Answer to the Friday Puzzle…..

24

As you might have noticed, there have been quite a few changes to the look of the website and blog over the weekend.  Not quite there yet, but working on it!

OK, onto the puzzle.  On Friday I set this puzzle….

What are the next four numbers in this sequence…..

12, 1, 1, 1, 2, 1, 3, ……..?

If you have not tried to solve it, have a go now.  For everyone else, the answer is after the break.
1, 4, 1, 5,

The numbers represent the chimes of a clock that strikes once on the half hour and at every hour.  Did you solve it?  Any other answers?

I have produced an ebook containing 101 of the previous Friday Puzzles! It is called PUZZLED and is available for the Kindle (UK here and USA here) and on the iBookstore (UK here in the USA here). You can try 101 of the puzzles for free here.

24 comments on “Answer to the Friday Puzzle…..

  1. Roland says:

    Solved it, but reading the new font in this new layout is also a bit of a puzzle…

  2. rmb says:

    This new look is not as user friendly as the previous one.

  3. Criticalbounce says:

    Yep. I got it.

  4. Michael Sternberg says:

    I solved it, but not with the canonical answer, which is getting outmoded.

    FWIW, my parents have such a clock in the living room. I believe most civic clocks, though, ring every quarter hour with one to four chimes, followed by different chimes for the hour on the hour.

    Interpreting the sequence as ordered pairs, alternative solutions with the exact same sequence are:

    – first day of the months, starting with December.
    – newscasts on NPR (http://www.NPR.org/) commence at a minute past the hour, following station ID and overviews.

  5. Ruddigore says:

    This one had me stumped.

  6. mandydax says:

    I got the right answer, but my pattern will diverge from yours eventually. I thought of it as the last number the large and small hands touched starting at 1:00, every 5 minutes. My pattern also takes 12 hours to start repeating, but has many more numbers in the non-repeated set.

  7. dgilad says:

    I agree – the font is too small, and I liked the previous color-pallete more.

  8. Tom Green says:

    I had the numbers touched by the hour hand and the minute hand at 12.05 then every hour that followed.

  9. fluffy says:

    I guessed the pattern and figured it had something to do with clocks but couldn’t figure out what the pattern was supposed to represent.

  10. tonybh says:

    I’m afraid I have to agree about the new web design. I do like the font, but the rest of the site looks very ‘retro’ as it were.

    And what’s up with the main navigation links being on top of the header image? I thought this was a problem with Chrome, so I checked in IE, and it is the same there! Difficult to read the links, and it obscures the image.

    Sorry, Richard!

  11. Anonymous says:

    Well, that was a very easy one, for us older folk, who actually have a REAL chiming clock in the house. Harder for those without !

    re the Web site:

    No problem with navigation links in Firefox.
    Changed my bookmark to get directly to the blog.
    Not so keen on the font, nothing really wrong but it’s not the clearest to read, being thin (tall) !

  12. Lazy T says:

    The only clock that chimes in my house does it once a day at eight o clock, every day, day after day, I’m going to get rid of it.

    • The other Matt says:

      I think thats what the clock should really do: Ring at the 8 in the morning to wake up and at the 8 in the evening to remember at the dinner. An ideal present for granpa….

  13. Julia says:

    only got it after reading all the clues in the comments.

    And the font looks the same as usual.

  14. Alex says:

    Hmm, I got the answer but not for the reason given, I just saw that the pattern was , 1, …

    • Alex says:

      Oops, shouldn’t have used angled brackets since they get edited out, it wasn’t HTML honest😉

      The pattern I stated was: [Hour Of Day], 1… , starting from 12 o’clock.

  15. Amy says:

    Got the right answer but for different reason. Being the simple creature that I am I didn’t even think that far.

    On another note, love the new design and colours. I might be the only one who thinks this is better than the old site though.

  16. deepfield says:

    I don’t know if it’s my browser or my memory, but I did not notice any change in the font or the design…

  17. NoAstronomer says:

    I got it but I have to say I didn’t like it as a puzzle since it requires a particular real world experience to decipher. Though Alex above was able to decipher it.

    I had the pattern drummed into me listening to the chimes of the cathedral clock in Worcester, England, as I waited for my bus home from school each day.

  18. t says:

    12, 1, 1, 1, 2, 1, 3, …different to Richard’s answer
    Starting at midnight…12 o’clock + 1 hour is 1 o’clock + 1 hour is 2 o’clock + 1 hour is 3 o’clock…next four in seq. + 1 hour is 4 o’clock + 1 hour is 5 o’clock et vioila

    1, 4, 1, 5

  19. […] function goOffer(myForm, offerid) { myForm.elements["OfferListingId.1"].value = offerid; myForm.action = "http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/aws/cart/add.html"; } function goCJ(offerid) { window.open(offerid); } #split {}#single {}#splitalign {margin-left: auto; margin-right: auto;}#singlealign {margin-left: auto; margin-right: auto;}.linkboxtext {line-height: 1.4em;}.linkboxcontainer {padding: 7px 7px 7px 7px;background-color:#eeeeee;border-color:#000000;border-width:0px; border-style:solid;}.linkboxdisplay {padding: 7px 7px 7px 7px;}.linkboxdisplay td {text-align: center;}.linkboxdisplay a:link {text-decoration: none;}.linkboxdisplay a:hover {text-decoration: underline;} function opensingledropdown() { document.getElementById('singletablelinks').style.display = ''; document.getElementById('singlemouse').style.display = 'none'; } function closesingledropdown() { document.getElementById('singletablelinks').style.display = 'none'; document.getElementById('singlemouse').style.display = ''; } Numbers Wooden PuzzleGreatest Wooden Toys: A child’s First Toy.The latest European toy market characteristics and trendstoys homemainan kayu EdukatifSum of My Daughters ages is My house Number :Nice puzzleDelightful Puzzles2011 Top new wooden educational toys ,wooden toy wholesalers,wooden toy exporterAnswer to the Friday Puzzle….. […]

Leave a Reply

