How to cut down smoking

11

@AyreGuitar over at Purple Wax sent me this simple but lovely illusion….

Does it work for you?

 

11 comments on “How to cut down smoking

  1. Paul Pearson says:

    Works? Yes. In a similar vein, I suggest those interested in optical illusions see the HBO film ‘Temple Grandin’.

  2. mklprc says:

    It works even better if I hold a ruler up to the screen. If I stare intensely at the cigs and not the lines I can see the proportions correctly. Mind tricks are just plain fun.

  3. Ian Menzies says:

    When the cigarettes are in their initial positions, I am unable to convince myself that they are the same size. It’s almost frightening.

  4. Next time, post different length cigarettes at each end, then ask people if they’re the same length.

    :trololol:

  5. bILL says:

    There’s a new three part series on the NatGeo channel called “Brain Games.” HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! It shows this illusion using railroad tracks.

  6. Lazy T says:

    Very effective, now can anyone suggest a method of shrinking the tax on the little cough sticks?

  7. Lindamp says:

    Works on me every time even though I know how it’s done.

  8. Chantix says:

    Woah that’s crazy! It works for me.

  9. Anonymous says:

    Absolutely fascinating. Other than that I’m speechless!

  10. namowal says:

    I want a dinner plate like that. I’ll put a sprig of parsley in the “near corner” and pile my food in the “far corner.” I’ll enjoy a feast every night!

  11. How to Make a Blog on Blogger…

    […]How to cut down smoking « Richard Wiseman[…]…

Leave a Reply

