Toasty illusions….

59

First, tickets for the next Edinburgh Secret Society event (The Secret Show, 15th August) will go on sale tomorrow.  Details here.

Now, as many of you know, I am a big fan of pareidolia and have got three great toast-based images today.  If you squint you can see the image of Christ here….

And some people can see the Virgin Mary here….

And then you might be able to see a cat’s face in this one…..

That last one was via @jbrownridge.  Which is your favourite?

59 comments on “Toasty illusions….

  1. Echo says:

    LoL CAT!

  2. s says:

    I like the cat🙂

  3. leslielu ♔ says:

    How weird, I had to look up “pareidolia” days ago, and blogged about it (not as skillfully as you), but that’s just not a word I see very often. I was trying to explain “order out of chaos” and… oh well, you know the rest…

    I’m not sure about Jesus there, but the Virgin Mary looks more like a young Angela Lansbury to me. The last one looks like one of those “visitors”, though it’s not really clear.

  4. Anonymous says:

    A miracle!

  5. Anonymous says:

    I see Frank Zappa, Clara Bow, and Jesus, in that order.

  6. Jon says:

    The top one is not Jebus, it’s Oasma Bin Laden.

    The middle is not Mary, it’s Marlene Dietrich.

    As for the bottom I’ve no idea but it definitely looks like a species that should be eradicated😉

  7. write2k2@yahoo.co.uk says:

    The top is John Barrymore, the middle is Madonna, the bottom is Catface.

  8. Noel says:

    Does anybody have the picture of the back end of the dog. ?

    It’s classic.

  9. Jack says:

    The first two are clearly miracles, the third one, however, looks nothing like a cat. That’s just people reading patterns in randomness.

  10. fabien says:

    Here is a toast with the Almighty Flying Spaghetti Monster

  11. Sari1967 says:

    Last is the most realistic

  12. First one looks shopped
    2nd one is Marilyn Monroe
    3rd one is His Holiness Nyan Cat

  13. martin says:

    Is the 3rd one a result of the little known neglected Buddhist Buttered Cat debate question:

    If you drop a buttered piece of bread, it will fall on the floor butter-side down.
    If a cat is dropped from a window or other high and towering place, it will land on it’s feet.
    But what would be the result if you were to attach a buttered piece of bread, butter-side up to a cat’s back and toss them both out the window ?

    • Anonymous says:

      in three out of four tests, backs of both my hands were severely scratched; the cat always landed on its feet and a neighborhood dog always ate the toast and looked confused but pleased

  14. Tarin says:

    I am pretty sure I have seen all of these before like around 2005/2008 time for two of them and they were only mildly interesting fakes then! Is this the best you can do? you can’t even write anything interesting about them! You would be a perfect slide show presenter “this is a mountain, this is another mountain, and this is another mountain” pathetic. Sorry but you could at least flesh the thing out and write something to make them all shiny new and interesting, otherwise if i was you i’d quit while I was ahead. As for all the people finding this interesting were you in a coma or something the last few years? These pics have been all over the place for ages!

    • Lazy T says:

      methinks you’ve missed the point,

    • Anonymous says:

      There’s a card here fir you Tarin. It says they tried to deliver your sense of humour but you were out, so it’s been returned to the depo, feel free to pick it up anytime.

  15. The middle one can be no one but Amy Winehouse. Look at the beehive hairdo!

  16. AyreGuitar says:

    Definitely like the last one – although technically not toast, just bread!

  17. Ian says:

    Should have used real toast and a marmalade cat

  18. Dave S says:

    At first I was like whatever, but then I was like yay, breadface cat!

    What is interesting is that anything face-like spotted in toast automatically becomes jesus (or his mam if it’s clearly female), regardless of what or who it looks like.

  19. Mark says:

    The second one is definitely Cher!

  20. With a bit of imagination, you can see a toast in this image of Jesus: http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/24/toastx.jpg/

  21. Tarin says:

    So to all the cunts that gave me grief for having an opinion you should do the world and your families a favour get a gun, load it and shoot yourselves in the head I promise you wont be missed, the blogger might want to do the same.

    • Anonymous says:

      Let’s just pretend to be friends, for the kids sake . .

    • Anonymous says:

      woah, I can see Tarin’s face in the eggy bread. (Tarin is eggy)

    • Chris says:

      You have ISSUES. Nobody ‘gave [you] grief’ to anything like the extent you did the blogger, despite having far more justification than you if they’d wanted to. I’ll leave it to you to figure out what your course of action should therefore be.

    • Berber Anna says:

      I hope you are just trolling, because showing so much anger at a few words on a website tends to indicate a larger problem. If you’re serious, I suggest you go and speak with a doctor about these issues.

  22. Henry Ruddle says:

    The first one looks like Clive Owen, and the second could be Julia Roberts …. what a cool ad campaign this would have made for the movie Duplicity!

  23. sherby57 says:

    I think that the first two are definitely real and you should be ashamed for mocking such sacred artefacts. I’m struggling to see the “cat” in the third, though. I think it’s just an optical illusion and you’re seeing what you want to see.

  24. M says:

    The third is somewhat convincing actually…

  25. Steve says:

    I see… #1 Lawrence Olivier, #2 Brigitte Helm, #3 some sort of animal …a squirrel maybe?

  26. Steve Laker says:

    Nope. Can’t see a cat. Does it help if you squint perhaps?

  27. sohvan says:

    I see a mushroom cloud in the first toast.

  28. Taras Young says:

    “Which is your favourite?” – as if you have to ask!😀

    Meowwww!

  29. Mark says:

    The Toast Of Turin at the top is good, but I’ve got to go for the cat.

  30. ramanboucher says:

    mmmmmm….. Delicious Jesus…. uuuummmmmmmmggggg

  31. Anonymous says:

    An inbred cat

  32. Just Mike says:

    Cheesus Crust, the last one is the best for sure.

  33. John Loony says:

    The cheese on toast one looks more like a stereotypical alien with big eyes and blank face. It’s odd that silly people always assume that any vaguely-face-ish image is Jesus rather than anyone else.

  34. cosmo_steve says:

    The last one I’m pretty sure is the Virgin Meowry.

  35. Nadia says:

    It can’t be a cat. Cats have pointy ears, and the toast ‘cat’ has no visible ears at all. However, there is the strong possibility that it looks like an animal of some kind!

  36. Roeland says:

    The cat of course. I don’t see the virgin Mary but I do see a 50s pin up.

  37. Mr. D says:

    The cat one is brilliant. I’ve seen about a million of those Jesus/Mary ones… but I think they added to the cat punchline at the end, so probably necessary to have them as well.

  38. Anonymous says:

    The big irony here is that toast is the devil’s food – the Holy White Bread of Jesus scorched by satan’s fires. Only heretics believe that the big J would manifest himself this way. Burn the heretics!

  39. cindy says:

    The cat one is so funny!The first one looks like Derren Brown and the second Sophie Loren.But i like the 3rd one best!!!

  40. diiegonava says:

    OMG! Was laughing soooo hard!!!! Thank YOU, was needed.

  41. OleJ says:

    I liked the cat one. It took some time before I could see it, but after that, it was just “WOW” for a moment, but I lost it again… Now I have tried for 5 minutes to find that cat again, but I just seem unable to. Really amazing!

  42. JoeArgyle says:

    50 comments and no mention of the cruelty to bread exemplified in that 3rd photo. People, have we no heart? PS Thanks 4 the laugh!!

  43. Illianna says:

    I like the kitteh one

  44. […] the pieces of toast that (supposedly) show Jesus or the Virgin Mary?  Here’s a funny take on them! Like this:LikeBe the first to like this post. This entry was posted in Uncategorized by JM. […]

  45. Sk. Md. Nizamul Islam says:

    Sub: Application for the position of “Suitable Post”.

    Dear Sir,

    Understanding from a reliable source that you are going to recruit some experienced officers in your esteemed Privet Firm, I beg to offer myself as a candidate for one of the same. In support of the application, my Curriculum Vitae enclosed herewith for your perusal & sympathetic consideration.

    I would very much appreciate your giving me a chance to be interviewed to give you further details about my work and sincerity, which should help you in judging my suitability for the post.

    With profound regards

    Yours faithfully

    Sk. Md. Nizamul Islam

  46. Hope Litwin says:

    Damn inbred cats. LOL😉

  47. I about wet my pants when I saw the cat! SO realistic! I MUST have that kind of toaster.

  48. iBrent says:

    That looks like an in-bread cat to me!
    🙂

  49. […] was sent this link in an email a long time ago, and it’s still one of the funniest things I’ve ever seen. […]

  50. Oliver Malay says:

    Awesome Sharing. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

