How good is this…..

17

@blurreds kindly sent me this….

It’s a bit overlong for me but still great!

17 comments on “How good is this…..

  1. Michael Sternberg says:

    The first part is much more mesmerizing to me, because of the ongoing pattern change and hence “surprise” value. Simple and well-done!

    The rings in the second part are internally static, so the only illusion is that of rolling about virtual centers.

  2. Jenny says:

    Very interesting experiencing my brain flipping between different ways of interpreting the rings. The first part was prettier but the illusion in the second part stronger as I knew that they were static but it really really looked otherwise at times. I do worry about whether she has any social life though – this looks like it took a LOT of practice😮

  3. Rafael Nunes says:

    Hmmmmm this is veru Iluminati…🙂

  4. TS says:

    2:38, a bit overlong? You must have a very short attention sp.. uh, gotta go there’s Simpsons on TV..

  5. Jimbo says:

    I had to mute it!

  6. Charles says:

    I was disappointed with both. The first one is two 8 shapes, not 4 rings, which I think ruins it for me. and the second one is bland.

    • NoAstronomer says:

      It was quite mesmerizing, but yes once I realized that the first part wasn’t four rings it seemed somewhat less impressive. Still mesmerizing though.

      Mike.

  7. jackjak says:

    fantastic, illusion from just some scraps

  8. ʎɟɟnןɟ says:

    Even with how obviously the illusions were constructed, my brain did still have trouble with the ambiguity. Neat.

  9. peculiarpotato says:

    I like twirly things…hahehaha……happy now!

  10. mittfh says:

    I think the point is that even though you know that it’s two figure of eight shapes in the first half, and three permanently connected rings in the second, the combination of the ring movements and (crucially) hand positions has a tendency to fool the brain into over-thinking it as separate rings and ‘magic’ – so I suppose you could say the performance is a crafty example of sleight-of-hand… the performer isn’t hiding anything, and you can see exactly how it’s done, but you can still ‘see’ it as an illusion.

  11. John Loony says:

    Is that it?!? I was waiting for 2 minutes 36 seconds for it to get to the point, but it never did. “How good is this?” Answer: not good at all.

  12. Marion says:

    I quite enjoyed watching this, although the rings were attached the way they were handled made a good optical illusion. A fun thing and not something I’d seen before.

  13. Manley says:

    Not that great. The first part made me think “I’ll try that” the second bit was just a bit meh really.

Leave a Reply

