Impossible photographs!

28

The other day I saw the very funny and magical Pete Firman at the Edinburgh Fringe.  Great show – do check it out if you are in town – details here.

Also, Purple Wax Games brought my attention to some great impossible photographs.  Here are three of my favs….

Which is your favourite?

 

 

 

28 comments on “Impossible photographs!

  1. Steve Ulven says:

    They are all quite good, but I’ll go for the first one. I love the awkward appearance due to the reflection.

  2. I love these too Richard!! My favourite would have to be the ‘halo’

  3. First one is very clever – great idea, and well executed.

  4. Great photos, hard to choose a favourite but I think it’s the sun.

  5. Colm says:

    I love the last photo for some reason.

  6. nanda says:

    Last one is my favorite

  7. eyeonicr says:

    Second one – it looks so real!

  8. ..... says:

    Couldn’t get my head round 1 at first. But 2 is my favourite.

  9. Anonymous says:

    i like the “angel” pic, but as a Hum-angel, I guess I’m partial.🙂

  10. linz says:

    Well the halo one of course…reminds me of myself…. 0;-)

  11. leslielu ♔ says:

    My favorite is the second one, because it would have been the most likely to “fool” me as being real.

  12. Lazy T says:

    I like all 3, I’d need narrower criteria to pick a favourite.

  13. Arun says:

    2nd-one is nice pic

  14. koldito@gmail.com says:

    I don’t know why you call them “impossible photographs”. The fact that they were taken without trickery makes them, by definition, possible. I submit that a better name is “Right place, right time photographs”, or “RPRT photos”.

  15. rmb says:

    The second one.

    First and third can be planned, rehearsed and permit as many retakes as required. The second one needs all: a creative eye, quick presence of mind and luck.

  16. Yvonne says:

    the 3rd one

  17. sushey says:

    I like the second most, because it simply looks stunning and is most probably quite hard to do.
    The church festival in 2003 in Germany used the theme “Halo”, as well: click

  18. Mickey D says:

    The first one is great!

  19. Rob Went says:

    Nice pictures, but not really impossible….

  20. Jerry says:

    They are all well seen, but I like #3.

  21. I like the second ! Because it looks very real and natural ! Thank you

  22. Richard says:

    Man with mirror

  23. Devi says:

    Third one brought a smile….. I guess thats my favorite!

  24. RyderDA says:

    Awesome, no. Beautifully serendipitous, yes. Especially #2 and 3, which are outstanding examples of being in the right place at the right time.

  25. Antoine says:

    The “angel picture” is my favorite! (Is it Steve Jobs on it?)

  26. Firma says:

    Firma…

    […]Impossible photographs! « Richard Wiseman[…]…

  27. Ankara Firma says:

    Ankara Firma…

    […]Impossible photographs! « Richard Wiseman[…]…

Leave a Reply

