great and that i could think you are knowledgeable on this subject. Well with your permission let me to seize your feed to keep updated with drawing close post. Thanks one million and please continue the gratifying work.

Leave a Reply

