It’s the Friday Puzzle!

40

If you like the Friday Puzzles, there is now a page containing 101 of them here.

OK, onto today’s puzzle….three riddles for you this week…..

1) When I’m going, it doesn’t mean I’m moving,  I can stop even though I don’t go anywhere, and I don’t have any arm but I do have hands. What am I?

2) He who makes me sells me, he who buys me does not use me, and he who does use me isn’t aware of it.  What am I?

3) I begin with an E, I end with an E and I only contain one letter, but I am not the letter E.

As ever, please do NOT post any answers, but feel free to say if you think you have solved them and how long it took.  Answers on Monday.

40 comments on “It’s the Friday Puzzle!

  1. Denis says:

    OOOhh!! Easy ones this week. I’m not complaining. Finally I can feel smart and claim to know them all. Yippee!

  2. AMWhy says:

    Very easy today. All three ina matter of seconds.

  3. Morgan says:

    1 & 3 straight away. 2 needed thinking about. Like the wordy ones.

  4. Keith says:

    The first and third one’s I got on first reading. The middle one stumped me for a little bit though. Got them all within five minutes.

  5. Affy says:

    I think I know the first one. the other two are a bit baffling. sum thinking to do over the weekend!

  6. Repton says:

    Number 1 is clearly a double-amputee on the toilet wearing one of these: http://www.awise.org/item/3017/plush-peace-hand-hat.html

  7. fluffy says:

    First and third are, once again, so ancient they’re in the fossil record.

    2 I just assume is some sort of spy camera device because I’m not as clever as a five-year-old.

  8. Cocoonivus says:

    All three are old and familiar. I had the answers even before I finished reading each one.

  9. Tom says:

    Easy peasy – thanks for the reminder!

  10. Will says:

    Took a minute to figure out the second riddle. I see an argument coming.

  11. DaddyLouLou says:

    Simples.

  12. Berber Anna says:

    One and three are easy. I’m sure two has an equally simple answer, but it’s not clicking for me atm.

    • Berber Anna says:

      On second thought, I can think of an answer for the second one, but I don’t think it’s the intended one.

  13. Hugh Conlon says:

    3 minutes

  14. mike shupp says:

    About 5 minutes; #1 and 3 took about a minute each; #2 took longer, and to be honest, I rather think I have AN answer rather than THE answer.

  15. Marktech says:

    I got the first as I read it, I’d heard the second before, and the third one utterly stumped me – for about thirty seconds, when the answer suddenly popped into my head the moment I stopped thinking about it.

  16. Todio says:

    Oldies but goodies. Recognized them all right away. Answered while reading them.

  17. Des says:

    A professor of psychology suffering from delusions?

  18. Why do I feel the urge to sit in a Batmobile while trying to solve these?

  19. Anonymous says:

    all three were easy…. I got all of them in a minute….

  20. Niamhish says:

    1 and 2 were pretty easy. Number 3 had me puzzled for a while.

  21. vmos says:

    less than a minute. Though I’m not 100% on number 2, I’m pretty sure

  22. Calum says:

    Hope I’m not giving anything away (but most folks have got it quickly – If we have the same solution) but for the third puzzle, it doesn’t have to be one letter does it? (Even more pedantic comment could be that it could be the letter E)

  23. Wolf Martinus says:

    All quite easy even for a non-english speaker and solved within a minute.
    But there are exceptions to #2. I know someone who has bought “it” and is already using “it” and intends to continue to use it.

  24. Zach says:

    1 and 3 – 5 seconds each

    2 – I had to look it up, though I know I’ve seen this before. great riddle.

  25. […] It’s the Friday Puzzle! If you like the Friday Puzzles, there is now a page containing 101 of them here. […]

  26. Mr. D says:

    Got all of them super quick this week (under 10 seconds each). I feel awfully clever! I think it must help doing all those cryptic crosswords.

  27. PissedBastard says:

    Got 1 and 3 straight away. Still stuck on the second one. Is it rohypnol?

  28. Nochsta says:

    Got them all really quickly. Though #2 I have heard a variation of before.

  29. Lazy T says:

    1 and 3 were easily solved before coffee. 2 took me untill I was on my way home and I’m still not certain coz with my answer he who made it may use it, he who bought it may use it and he who is using may have made or bought it or he may have won it in a raffle.

  30. susqueda says:

    I had to google for the second one. The other two were immediate.

  31. Tamara says:

    1 & 3 instantly, still stuck on 2… I’d make a lousy hobbit

  32. katie k says:

    I think I got all three right away.

  33. danny says:

    1 was easy-seen 2 before-3, still stuck on (if u need help with 3 then here it is-while awake and asleep u are usually aware of what u are using, keep that in mind when working out this puzzle)

  34. danny says:

    typo-that was meant to be help for puzzle 2*

  35. Burton says:

    I don’t truly care how or when i get the Letters in the Mail. Every time it arrives, it feels like a letter should be. It’s suddenly there in my mail box just one day. A awesome, tangible surprise. I am for you doing whatever you want when you send it. Mix it up to the people today who help get it sent out. Include crumbs from your lunch. Coffee stains. Whatever. Keep the tedious naturel of getting letters out to a minimum by doing whatever you feel like that day. The arrival of the letter and the words of your author inside are what matters. Personally, what I like finest about The Rumpus is that I never ever understand what I’ll study that day. Or if there is not one which day, maybe it’s because Stephen couldn’t obtain anything to say or there was much too much heading on.

Leave a Reply

