Wonderful psychology effect…..

36

@jbrownridge kindly sent me this and it is wonderful.  So clever on so many levels, especially the switch and use of the Polaroid camera!

Do you like it?

36 comments on “Wonderful psychology effect…..

  1. nanda says:

    loving it

  2. Michael says:

    Ah! Now that’s something! Nicely done indeed, especially the swift switch.

    Related: This experiment on Change Blindness.

  3. Emlyn says:

    That’s brilliant.

    By the way, what happened to the “Photos that make you smile” post?

  4. Harvey James says:

    Absolutely brilliant! The camera switch is perfect…

  5. Anonymous says:

    I hope it was explained that they were tricked! I can imagine that kind of thing triggering a psychotic episode. I’m losing my mind!

  6. SimonP says:

    Funny, but the laugh-track is dreadful! Is there any research on inappropriate laughing spoiling a trick?!

  7. namowal says:

    I bet the switch has to be pretty drastic (as in this example), before people notice something weird is going on.

  8. Sapphire says:

    I don’t like it.
    I Love it!!

  9. Dannie says:

    I love the look on peoples faces!! Then when they don’t want to hand over the camera, then the two guys show that they are the ones in the picture!! I’d think i was losing my mind!

  10. Love it haha! very funny.

  11. NoAstronomer says:

    Fantastic.

  12. Lazy T says:

    I liked it, a well polished routine, happy to see the spirit of Candid Camera living on.

  13. The other Matt says:

    Nice ! The old mens have to be sportive too…
    Unfortuneately the half of the video is hidden behind a text window.

  14. jackjak says:

    @ . @ women !?

    i like it : )

  15. PeaceLove says:

    Beautifully constructed. I love effects that only exist in the spectator’s mind. There’s nothing odd for them to hang onto except their insistent memory that things were totally different when they started.

    Extreme cognitive dissonance!

  16. Krzysztof Aleksander says:

    Amazing! This is something greate😉 I love effects like this one.

  17. Do you like it?–> haha, ilove it!

  18. Chris Gladis says:

    I’m not a fan of prank humor, but I liked this. Very simple, very nicely done….

  19. JimC says:

    I think this is one of the best prank clips I’ve seen. Certainly a lot more creative than just making people jump and babies cry by having things pop out at them.

  20. M says:

    Very good!

  21. katie k says:

    I would find this super disturbing. It totally plays on my fear of suddenly finding myself in some alternate universe almost–but not exactly–like this one.

  22. MHValcke says:

    I once saw this candid camera on german tv (probably over 10 years ago) that I never quite worked out, I’ve tried to find it again on the internet but so far no luck…

    it goes something like this

    2 construction workers at a site, one gets the attention of a person walking by (the candid camera “victim”) and walks closer until he sinks away completely in a small puddle of water. The passerby of course calls the other construction worker, but he says he’s there alone, that there is no one else, and while doing this he casually walks in that same small puddle of water, but this time nothing happens…

  23. Marion says:

    Enjoyed watching this trick- it made me laugh. Didn’t turn the speakers on so didn’t have to listen to the canned laughter that annoyed others!

  24. RyderDA says:

    “Just For Laughs Gags” I’m proud to say is a Canadian show out of Montreal and they’re always doing fab stunts like that. Best part is there’s never any dialog, so it’s syndicated in countries though-out the world since language is no barrier.

  25. Paula Kirby says:

    Oh dear. I’m being slow. How do they manage to switch the camera? The victim clearly takes a picture of the girls, but when s/he checks the camera afterwards, the photo is of the men. What am I missing? (You can tell I’d be easy to fool with a trick like this!)

    • Gus Snarp says:

      I would assume that the camera is a fake. It doesn’t actually take a picture, but instead spits one out that was pre-printed and placed in the camera before hand.

  26. Hedley says:

    Love it! reminds me of one of Derren’s:

    http://bit.ly/gFUBFq

  27. Mark says:

    I wonder if one could rig a digital camera to do the same thing. I would be a little suspicious of being handed a Polaroid camera by two twentysomethings these days.

  28. redcat says:

    I get the effect they’re referencing, but all the people look baffled which is actually contradicting the theory, isn’t it? I mean they are just being nice to two strangers and they trust the photos, but they’re noticing the switch.

  29. Garett says:

    Derren Brown did a version of this in one of his TV specials where he would ask someone for directions whilst holding a map. Then two people carrying a large sign would walk between them and the switch would be made. Since the person was focusing on the map they would not notice that they were now giving directions to a completely different person.

  30. […] Pogledajte video klip jednog psihološkog efekta. […]

  31. sahabul10 says:

    Fantastic goods from you, man. I have be mindful your stuff previous to and you are simply too magnificent. I really like what you’ve acquired right here, certainly like what you are saying and the best way by which you are saying it. You make it entertaining and you still take care of to stay it sensible. I can not wait to read much more from you. That is actually a tremendous website.
    Download Free Gags Videos, Surely Good Sources

Leave a Reply

