Two great illusions

35

Everyone and their dog have been sending me this lovely illusion – stare at the man and he flips from face-on to profile….

And @jbrownridge sent me this….

Which is your favourite?

35 comments on “Two great illusions

  1. Judith says:

    I like the face one best๐Ÿ˜€

  2. EnsignM says:

    The face, totally freaked by it. The pipe is good but you know its a clever angle whereas the face scares you as you don’t understand how it is happening.

  3. NOT the face one. I’m an occasional portrait artist so can immediately see what’s wrong with the profile ‘view’ (nostril at the tip of his nose, eye lacking perspective, etc) with the result that it doesn’t convince at all. The other photo with the metal pipe is lovely. Simple and clever.

  4. monxas says:

    i can’t see nothing in the second one…

  5. Mary karpel says:

    Face

  6. Well, there’s two ways to look at it…

  7. Dynamic says:

    The pipe one seemed fairly obvious but would have surprised me if the shadow of the pipe led away to the horizon instead of across the grass. I think the face is best.

  8. Eddie (@edzeteito) says:

    I like the pipe one better because it’s not so contrived.

  9. Tony says:

    I love forced perspective pictures, so the pipe for me. But can’t help thinking that it could have been done better – taken from the back of the pipe, so that the pipe bends away towards the horizon would surely look more convincing…?

  10. Dribbling Sidney says:

    I saw the face profile first, before it flipped to face-on after about 2 seconds….

  11. Lindamp says:

    I find the face one difficult to force into profile. The pipe fooled me and took a couple of seconds to realise what was really happening, so I prefer that one.

  12. spesaeterna says:

    Face-profile. Totally trippy.

  13. Anonymosity says:

    Pipe. The face in profile is so obviously distorted that I knew there was something going on. It took me a second to see what the problem was with the pipe, and it still throws me when I come back to it.

  14. teszwa says:

    The face is very obvious, I see both of them almost simultaneously; Escher would be the one to comment on the pipe. Great fun!

  15. Anonymous says:

    As I was one of those that sent it to you…..Was i “everyone” or the “dog” !๐Ÿ™‚
    The face is the best illusion

  16. Anonymous says:

    I can’t see how the pipe one was taken at all. Help!

    • Jerry says:

      It looks like the photographer took the picture so that the spout of the pipe aligned with the line of the horizon. So the pipe appears to switch back and forth between being simply a spout to being a kind of metal rainbow over the horizon.

    • Anonymous says:

      Thanks Jerry. I see it now. Before, I could only see it as a magical metal rainbow.

  17. Colm Mulcahy says:

    I saw two faces in the first one… but one of them wasn’t the one I was supposed to see–I finally saw that too. So I see three faces in it…. anyone else having this experience?!

  18. Jerry says:

    Both are clever, but I like the face better.

  19. Sari1967 says:

    The top one is so clever. It is my favourite.

  20. Keith Dunn says:

    I like the man with two faces. I don’t see a third ….

  21. I haven’t managed to find the name of the author of the first photo. I think we should credit the guy for this nice work๐Ÿ™‚

  22. Knut-Sverre says:

    The pipe is no illusion at all – the hard shadow is a perfect depth cue, and there’s no way I can make myself see it as if it extends towards the horizon.

  23. mittfh says:

    I’m sure Richard’s posted the photoshopped portrait before…

  24. Jack says:

    The face one is silly, what is he, a fish or something?

  25. C says:

    The face isn’t as convincing. The eye doesn’t work in profile mode. However the pipe could have used a little more angle, as I can still see some tree between the edge of the pipe and the horizon.

  26. luxury blog says:

    luxury blog…

    […]Two great illusions « Richard Wiseman[…]…

Leave a Reply

