Nice new illusion….

39

I have seen lots of variations on after-image illusions, but this is very nice.  It was sent to me by Pierre-P H.  Just stare at the red dot for about 20 seconds and then look at a white sheet of paper or white wall….

Did it work for you?

39 comments on “Nice new illusion….

  1. Roy says:

    Effect works better if you stare at a blank piece of paper and blink rapidly.

  2. yeah it worked for me and it is slightly burnt into my retina, i can still see it (not necessarily a bad thing)

  3. lehcyfer says:

    Works very well, and is actually very easy to make – just make a negative of a picture, add a spot and you’re set.

    Just a few clicks and you can have an illusion with your girlfriend🙂

  4. abc says:

    Though the negative is devilish but the lady is gorgeous!

  5. Magic Iain says:

    Not really an illusion though, is it? There was no surprise in what’s seen on the wall. There’s nothing impossible about it. Please don’t think me a troll but a magician wouldn’t be able to get away with this in his act. Would he?

  6. Berber Anna says:

    Lovely! I didn’t expect the coloured after-image to be that accurate.

  7. Jenny D says:

    Gosh wow. A scantily-clad woman. How extraordinary and unexpected!

  8. Anonymous says:

    The mind is amazing. Some how I even colored her skin to a normal fresh color. 🙂

  9. Lazy T says:

    I expected that the after-image would have a green spot on the nose but I do not see it. I don’t think it’s just because I’m distracted by other aspects of the picture.
    Has anyone seen a green after-nose?

  10. sjames1958 says:

    The tendency is to look the picture up and down while looking at the wall or paper, but it moves with your eyes, kind of disconcerting.

  11. Joe Larson says:

    It worked, and in full color!

    Tho this one begs the question, if I want to see a beautiful girl there are more direct ways than burning a negative image into my retina for a few seconds.

  12. Gail Hatton says:

    Didnt work for me

  13. I wonder if different people see the woman differently, with different color hair and skin tone. I see a white female with dark hair. Does anyone see a blonde?

  14. In a similar vein, this one is impressive:

  15. Mark says:

    Didn’t really work for me either, unfortunately.

  16. Weird. Took a few seconds before the pic emerged on the white paper.

  17. Jeremy says:

    I’m not too keen on that big green blob on the end of her nose…

  18. Yvonne says:

    i can have a better result, when look at my gray table-top.
    in b&w only, not full colour.

  19. Works great – in glorious colour – but only if I blink.

  20. jay says:

    well if you use ms paint and invert the pic you can see it better… lol

  21. Dev says:

    Awesome!
    She is so beautiful!🙂

  22. Luisa says:

    Is that ivete sangalo?

  23. […] Cool Stuff – A Visual Illusion by Richard Wiseman By Portrait Photographer | Published November 13, 2011 […]

  24. dave says:

    what red dot

  25. sensuGabriel says:

    Can someone please, explain me what it’s going on?

  26. Bon says:

    Fuddy duddy that I am, all I saw was a table with the legs covered up.

  27. Anonymous says:

    Who says it’s a woman. It was a Transvestite

  28. Anonymous says:

    hey john p danler, its not like five gum every one experiences it the same

  29. Brian says:

    Wow, the image would appear in color to me before I even got my eyes on the white sheet of paper. Don’t know why it works. Being curious, I opened the image in photoshop and inverted it so that it would have it’s true colors. To my surprise, it was exactly what I saw when I tried the experiment. Love to know why our eyes and mind work that way.

Leave a Reply

