Spot the face….

57

So simple but so lovely….

Did it take long for you to spot the man in the door?

57 comments on “Spot the face….

  1. deepak says:

    it took me longer to spot the door than the man . instant

  2. significance says:

    Wow. Is it photoshopped?

  3. M (first) says:

    cool

  4. peter says:

    took me about 10 seconds; very good

  5. Pete says:

    Nice! I couldn’t see it at first, now I can see nothing but!

  6. Mark says:

    Spotted him instantly!

  7. Andrew Böber says:

    A spilt second. It’s looks as though it is the face of Neil Gaiman.

  8. ʎɟɟnןɟ says:

    Saw it immediately. Yay pareidolia.

  9. Anonymous says:

    stil looking , can u give me a hint?

    • rmb says:

      Please look from some distance. The shadow of the tree on the building/ door is creating a human face.

  10. Grenangle says:

    Straight off. Is it shopped? It’s sweet.

  11. Skepacabra says:

    Saw it instantly

  12. Tessa K says:

    What is it that happens in the brain with images like this? One minute you see nothing, then it’s as if a switch clicks and you see something. I can feel something happening in my eyes, too.

  13. Rayne says:

    I saw it instantly

  14. orezavi says:

    First glance, maybe because I knew I was looking for a face.

  15. Martin says:

    2 seconds, but if you had NOT said ‘in the door’ it may have taken longer……you gave it away !!

  16. It took perhaps 20 seconds. Of course, now I can’t NOT see it.

  17. It’s Steven Seagal … and he’s pissed!!

  18. Berber Anna says:

    Saw him straight away. Cool illusion.

  19. sohvan says:

    About 10 seconds

  20. Shecky R. says:

    took me about 13,175,824,397 nanoseconds…

  21. Tessa K says:

    Yeah yeah, some of you have super brains that see this stuff straight away. I have never been able to see those magic eye things either. So bog off with your ‘I saw it instantly’.

    • Berber Anna says:

      Neither have I, but this isn’t like that, this is pareidolia (seeing faces in shapes). Nothing to do with super brains, it’s just something some people see faster than others. It’s not related to IQ or whatever.

    • Lazy T says:

      Did you read the title etc before looking at the pic? and were then thinking about faces,ears, hair etc when you looked at the pic?
      The face was the first thing I saw on the whole page, I then had to double-take to see the garage/garden, then I read the blub and had to hold back the ‘I saw it instantly’ . I agree it’s not an IQ thing.

  22. Paul says:

    Patrick McGoohan?
    Not a number but a free man…on a door?

  23. seePyou says:

    I see Rod Stewart… and can’t make me see anything else.

  24. Steve Ulven says:

    It took about a minute of me looking at it, but after that minute I decided to back away from the computer screen and it was almost instant. Great effect.

  25. Tessa K says:

    Berber Anna – I know it’s not IQ related, it’s just annoying when people say triumphantly that they see things instantly and I don’t because their brains work faster in that area.

  26. Otm Shank says:

    It’s Wittgenstein

  27. Very nice. It took me several seconds. Of course, now I can’t unsee it. Crazy human brain!

  28. Anonymous says:

    So it would seem the real puzzle is spotting the shadows cast by the tree🙂

    I didn’t see it at first, but found it with Richards hint of a man in a door.
    If it’s photoshop then it’s very clever.
    If it’s a real picture then it’s very nicely captured.

  29. Wow! That is cool. It took me about five seconds before it “popped” out at me.

  30. What about the face in the trashcan?😀

  31. Sari1967 says:

    It took about 30 seconds very cool

  32. John says:

    Maybe it isn’t a shopped photo, but perhaps it is a chopped shadow. Could the ‘artist’ have trimed the tree carefully on a calm day to sculpt the shadow?

  33. Vern says:

    4 seconds. Reminds me of Robert Mitchum. The lawn could use a mow.

  34. The Pick Man says:

    It was a strange experience. For four or five minutes I was baffled. I was looking too hard at the shadow. Suddenly the negative space, where the shadow wasn’t, made the image in my brain. Wonderful!

    It would be interesting to see how the face moved as the wind disturbed the tree.

  35. Arno says:

    That is amazing. Yeah, spotted it instantly.

  36. A Wilson says:

    took me about a minute……

  37. Sally says:

    It took me a while. If not photoshopped: how fun to come across that! Can see a frontal of a face, and a profile.

  38. Jon d says:

    Spent a few seconds looking at a cartoony profile of a guy with a boxers nose before seeing the ‘real’ face.

  39. Zawia Saki says:

    Straight away. It looks like Jim Morrison. Would make a great cover for a Doors album.😀

  40. wolfgang says:

    image properties says it is Photoshop

  41. Anonymous says:

    Clark Kent. Shopped.

  42. Manley says:

    There is no man, merely pareidolia.

  43. […] brain’s perceptual systems are very easily fooled. You’re probably already familiar with the Thatcher Effect […]

  44. concentrated solar power…

    […]Spot the face…. « Richard Wiseman[…]…

  45. funny photo says:

    fun picture…

    […]Spot the face…. « Richard Wiseman[…]…

  46. […] Wiseman had ook een selectie foto’s meegebracht naar Gent die volgens de makers ervan het bestaan van geesten en andere paranormale zaken zouden bewijzen. Stuk voor stuk bleek er een meer banale verklaring te zijn voor de spookverschijningen: optische lenseffecten, sigarettenrook, of… een iPhone-app die ‘Ghost Capture‘ heet! Ook patternicity, het menselijke vermogen om in grillige vormen patronen (vaak gezichten) te ‘herkennen’, zorgt voor leuke illusies, zoals deze vijf voorwerpen met een gezicht, of dit gezicht in een schaduw. […]

  47. Emilio says:

    Having the excellent health and financial resources to travel with my wife as much as possible, to see more on the globe and meet more of its people today.

  48. Hiya very cool blog!! Man .. Beautiful .. Amazing .. I will bookmark your blog and take the feeds additionally…I’m happy to seek out so many useful info right here within the submit, we want develop more strategies in this regard, thanks for sharing. . . . . .

  49. I am no longer positive where you’re getting your info, however great topic. I must spend a while studying much more or figuring out more. Thank you for fantastic information I used to be searching for this info for my mission.

Leave a Reply

