I give you……the sun

22

James Randi and the good folks over at the JREF have posted this very supportive piece about Paranormality – many thanks!

Also, if you are into magic, I am interviewed on Magic Newswire this week.

@psweetman brought my attention to this great illusion, where the sun appears to glow very brightly and expand….

Does it work for you?

22 comments on “I give you……the sun

  1. Karen Cox says:

    That’s great, now can you do one where the news if the world expands until it blows up too please?

  2. deepak says:

    yes ! yes !

  3. Daryl says:

    i see no expansion

  4. If I stare it, the middle expands and then contracts again… looks like the sun has a slow heart beat… I like it!

  5. bbleeker says:

    Yes, it does seem to grow.

  6. Navneeth says:

    It’s not as quite expanding as it is pulsating or “throbbing”. It best works for me when I am not directly looking at it and move my eyeballs constantly. In fact, I saw it happen while reading about the line about James Randi and guessed what you were about to say about the picture. I think I’ve noticed this happen when looking at the real Sun* as well.

    *Something you shouldn’t try from ANYWHERE without proper precaution, kids!

  7. Kris says:

    At first I thought, “This one is no good. It doesn’t expand at all. And it’s too bright and irritating to look at.”
    Then I realized that the white in the middle was just as bright as the white on the background of this page.

    Nice.

    It doesn’t expand for me though.

    • Flakko says:

      That’s exactly what I thought! It was uncomfortably bright until I realized it was simply white.

  8. Dave S says:

    Makes my eyes hurt😦

  9. Brian Walsh says:

    I first saw this on Cracked. I have never noticed it expand but on that website it was posted as a large image and it tricked my eyes into thinking it was actually painful to look at.

  10. Yes it looked like it expanded and then contracted a bit to expand again – thought it brighter than background white – so that’ll be my eyeballs then!

  11. Martin says:

    What is strange is the effect that happens when you look at something white after a little while…..you see a big yellow sun on a white background !!

  12. Berber Anna says:

    It doesn’t quite expand, but it seems so bright that it physically hurts my eyes to look at it. Which is weird, since the lack of an afterimage confirms that it is no brighter than a regular white screen.

    I wonder if it’s because we’ve been conditioned to expect pain if we look at the sun.

    • JohnF says:

      “I wonder if it’s because we’ve been conditioned to expect pain if we look at the sun.”

      To that end, I wonder if the same effect works for other shapes.

  13. sohvan says:

    I can’t see it.

  14. RichT says:

    Me either… no expansion, no throbbing, and no pain. I wonder if the quality of the display has an effect?

  15. jackjak says:

    this stuff is very cool : )

  16. Anonymous says:

    I’ve burnt my retinas out, I’m gonna sue!😀

  17. Rob says:

    Yeeeeeeees, but it might have been because I watched the video with the spiral on it before…

Leave a Reply

