It’s the Friday Puzzle!

90

Can you cross out the unnecessary letters to leave a common phrase?

ATCHEOUNMNE

MCESOSNAPRH

YRLEATTSEERS

As ever, please do NOT post your answers, but do feel free to say if you have solved it and how long it took.  Solution on Monday!

If you enjoy the Friday Puzzle, remember that I have produced a kindle ebook containing 101 of the previous Friday Puzzles! It is called PUZZLED and is available in the UK here and USA here.

 

90 comments on “It’s the Friday Puzzle!

  1. Dave Rickey says:

    Roughly 4 seconds to see the key, 30 seconds to work it out.

    –Dave

  2. bob says:

    that’s funny

  3. Clair says:

    Well, I’ve found an answer, I just don’t think it’s THE answer.

  4. Phil says:

    very funny Mr Wiseman…

  5. Amalia says:

    I saw what it was all about in 10 seconds, but the common phrase that is left did surprise me.

  6. Jyri says:

    Took me about 20 seconds in total. Now where’s the real Friday puzzle?

  7. RaduV says:

    took me a while to figure this out, but when i found the solution i was like… DOH!…

  8. PissedBastard says:

    Very good. Took me a couple of minutes to write them all out and stare at. Then saw it. You’re a funny bugger Richard.

  9. deepak says:

    You forgot yesterdays card vote comments

  10. Eric D. says:

    Not much of an answer, but I loved solving it!

  11. Jennie Scrimshaw says:

    Tease🙂

  12. Miggy says:

    Took a couple minutes to understand, but once I figured it out, it became amazing.

  13. Chris D. says:

    Thanks for keeping it easy this week. Wife and I still aren’t really speaking after last week’s debate!

  14. M says:

    LOL!!
    cool. I know I got the answer. a bit more than a minute i think

  15. jramills says:

    Took seconds, it’s blatant🙂

  16. Morgan says:

    About 2 seconds. Then another 10 to realise there was actually a key. V nice. Good use of that particular common phrase.

  17. Chrissie Morrison says:

    My! Aren’t you a clever lot-must be getting up so ridiculously early wot does it

  18. James says:

    My answer to the question posed is “Yes I can”😉

  19. Neil says:

    I think a lot of people posting comments need to realize, just because this kind of thing jumps out at you does not make it easy.

  20. Ian R. says:

    Saw the answer as soon as I could read it. Only because I’ve seen similar puzzles in the past.

  21. Phil Kent says:

    too hard for me :^(

  22. Neil says:

    ok got it now. i should have known! i didn’t think about it enough before starting to work it out and just assumed because it was to do with letters that I wouldn’t be able to do it.

  23. David Mathew says:

    Love it. Took me a couple of minutes.

  24. Anonymous says:

    These are getting too obvious. Didn’t even have to write it down. Still, I’m learning lateral thinking

  25. Lazy T says:

    Easy, pre-coffee, solved with a smile.

  26. Carl says:

    Nice. Not overly hard, but still surprising and amusing.

  27. Mad Kev says:

    Good to see a light-hearted one this week, after last week’s shambles.

  28. David Rowyn says:

    Funny, I thought ATCHEOUNMNE MCESOSNAPRH YRLEATTSEERS was already a common phrase.

    //

  29. rmb says:

    No clue at all after reading just the quiz. However, once I read the comments, got some direction. Ten minutes in all. Any way, enjoyed this post after several weeks.

  30. Jarl says:

    Couple of minutes. Had to type it out to get it.

  31. Paul says:

    Yes

    Few seconds to see how to do it
    Few more to remove the unnecessary letters
    Few more to believe this was a puzzle

    Took longer to write this comment

    Phew

    Like the pun

  32. Hilary says:

    About 30 seconds in total.

  33. Niels says:

    D’oh! took me a few minutes to realise the principle. then a few seconds😉

  34. Cally says:

    From the comments I was expecting something witty and amusing. Didn’t quite live up to that, but I’m glad it’s one I was able to solve!

  35. Marion says:

    I got this one very quite quickly, and was surprised and amused!

  36. Magic Iain says:

    Really pleased with myself! Probably a minute in total. And I’m not out of bed yet! #smug

  37. Paul says:

    Totally puzzled until I read a couple of comments and realised there was a ‘trick’ to it – then about 10 seconds! Very good!

  38. davidnemo says:

    I’ve already solved next week’s puzzle. It will be too easy, ambiguous, not really a puzzle, and wrong. Hope my incredible intelligence doesn’t spoil the fun for ayone …

  39. mittfh says:

    I started crossing out letters, then saw the ‘punny’ comment and got it within a few seconds. Very devious – and very literal as well🙂

  40. Berhard says:

    As non-native speaker i think i have no chance finiding the “common phrase”… and it has no “F” in it.. That’s why i prefer math/logic riddles..

    • Paul says:

      Berhard, you do not need to be a native speaker to solve the puzzle.

      It took me a couple of minutes but I did look at the comments which helped.

    • Berhard says:

      Paul, you are right.. but i found the “wrong part” at first… (googled the wrong part and found the hint for the right solution…)
      Felt like a half an eternity until i found the solution.. So thanks for encouraging me to give it another try..

    • mickeyd says:

      I thought the same not being native speaker but after about three minutes I suddenly got it!

  41. Chris Jensen Romer says:

    I have spent a good ten minutes on it, maybe fifteen, and am officially thick🙂 I’m still trying!

  42. Richie says:

    Took longer than expected – but the penny dropped after about 15 mins. Very funny!🙂

  43. Rob says:

    Couple of minutes. Getting the answer that I thought was the answer helped me get the answer that really was the answer.

  44. Mchl says:

    Needed toread some of the comments to get a clue.

  45. 15 minutes.😛 Once I got it, I felt silly for not seeing it sooner.

  46. Ersagun says:

    bad joke

  47. Bletherskite says:

    3 copy pastes into a word document, 1 re check of the question – about 2 mins in total. Not what I was expecting but makes total sense.

  48. majikthijs says:

    the answer is yes, I can

  49. uksceptic says:

    I like it. Very satisfying answer.

  50. Tom says:

    About 10-15 seconds for “I wonder if it’s ….. ….”, and then another 30 seconds confirming and smiling when I found out I was correct.

  51. Krokkofant says:

    Used 5 Minutes … then gave up.
    Then went for doing something else – came back and then it was so easy!

    Very funny and nice twist.

    Thanks for giving me something to think about every Friday🙂

  52. mrlukereid says:

    Bingo! 3 hours of hard slog later and reading these not so subtle clues!

  53. Debbie says:

    Goshh, how are you guys all so clever?! I’ve been looking at it for ages and I still can’t work it out. I need to get better at puzzles haha.

  54. DeepField says:

    The answer: Yes, I can.

    Struggled with it for about a minute, then went to do something else, and when I came back it immediately popped up.

  55. MarkH says:

    Solved! About 20 seconds! Very neat!

  56. Caroline says:

    About 20 seconds

  57. grimaud50 says:

    Spent about 30 seconds looking at it and gave up. Looked at the comments and saw how many said it was easy. Tried again and almost immediately got it! Everyone is right, it is funny…

  58. Debbie says:

    Took me ages to work out until I read the question again, feel quite silly for not getting it straight away! Very good Richard.

  59. Geraldine says:

    I do think those who do not find the answer have something particular regarding their spi or they are not familiar with English (but even that is not really an argument)… They finally got the answer when they get the paranormal instinct to read Debbie’s answer (lol).

    I felt much excluded from the mass when I realize that I really could not find the answer! I was looking for its logic, which would certainly take me maybe all my existence to find; merely because there is no logic in that. I mean, trying to find somewhere something that does not exist is…well, a waste of mental energy, and it’s like following no purpose!

  60. inatrice says:

    I was about to post that my answer to the question posed was – No I damn can’t, just like the rest of the puzzles you post that I can’t get, and then I suddenly got it!! YIPPEE!!! (I must get out more😉 )

  61. Donald says:

    Like an easy crossword clue

  62. Heh, that’s a common phrase all right. That took me a lot longer than it deserved!

  63. Alex C says:

    Found a phrase that makes sense, whether it is correct i do not know…

  64. NoAstronomer says:

    Took me about 12 hours. Coming back to it about every hour knowing there was a trick to it. Figured it out about 11:45pm.

  65. Jon d says:

    5 minutes, not proud, should have been a lot quicker really.

  66. Cosmin Romania says:

    Around 5 seconds for realising what the phrase was, and another 20 for crossing out the letters😀

  67. NFQ says:

    About 15 seconds of “What? This is impossible,” then I got it.

    Groan…😉

  68. Louis says:

    I’m not that great at puzzles but I did figure this out. It only took a day and a half.

  69. Ricardo says:

    It took me about 20 seconds to see the key word and then another 20 seconds to solve it.

  70. UXO says:

    About 5 seconds to solve it, then another 5 minutes trying to come up with a rude alternative solution. “ATE MY ASS” is the best I could do…🙂

  71. Tom says:

    I can’t figure it out…:/

  72. Noel says:

    I officially give up.

    I know I will kick myself tomorrow.

    Just look and look and look

  73. leshelou says:

    About 3 minutes. Was staring at it for ages
    Then came the facepalm… -_-

  74. 1040ez form says:

    1040ez form…

    […]It’s the Friday Puzzle! « Richard Wiseman[…]…

Leave a Reply

