Genius

26

The genius that is Marco Tempest has produced this wonderful video….

Marco and my good self will be two of the many performers at this years Essential Magic Convention.ย  I hope you can join us.

26 comments on “Genius

  1. Denis says:

    Awesome! I’ve always enjoyed illusions, and I’m excited about their future in the technological age. Devices like the iPhone are already as mysterious as magic to some, so it’s wonderful to see them used in illusions.

  2. David Rowyn says:

    I’m not sure it’s fair to label Marco as a magician, though we often see him in those circles.

    He’s more of a performance artist with technology as his medium. There isn’t a whole lot of mystery is the general sense of the magician, but rather something that is technologically aesthetic with hints of magic along the way.

    I say this because his appeal lies partially outside of magic, such that if you like magic you may not like Marco in the same way, and more importantly, if you don’t like magic you may enjoy what Marco does!

    //

  3. […] (hat tip to Richard Wiseman) […]

  4. Michael Sternberg says:

    I don’t know. This seems underwhelming to me. I like sleight of hand and illusions that defy physics.

    I can’t quite put the finger on it. It seems like each iPod just runs a movie which sure is creative in conception, but technically entirely unimpressive. There are just a few sleights of hand in between. The whole thing is a bit too long and seems well-rehearsed. Like a Rube Goldberg sequence one wonders merely how many takes it took to get it right. Not that impressive.

    If anything, I liked the simplicity of the physical butterfly model halfway through.

  5. Anonymous says:

    Genius or Genuis?

    • Julia says:

      and my good self or I?

      (Here’s the rule: If unsure whether to use ‘I’ or ‘me’, use whatever would be correct if it was just one person: ‘Marco and I will be …’ v ‘He saw Marco and me’ = ‘I will be …’ v ‘He saw me’. Only use ‘myself’ or ‘my good self’ if preceded by ‘I’: ‘I am full of myself’.)

      and who won yesterday’s book?

  6. Craig Jones says:

    Well, I thought it was pretty awesome! I am not too sure that the argument that he is a “performance artist with technology as his medium” holds up too much, after all isn’t this what most magicians are to some degree or another… using technology and gadgetry not available to us ‘normal’ people?

    • Niels says:

      … not really. I think the difference is that a magician defies the expectations, and the expectations depend on the medium.
      I enjoyed the video a lot, but it was not unexpected that iphones can play videos and respond to touches on the screen๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Craig Jones says:

      Fair comment.

  7. D says:

    The effort required to pull this off impresses me, although I am disappointed by how sloppy his coin and butterfly production was.

  8. is the title of this post mispelled?

    crude irony?

  9. bigjohn756 says:

    Tedious…

  10. Robert Dee says:

    After Effects is a wonderful thing.

  11. Marverde says:

    I watched it with the eyes of a child and loved it

  12. Vince says:

    I thought there was going to be a trick. Spent the whole time watching very closely for nothing.

  13. […] Genius The genius that is Marco Tempest has produced this wonderful video…. […]

  14. peculiarpotato says:

    I had great fun, fun in being deceived in a none threatening way! Kudos Marco for the fun lesson and philosophical straight forwardness. I’d take a white lie over a politicians lie any day,because those kind of evil lies have great consequences…………………….PeculiarPotato. And for you people who can’t get by without stigmatizing everything you come across,just stop labeling Marco,he is just his own unique being………………later..

  15. Ann says:

    I really enjoyed that! Thank you!

  16. EmilyT says:

    Might not be “magic” in the traditional sense, but beautifully and cleverly done nonetheless.๐Ÿ™‚

  17. Thank you for the shout out Mr. Wiseman. Wow … It’s judgement day on your blog. Did not expect to be scrutinized like that. Here is a little background to keep the fire burning:

    The routine originally started as a magic routine, but very early in the project it seemed like the magic was too distracting from the story. I decided to take the “how did he do that?” out of the equation and make it more of a “magical” piece. I do not want to challenge the audience to figure out how it was done, but rather emotionalize the message with some of the softer devices of my craft.

    Magic really has the power to re-enchant us. It’s a wonderful medium to convey a message or a story and technology just happens to be the vehicle I use to get the initial attention.

    Here are some of my thoughts on all of it ๐Ÿ™‚

    It’s fun all the same. Thanks for watching!๐Ÿ™‚

  18. arnoldo says:

    arnoldo…

    […]Genius « Richard Wiseman[…]…

Leave a Reply

